We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DK’s House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DK’s House
Save
You added DK’s House to your Saves list
308 Nguyen Duy Hieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Dong Khanh Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hands down the best backpackers I have ever stayed at. For a start the rooms are excellent, beds are comfortable, the showers are great.For meeting good people, relaxing, having a great time around Hoi An or setting up any of your backpacking adventures, this is the place to go. Phil, Mike and the rest of the friendly staff go to every end to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. I can't say enough about DK 's to do it the justice it deserves. I would come back to Viet Nam just to stay here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip b, Manager at DK’s House, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a great review. It was good fun having you around and we hope you come back to see us again soon. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

Phil, Manager DK's House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was hands down the best I've stayed at in four months, through both Europe and SE Asia. I booked one night and ended up staying four.

It felt more like a hotel. It was very clean and modern. Rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, AC and private bathroom. (there are actual showers! Not just a shower head on the wall of the bathroom. This is very hard to find)

The staff are amazing! Phil, the manager, is so helpful, fun and laid back. Charlie and Mike are awesome guys and always made sure everyone was included in activities and having a good time. You instantly feel like part of the hostel family. These guys made Hoi An my favorite stop in Vietnam.

There is always some sort of activity going on, whether it's a theme night, a BBQ or a night out for a group dinner. It's impossible not to have a good time and meet great people at this hostel.
I have only great things to say about Dk's.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip b, Manager at DK’s House, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hey Canada, thanks for writing such a great review. You were a pleasure to have around and we all miss you. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels and we hope you come back to see us again soon.

Phil, Manager DK's House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is great for meeting people as they have a top communal area, plus they run activities every day and night such as bike tours, beach days, BBQs, nights out in Danang, ladies night. These are cool if you are into organised fun. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. Location is perfect, 5 minute walk from the cultural old town. You get bike hire with your room plus a nice breakfast of egg, baguette, fruit jam, plus watermelon, pineapple and guava. You also get a free beer at happy hour every day from 6-7pm which is decent! I guess the above points do make a strong case towards justifying the $12 room rate. My only issue with the price is that the dorms are the same price as a private which I feel is slightly unfair on the solo backpacker. Other than that minor gripe I would say this is the best hostel of the 'backpacker brand' and a lovely place to set up camp in beautiful Hoi An.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip b, Manager at DK’s House, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all the perks of staying with us. We offer a lot free stuff like free bikes and bike tours, beer, shots and sangria which means that our customers get a lot of bang for their buck. We wish you safe travels and we hope to see you again soon!

Phil, Manager DK's House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you are looking for a great place to hang out while checking out Hoi An then stop looking. Yea there are others but save yourself time just crash here, Phil the manager busts his "A" to make you feel welcome, where else do you get a beer in your hand before you take your pack off the back. Then free bike hire, tours of the old town and all the great street eating spots.
There's a BBQ every couple of nights and the burgers are to kill for with a beer or mixed drink. The staff are good and always try to help with travel ideas if you get lost,
the pool is good only small but does the job.
We stayed about 4 weeks in Hoi An and had many great nights at DK'S house with different programs on the board nightly.
Good bunch of people hang out here so enjoy, see you again Phil and thanks for a great time.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip b, Manager at DK’s House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We miss you guys here! It was great having you around and we all look forward to seeing you again. We will have a can of Larue and vodka coke waiting for you when you come back. Thanks for your many compliments and wonderful friendship. See you soon!!

Phil, Manager DK's House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is hands down one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Perfect for travellers seeking some fun but also people seeking to see the beauty of Hoi An's bustling French colonial streets.
The staff where all excellent, Steve and Charlie really made us feel welcome and where Great to just chat to, from the instant we arrived we where welcomed and made to feel at home with free beers. Our room was great, a really nice bathroom (with bath) and private balcony. The bed was comfortable and the whole hostel was really clean.
A really good place to meet people, as the hostel runs loads of great nights offering fun and free alcohol. Also free breakfast, WiFi, computers, bikes, bike tour, swimming pool, table tennis and table football, really worth the extra few dollars a night.

Minutes walk from centre of town about 40 minutes walk from beach so much quicker on bike or scooter.

Would genuinely love to go back to this hostel. Keep it up guys.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip b, Manager at DK’s House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for taking the time to write such great comments! We all enjoy making sure that our customers are having a good time. Our team works hard to keep this place clean and pleasant for all our guests. We wish you safe travels and we also hope that you return to see us soon!!

Phil, Manager DK's House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at DKS for three nights and had the best hostel experience I've ever had! Phil, the DKS manager, goes out of his way to make sure everyone staying there has the best possible time-The themed nights were so much fun and a great way to meet other travellers. The rooms were actually luxury after sleeping in dorm beds, a double bed to yourself with ensuite bathroom shared with one other backpacker! Ideal. Overall the hostel is clean, breakfast is awesome and I would definately go back. Thanks guys

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip b, Manager at DK’s House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks so much for your great review! You are right, this is a hostel like no other!! The set-up is perfect for interacting with other people or you can always chill in our very comfortable rooms or enjoy the rooftop terrace. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you soon!!

Phil, DK'sHouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here after completing the buffalo run, which was booked through the backpackers hostel in Hanoi. On arrival, having just completed the Hai Van pass, we were warmly welcomed by the staff and given free drinks. We were then shown to our rooms, which were so clean and spacious and lovely having an en suite too! Breakfast was lovely, consisting on baguette, eggs (cooked to your choosing) and fresh fruit. There is also a small bar, serving all types of alcohol and at a very good price. I decided to stay an extra few nights (as did some of the other people on the buffalo run) because his hostel was so relaxing. There is even a small swimming pool to cool off in!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip b, Manager at DK’s House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write us a great review. It always nice to hear how much people enjoy this place. Most people come here intending on staying a few nights but they quickly realize that this is the kind of place where you can feel like it is a home away from home and stay a few extra days. Safe travels!!

Phil, Manager DK's House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DK’s House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DK’s House

Address: 308 Nguyen Duy Hieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Dong Khanh Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DK’s House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.