We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for exploring the delightful town of Hoi An” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Lantern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hoi An Lantern Hotel to your Saves list
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   288 Nguyen Duy Hieu | Son Phong, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam (Formerly An Phu Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Hoi An
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel for exploring the delightful town of Hoi An”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We did not find the hotel to be excessively noisy and noticed only some minor work going on during our stay.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and a good size. Bed very comfortable. The rice, noodle and pho dished offered for breakfast were great as were the Western alternatives on offer including omelettes cooked to order. We would definitely stay here again when in Hoi An.

The airport transfers organised via the hotel were also great. You can hire bikes from a woman next door to the hotel at a very reasonable rate to cycle to the beaches etc. The town centre is a short walk, around 5 minutes. Two doors from the hotel on the way to town on the same side as the hotel is a great little convenience store run by a husband and wife. They also offer driver services and are very helpful should you need anything. Also nearby is a pharmacy where at least one of the pharmacists speaks English should you require any minor medical assistance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest from Australia,

We would like to thank you for your choosing Hoi An Lantern Hotel as your home of choice for your holiday in Hoi an and thank you for having taken the time to post a kind review about your visit at our hotel, We appreciate your feedback about us and from our honestly heart we’re always warmly welcome you and your family come back with us on your next holiday in Hoi An,
My best regards,
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    85
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
94
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a small group tour. The staff were helpful and friendly. We had rooms overlooking the pool which were both spotless and to a good standard. Unlike one or two other reviewers we didn't find the hotel noisy at all - even though there were several other guests staying at the time. We had a complimentary lantern making and Vietnamese class here and found it a good base to explore Hoi An from. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we were offered on our tour of Vietnam and we thought that the Lantern gave excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear value guests,
We were very glad that you had an enjoyable holiday at Hoian Lantern Hotel last month, particular we were very happy and appreciate to have your kind comments about our staff, the room, breakfast buffet, lantern making and Vietnamese class also, we trust your comments and we will try to find the new service to offer for the guests, Vietnamese and lantern making class were offer free of charge for at least 3 night occupied accommodation which it was available at our hotel only, you were one of the guests share the valuable feedback about that service so we believe will be success on our service, Once more, thank you very much for your truly comments towards Hoi an Lantern Hotel we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at our hotel in the nearest future.

With my kindest regard!

Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in the Lantern hotel for 3 nights in August and overall it was OK, They arranged a car to pick us up from Danang train station for 20$ (expensive, you can get it cheaper), but when we were leaving we booked the taxi to the airport in one of the tourist agencies on the main road for 11$.
The hotel is a nice building, location is good, just 10 minutes walk from the pedestrian zone in the old city, rooms large enough and clean, breakfast at the restaurant terrace at the top of the building was excellent.
However, the rooms are not sound proof and you can hear every guest in the corridor, walking, talking, locking and unlocking the doors...very noisy. All rooms are facing the hotel pool, and there were people using it from early morning. Can't blame other guests for enjoying the pool, but kids screaming, splashing and jumping into the pool from 7am is not really enjoyable sounds when you want to sleep a little longer.
The spa is ok, we took a vietnamese massage, and we took the cooking class which is higly recommended - we had really fun walking and shopping at the market, and preparing food later in the hotel restaurant.
If you don't mind the noise from corridors and pool, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear traveler,
Thank you for having chosen Hoi an Lantern Hotel for your holiday in Hoi An and for sharing feedback about your visit, we were always recorded the value feedback from the guests like you, that is the basis for us to improve the quality of service, with flagrant purpose “service from the heart” and it will be grown with stature one of the 3 star standard international hotel in Hoi An, on behalf of our staff and hotel management we wish you accept our sincere apologies about noisy around the corridor and swimming pool area, we will fix the effective time and remark of the pool on hotel’s regulation, control the sound around the corridor as well, the private car pick you up from Danang train station/ Airport to Hoi An Town cost 20 usd, that is the normal price for almost 3 star hotel and Travel Company in Hoi An, we could not ensure about the quality of the transport service shuttle from travel agency out site of our hotel, we think they want to took you to go to there and connected other trip with other guest from Danang back to Hoi An or some where else, so some time it’s cheaper than. we will be sure to make your next trip with the best thing at our hotel. We look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to Hoi An!
Wish you have a beautyful life!
My best regards,
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family for one night and enjoyed our short stay. Breakfast buffet is of excellent quality and variety, with a beautiful view from the open air room. Reception staff is smily and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guests from France,
Thank you for having chosen Hoi an Lantern Hotel as your address of choice for your holiday, we enjoy having you stay with us and more happy with your trully comments about our staff, breakfast buffet and the room, We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us on another occasion.
Wish you all the best!
My best regards,
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we loved this place! the staff were excellent, very welcoming and could not do enough to help. food was lovely in the beautiful top floor restaurant. the room was clean and cool and the balcony overlooked the busy motorbike-filled street but behind the doors the room was silent. it was exactly what we wanted & would recommend the hotel to all who visit Hoi An!

