We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average however I think my tour co. pays for the worst” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hai Au Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hai Au Hotel to your Saves list
Hai Au Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 084, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great value package
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Canberra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average however I think my tour co. pays for the worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

I went with a tour company who definately make sure you get the worst accomodation available - Intrepid. Many hotels have good and bad rooms and Intrepid make sure they pay the least and you get the worst room in the place so this is probably what we got. The room was on the ground floor and very noisy when people came home late. The restaurant/bar area seemed deserted most of the time and the night I did stay in and have cocktails the service was terrible. We met no friendly staff as many others seem to have and would rate this hotel as average. Good points were that it was clean and the staff were good about ordering us taxis but that is as you should expect. Breakfast was satisfactory. All was satisfactory but nothing to write home about. It si close to some good tailers and cafes which is a bonus. There were some computors but they broke down quite a bit.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    362
    92
    23
    4
See reviews for
119
518
128
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2010 and couldn't fault it. The staff were absolutely amazing and the hotel was so well run. The pool was a welcome relief from the baking heat and was always very clean and quiet. The restaurant was very reasonably priced and had excellent food. The breakfast buffet had a good selection too.

Irrelevant of the price (which was very cheap) this is an excellent hotel. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

I was recommended Hai Au by the staff at Perfume Grass Inn in Nha Trang. We certainly had a pleasant stay in Hoi An and actually wished we had stayed much longer. Hoi An is such a nice place to visit.

The hotel is within walking distance of Old Hoi An, although it is not directly in the Old Town as listed on its business card. Apparently, there is also a beach within walking distance from the hotel. However, we walked along Cua Dai as listed on the map on the back of the business card and the walk became so long we turned around and came back.

The room was perfectly decent, a triple costing around $40 per night. The only problem were the apparent power outages. I did not even get the chance to take a hot shower until just a hour before check-out. Apparently, it was due to the power outages and certainly the Hotel probably has little control over them. However, we did have power in the room, just no hot water, which was confusing when I was told we had no hot water due to power outages. In the end, I was happy with our stay at Hai Au, although I had no time to compare it to the places directly in the Old Town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Out thanks to Yummy, Minh, Sally and Anna for making our stay such a wonderful one. The rooms are lovey and clean, and the pool is a bonus, but its the girls here that really stood out. We have recommended this hotel to our friends travelling later in the year.
Its about a 10 min walk to the centre of town, but we were grateful for the exercise! Breakfast was very basic but we didnt pay any extra for that.
Thanks girls and hope to see you again! From Sharlene and Shane (Happy Buddha) :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

The Hai Au is on the outskirts of the old quarter in Hoi An. The staff (the ladies behind the desk) and facilities make this a wonderful place to stay when cruising around Hoi An. They are attentive, extremely personable and make the stay one to remember. The room was fantastic, with all the creature comforts (down to the rose petal hearts on the beds when you arrive).
It's price of $30-35 a night puts it in the mid range for accommodation, but you are guaranteed to leave with a smile on your face.
Thank you ladies - we'll remember your infectious laughter and happiness for a long time.
Rob & Jo

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Great priced hotel located close to many tailor's & shoe maker's. 4km's from the beach make's for an easy bike ride, as well as an inexpensive 5 min taxi ride into the tourist district where you'll find higher priced cafes, restaurants and bar's.

The pool was a massive bonus as the power was cut off a few time's between 7am-3pm, so it provided some much needed releif from the stifling heat.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujiyoshida, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

The staff at this hotel really make it an outstanding place. They were super friendly and welcoming. They remembered our names from the first meeting (and some of them I think without even meeting us knew our names) and always greeted us with a big cheerful smile. Very easy to deal with - great level of english and willingness to go the extra stretch to ensure that our every need was met.

The rooms were well equipped and beautifully decorated. They had AC in the room and a good ensuite.

While the restaurant was not fantastic, it certainly did the trick. I recommend eating breakfast there as it is buffet style and easy to get a hearty feed in before a day of exploring but for lunch and dinner, there are plenty of delicious sea food restaurants a short distance away that are much more exciting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hai Au Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Hotel

Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 084, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#18 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hai Au Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hai Au Hotel is located in Cua Dai street, a short distance from Cua Dai Beach and not far from the Hoi An historical Old Town – a World Heritage listed site. We have a spacious and peaceful atmosphere. All rooms are roomy with a well appointed bathroom, and big balconies that have nice views. Each room has individual temperature control, IDD telephone, cable television with international channels, Mini-bar; wake up call and 24 hour room service. The sunny, spacious swimming pool is outside. We also have free internet in the lobby and Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hai Au Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hai Au Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.