We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hai Au Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hai Au Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hai Au Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 084, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #17 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel was a bit of a walk from the center of town. The rooms were nice, but the service was a bit overbearing. We entered the room to find the beds covered with rose petals, which we then had to clean up to be able to sleep. We could not enter or exit the hotel without being accosted by several different girls at the front desk, whose English was good enough for them to ask questions, but not good enough to understand our answers. The one time we needed them to do something to arrange our airport transfer, the car was late.

The breakfast at the hotel was adequate. The rooms themselves were nice and we had a room safe. You will want to use the mosquito nets when you sleep.

The hotel would be OK if it were cheaper. Overall, for the amount you pay, you can do much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    563
    329
    83
    22
    4
See reviews for
111
474
116
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lovely and the staff, particularly the front desk staff and manager are incredible. We were met at the door and welcomed by our names. The staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful, informative, and booked some excursions for us. You will not regret staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very good hotel in a good location. I highly recommend to rent a bike from the hotel and to take the ride to the beaches nearby. This way you can also easily get to the town centre, which without bike is a bit of a walk.
Staff is friendly, breakfast is good, there is even a pool on the premises, and the prices are good, this is Vietnam after all. This hotel can definitely be recommended, the only reason the fifth star is missing is the fact that the hotel is a little bit run down and you get better value for money in most other cities in the country,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our say here was good. Friendly staff and breakfast included. Only downside was the construction on the hotel which is loud and the rooster and dog who go off at 6 am every morning. Otherwise nice budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at the Hai Au Hotel in mid-April 2013.

I'm really surprised at its lofty position on Tripadvisor as I have to say for us, the hotel had good points but also many bad points. We booked into a Superior Double room and were originally given the family room on the top floor. The room was enormous with a huge double bed (2 twins pushed together) and a separate single bed. The room was very well presented with petals on the bed covers and towels moulded into swans-a nice touch. They also gave out complimentary water each day and a plate of fresh fruit in the fridge on arrival.

The family room had a small balcony, wardrobe with safe, a tv with DVD player, aircon, a minibar, a computer, a separate free standing table and 2 chairs and tea/ coffee making facilities. The bathroom was dated with a bath/ shower and some quite old fixtures and fittings. From an initial viewpoint though, the room was decent. It was only when you looked closer that you realise how dated it is. The wallpaper in some areas (mainly around the aircon unit) was a bit ragged and falling off the wall and the plug points behind the beds must have been there for decades. They were just a mass of wires. One of the plugs didn't work at all and both of the lamp bulbs had blown within 5 minutes.

That night when we returned from dinner, we were treated to the delightful sounds of the hotel water tank motor kicking in every 30 seconds for varying lengths of time on the roof right above our bedroom. To say it was irritating was an understatement! To the staff's credit they moved us immediately to a standard double for the night which was fine (still dated but more than comfortable) and then into a different Superior Double room the next day. This room was dated like the first one and had the same issues with wallpaper peeling off the wall around the aircon unit and very old and dodgy looking electrics. It also had a bath/ shower that leaked water all over the floor every time you used it. So, all in all, the 3 rooms we stayed in were large and relatively comfortable, but very dated and in desperate need of some renovation.

The breakfast buffet was a bit laughable to be honest and I'm amazed it has received some credit on Tripadvisor. It consisted of a small buffet of mostly uncovered western and Asian food including fruit, tea/ coffee and juice. Why these hotels don't cover all their buffet food up is totally beyond me! The "eggs" cooked any style consisted of 1 egg cooked any style which is unbelievably stingy!!

The hotel is not in the best location. It's a good 20 minute walk to the old town although the hotel does hire out bikes for a dollar a day and they're in fairly good shape. You have to hire these though (or a motorbike) as the walk is too far in my opinion. There are many other hotels in much better locations in my opinion.

There is no lift so be prepared for a hike if you are roomed on the higher floors.

