We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room and staff just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel to your Saves list
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
121 Ba Trieu St.,, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 111 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Smelly room and staff just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Vinh Hung 2 is located just a few minutes short walk from the Old Town and is conveniently located for sightseeing. There is a swimming pool although I did not use it. Generally the hotel has a nice design and feels quite open. The room is of a good size and comfortable in terms of layout and cleaniness. TV reception was not very good. Breakfast is served buffet style, with eggs cooked on request.

However, I did not really enjoy my stay because of the smell in the room. Upon entering it, there is an overpowering artificial fragrance, which I believe is applied to cover up the stench coming from the drain in the bathroom. It did not really succeed, however, as the bad smell was still noticeable. This is why the rated the room as 'poor' although it was nice otherwise. I am not sure there is an easy solution to this but I hope they can do something.

Service is efficient, but not really with a smile. Some of the female staff at the front desk seem a bit grumpy. Also one morning just before 10am while I was in the bathroom, the housekeeping staff tried to force their way into my room although it was bolted from the inside.

For these reasons it is unlikely I would choose to stay here again if I ever return to Hoi An.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    118
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
36
131
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The location of the Hotel is great, not in the middle of the touristy area but a few blocks away that are completely walkable. Something that really threw me off was how they overpriced everything (come on it was not a tier 1 hotel): when you could get laundry in every corner for $1 per kg they charged you ~$1 per item, I requested a taxi to Da Nang airport via email and they quoted it VND 350.000, in the room there was a brochure they left with the same transfer for VND 300.000 and at reception they offered it to me for VND 400.000... really? They kindly booked us a half day tour that got back to the hotel at 1pm on our departing day, but they wouldn't let us keep the room since check-out time was at noon. I understand that you might be fully booked but it would have been a nice gesture.

Pros:
- Has a decent swimming pool
- Staff is attentive and helpful
- Location is good

Average:
- Room and bathroom are decent

Cons:
- Overpriced
- Breakfast is mediocre (don't even try the coffee or orange juice)
- Noisy (if you are facing the street you'll hear the constant honking, if you're facing inside the staff will wake you up when they start preparing breakfast or people walk by at night after partying)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel has rooms with 4* standard at a cost if $40 per night. It is prime location in the centre of Hoi An. They even have a nice swimming pool. Sometimes the rates are less on booking.com than in the hotel even though they pay 20% commission! You need to bargain at front desk to get best rate.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I'm giving it less than 5 stars only because of the bathroom flooding problem mentioned by others (no door/curtain to the shower and a blocked drain in the shower floor, meaning the water has to find its way to the drain by the toilet. The bathroom floor stays wet for hours!) My room was on the second floor overlooking the pool and was otherwise excellent. I found the breakfast to be quite nice and there were no fruit flies on the fruit - the fruit was covered and no flies were in evidence when I was there. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and securely stored my passport and other valuables in their safe behind the desk.

The location is superb. Easily within walking distance to the old part of town, the fantastic market, the river and the zillion tailor shops. Lots and lots of dining/drinking options, including at least one wine bar and a very nice French patisserie. Parts of the roads are closed to all but bicycle and foot traffic for part of the day, making it very pleasant to walk around. You can rent a bike for $1/day (make sure you get a lock that works, test the brakes, etc before you go) and bike the 4km past rice paddies to a really beautiful beach lined with quiet cafes and palapas.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

this hotel has clean and big rooms and a big rectangular swimming pool. It is just at the edge/corner of the Hoi An old town. Takes no more than 5min to walk into the hustle and bustle of the old town. Good service. Breakfast is so-so. No Pho. More of American breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the streets are the larger deluxe rooms. They aren't as noisy as some described...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great rooms, great atmosphere, great breakfast, great staff, I would certainly recommend it as a base in Hoi An. Other rooms mention noise from the street which I didn't notice - you're in Vietnam, the streets are always noise for goodness sake :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We did not have a hotel booked prior to heading into Hoi An. We just walked around and found this hotel. First impressions we found the hotel clean and a nice hotel.

The washroom was floor to wall marble with a glass shower room but when you take a shower the entire washroom becomes a pool. The drain was just outside of the shower stall so the water would have to flow to the rest of the washroom and then finds its way into the drain. There was no washroom fan so bunking with two others cause some problems.

The bedrooms were very basic. Television, no room safe, sheets were clean. The air con, worked well enough. We had a little problem accessing the wifi in our room. We would have to stand outside the door or sit at the pool.

The breakfast was not the best. The varity was slim and with all the fruit flys all over the food you dont want to eat it. There is a fresh omlet station. That is your best bet.

The location was the only good thing. It was just outside the populated areas so it was close to get everywhere but quiet at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel

Address: 121 Ba Trieu St.,, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vinh Hung 2 Hotel in Hoi An is the second hotel of the Vinh Hung Company. The newly renovated Vinh Hung 2 Hotel is located close to the Old Town of Hoi An, a World Heritage Site, with its famous Japanese Covered Bridge. The hotel includes a swimming pool where guests can spend the hot hours of the day and a restaurant that serves both Western and Vietnamese dishes. All the rooms, which have wooden floors and are well equipped with all the modern comforts a person would expect, have double glass windows with a view on the town or the swimming pool. Vinh Hung 2, like all the Vinh Hung hotels, has an informal atmosphere which makes the guests feel comfortable and at home.Vinh Hung 2 Hotel offers its guests affordable luxury right at the entrance of the famous Old Town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.