We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff - Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
121 Ba Trieu St.,, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 110 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff - Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent three days here in late January and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. The morning breakfast crew was especially affable. The breakfast was average with eggs fried to order and pho as the main dishes. The rooms were generally clean, but a bit small and crowded, thus the 4 rather than a 5 rating. The walk to the old town is easy but a bit daunting if you happen to be in transit when the motorcycles are allowed back into the area - they are banned from 9-11 in the morning and 6:30 to 9 at night (I think) - so when the streets are reopened there is a mad rush. In my opinion Hoi An is a must see and really a peaceful place compared to other parts of Viet Nam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    108
    37
    16
    7
See reviews for
31
121
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the best hotel we've stayed in in Asia (we've been travelling 4 months & have been keeping to a tight enough budget). For around $20 a night we usually get a room with no windows but in this hotel we got a huge modern room with a balcony & there were even silk bath robes laid out on the bed for us! The staff were unbelievably friendly & helpful & gave us an orange juice upon arrival. There's a swimming pool with a nice decking area to relax by. The breakfast is top-quality with a huge choice from continental, cereals & Asian & it's a buffet! The hotel itself is only a 2 minute walk from the ancient town & the riverside. You can organise onward travel from the hotel (by bus it's the Camel Open Bus Tour, book your own onward travel if you prefer a bit of comfort on the bus).

Room Tip: We were in 104 - it's brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We only stopped 1 night in this hotel and got a great deal through Agoda at the last minute. Due to the cheap rate we expected very little but was suprised to find a lovely hotel in a great location. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The pool looked great but unfortunately we didn't have time to use it. great choice for breakfast, I really pigged out!!! Staff were helpful when asked a question but were not forthcoming with information. Overall, a great hotel and a perfect base to explore Hoi An.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found the hotel to quite acceptable. The staff were very nice and spoke passable English. The first room we were very given was very large but as it faced the front of the hotel it was fairly noisy so we switched to a smaller room which faced onto the inner courtyard/pool and it was much quieter. The hotel is only 2 blocks away from the historical centre of the city. A major plus was the bed which was very comfortable not your usual hard Asian bed. The breakfast was very good and included an egg station. The women at breakfast were very sweet and helpful. There were a couple of problems though. On our first morning when we went to use the sink the water went through the drain and straight onto the floor. This was fixed immediately but when I saw the maintenance man undo the pipe with his hands and put on the replacement the same way I understood why it had worked loose. Our second morning when we went to leave our room we could not open the door. Again someone was sent up immediately to fix it. It took him about 15 min. before he got the door open so we get out. He then repaired it while we had breakfast. Again I thing this is just the way things are in Vietnam the hotels look very nice but the construction quality is not high.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Vinh Hung 2 is located just a few minutes short walk from the Old Town and is conveniently located for sightseeing. There is a swimming pool although I did not use it. Generally the hotel has a nice design and feels quite open. The room is of a good size and comfortable in terms of layout and cleaniness. TV reception was not very good. Breakfast is served buffet style, with eggs cooked on request.

However, I did not really enjoy my stay because of the smell in the room. Upon entering it, there is an overpowering artificial fragrance, which I believe is applied to cover up the stench coming from the drain in the bathroom. It did not really succeed, however, as the bad smell was still noticeable. This is why the rated the room as 'poor' although it was nice otherwise. I am not sure there is an easy solution to this but I hope they can do something.

Service is efficient, but not really with a smile. Some of the female staff at the front desk seem a bit grumpy. Also one morning just before 10am while I was in the bathroom, the housekeeping staff tried to force their way into my room although it was bolted from the inside.

For these reasons it is unlikely I would choose to stay here again if I ever return to Hoi An.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The location of the Hotel is great, not in the middle of the touristy area but a few blocks away that are completely walkable. Something that really threw me off was how they overpriced everything (come on it was not a tier 1 hotel): when you could get laundry in every corner for $1 per kg they charged you ~$1 per item, I requested a taxi to Da Nang airport via email and they quoted it VND 350.000, in the room there was a brochure they left with the same transfer for VND 300.000 and at reception they offered it to me for VND 400.000... really? They kindly booked us a half day tour that got back to the hotel at 1pm on our departing day, but they wouldn't let us keep the room since check-out time was at noon. I understand that you might be fully booked but it would have been a nice gesture.

Pros:
- Has a decent swimming pool
- Staff is attentive and helpful
- Location is good

Average:
- Room and bathroom are decent

Cons:
- Overpriced
- Breakfast is mediocre (don't even try the coffee or orange juice)
- Noisy (if you are facing the street you'll hear the constant honking, if you're facing inside the staff will wake you up when they start preparing breakfast or people walk by at night after partying)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel has rooms with 4* standard at a cost if $40 per night. It is prime location in the centre of Hoi An. They even have a nice swimming pool. Sometimes the rates are less on booking.com than in the hotel even though they pay 20% commission! You need to bargain at front desk to get best rate.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel

Address: 121 Ba Trieu St.,, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vinh Hung 2 Hotel in Hoi An is the second hotel of the Vinh Hung Company. The newly renovated Vinh Hung 2 Hotel is located close to the Old Town of Hoi An, a World Heritage Site, with its famous Japanese Covered Bridge. The hotel includes a swimming pool where guests can spend the hot hours of the day and a restaurant that serves both Western and Vietnamese dishes. All the rooms, which have wooden floors and are well equipped with all the modern comforts a person would expect, have double glass windows with a view on the town or the swimming pool. Vinh Hung 2, like all the Vinh Hung hotels, has an informal atmosphere which makes the guests feel comfortable and at home.Vinh Hung 2 Hotel offers its guests affordable luxury right at the entrance of the famous Old Town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.