What saved this hotel from a complete capitulation were the services of the staff. They were all very sweet and spoke excellent English. They were helpful with maps, very professional in moving us from our room and apologetic too. They arranged onward train tickets for us to Nha Trang (but watch out for the commission!), turned some laundry around for us really quickly, and were always smiling, greeting us by first names whenever we arrived or left the hotel.

I just feel slightly sympathetic for them as their services are not matched by those of the hotel which as I've said already is in serious need of renovation. For the price and given that we'd just spent a few nights down the road at the much better and same priced Vinh Hung 3 Hotel, I expected a lot more. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The girls running it were just lovely and very helpful. Our room was on the bottom floor, close to reception and we didn't ever feel there was any problem with noise, only the odd scrape of a chair above. The room was large, nicely decorated with a good bathroom. The flower petal artistic arrangement on the beds was absolutely beautiful. The breakfast was fine, was surprised fries were there! The hotel is a decent walk to the old town but you know that before you book. We arrived early after an overnight train into Danang. After we checked in the staff said, "help yourself to breakfast, no charge", which I thought was a nice touch to begin our stay. We have stayed in many hotels and my son and I agreed these staff would have to be the friendliest we have had, no question!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Hai Au for 4 nights, when we arrived the staff were super friendly. They gave us a great room with balcony overlooking local football pitch. The room was immaculate with beautiful towel swans on our beds and flower petals. We had a dvd player, free water and a tv that worked. Aircon worked well. The staff remembered our names as per our passports, we tried using our actual names (different to the passport) but obviously they could not actually remember our names! It’s a nice touch but nothing special.
The breakfast was excellent, the best we had in Vietnam in this price range, some Vietnamese dishes, eggs however you like them a range of fruit and juices, bacon, sausage and pastries local and western. Very nice indeed.
The location is excellent. A walk into the old town (15 minutes) and a short bicylce ride to Cau Dai Beach (4 km).

Problem 1: there was a dog outside in the mornings that would bark for hours. No sleep from there onwards. The hotel itself with its high ceilings and marble floors makes the rooms very noisy at night i.e. you can hear people walking up the stairs and doors slamming from inside the room. Sleep was very disturbed.

Problem 2: On day 2 they started drilling and knocking concrete walls out in the room above us. When we asked when it would stop they said it would continue all day. When it became unbearable we asked to be moved to another room. They were helpful in transferring us to another one. This one on the main road and was smaller. TV did not work and no DVD player. So for 3 or our 4 nights we did not have the superior room we were first allocated. Disappointing!

Problem 3: When we were about to check out and needed to get back to Danang to catch a flight to HCMC and I took my credit card out they pointed to a sign stuck to the counter that said no credit cards. I was surprised as booking.com said I could pay by credit card. When I asked them why they had not told me this on arrival they simply responded that we should have noticed the sign ourselves on the counter. Shocking. Ok so under time constraints, in which I was freaking out as we had a flight to catch, they allowed my husband and myself to borrow bicycles from the hotel. We rushed off to the nearest bank 4 km down the road according to the hotel to get cash. My husband noticed they had given him a faulty bicycle with a broken pedal. I had to go ahead while he walked the bicycle back to the hotel. They insisted he pay for breaking their bicycle. They gave it to us like that! We refused to pay for it. I paid the bill and left, at that point the once very friendly staff were quite somber indeed.

My advice is just be aware of the pitfalls. Perhaps we struck it badly. The hotel can be super great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hai Au Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Hotel

Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 084, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hai Au Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hai Au Hotel is located in Cua Dai street, a short distance from Cua Dai Beach and not far from the Hoi An historical Old Town – a World Heritage listed site. We have a spacious and peaceful atmosphere. All rooms are roomy with a well appointed bathroom, and big balconies that have nice views. Each room has individual temperature control, IDD telephone, cable television with international channels, Mini-bar; wake up call and 24 hour room service. The sunny, spacious swimming pool is outside. We also have free internet in the lobby and Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hai Au Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hai Au Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.