we had a little problem with a local lady who followed us off the bus to the hotel, then continued to wait outside for 4 hours until we came out. we did not know what she wanted but tried to direct us down back alleys when showing us where the hotel was on the map. it shook me up and unfortunately we only stayed 1 night instead of the planned 2 nights in Hoi An. it was such a shame as it was our favourite place we visited in Vietnam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear value guests from United Kingdom,
Thank you very much for your recent visit Hoi an Lantern Hotel on your vacation and for posting a review on tripadvisor, We appreciate your feedback about the staff and the room. That is the motive for hotel management and our staff development of hotel in future, Once more, thank you very much for your truly comments towards Hoi an Lantern Hotel and your recommendation to another guests. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at our hotel in the nearest future, wish you good luck and happy!
With my kindest regards,
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai / Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed four nights at the Lantern Hotel as part of a small group tour. The hotel is situated in a very charming building, there's a nice little pool and the reception area is large and nice-looking. The location is fine; it takes only 15 minutes to walk into the old town and there are lots of restaurants in the neighbourhood. The staff were all very friendly and helpful - the people at the reception, waiters as well as cleaning staff. I tried the Vietnamese massage at the spa which was a great experience.
Still, I was a bit disappointed with the room I was given - it was small and dark and the bathroom was a bit shabby and not too clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear travelers from Denmark,
Thank you for having taken the time to post a review about your visit at Hoi an Lantern Hotel. Unfortunately we have some mistake about the room make you was disappointed on your trip to visit Hoian, we will remark your feed back for look after cleaning staff and to improve facilities as well, we are always welcome you back on your next visit at our hotel.
Wish you all the best
My best regards,

Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Where to start!
We checked in and the receptionist took our passports and said we'll keep them.
This had not happened in any other hotel in Vietnam. But we gave her the benefit of doubt. However as she was leading us to the lift I saw that our passports were left sitting on the desk in an elastic band. The lobby was mobbed with a massive group at the time. Not very safe, so we asked her to copy them and return there and then. She said she would on our return. We were not too happy with this.

The beds had no duvet. There were 2 sheets and nothing else but a filthy blanket in the press.
That meant it was absolutely freezing by about 2am.
Then at 7am began the drilling and hammering. This continued all morning. What a joke!!!
We rang reception who didn't understand what we were saying about the noise.
Disastrous stay!!
Stay away at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guests from Ireland,
Thank you for your visit Hoi an Lantern hotel on your holiday to Hoi an, on behalf of management and our staff from our honestly heart we would like to sorry for all mistake to make you disappointed on your trip, We were recorded your feedback about our mistake, we are always learn your experience from travelers like you, that was one of the most reality lesson for us to improved hotel service and groundwork for retraining the staff, improved service, we finished renovation at the moment, we will be sure to make your next trip with the best thing at our hotel. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at our hotel in the nearest future.
wish you all the best!
with my kindest regards,

Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Lantern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Lantern Hotel

Address: 288 Nguyen Duy Hieu | Son Phong, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam (Formerly An Phu Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoi An Lantern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the impression designed in the style of the people of Hoi An. Hoi An Lantern Hotel always gives you a warm experience feeling as the real people of the ancient town of Hoi An. You can enjoy your own eyes the charming landscape of the Hoi An ancient city, the river flows into the sea, the green rice fields along the trails or the bright sunrise in the morning and romantic sunset on the way down through the telescopes at the Observation of Lantern restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hoi An Lantern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Phu Hoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Lantern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.