We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Lantern Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hoi An Lantern Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   288 Nguyen Duy Hieu | Son Phong, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam (Formerly An Phu Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER DEAL STAY 3 PAY 2
Ranked #37 of 80 hotels in Hoi An
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good location, about 10 mins walk to the downtown area. Many tailor shops along the way. Comfortable room, nice beds and a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Good WIFI connection. The only downside is the heat despite putting the AC on full blast, not enough to cool down during the Hoi An summer. Good service from staff, always helpful and smiling. Buffet breakfast was fair, given the prices we pay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest from malaysia,
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for having taken the time to submit a review about Hoian Lantern hotel on tripadvisor, we were very pleased to read that and appreciate your kind comments about our staff, we were very happied for your shariing feedback about hotel' facilities, we were recorded your feedback and fixed aircondition so it was perfected now. Once again, thank you very much for your stay with our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip,
With my kindest regards,
Hoian Lntern hotel
Guest Relations Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai / Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    50
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
49
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here with 3 children and had a fantastic experience. The rooms were comfortable, nice swimming pool to cool off around and the breakfasts (included in the price) were a highlight. A good location - just a short walk into the old town. You can get your laundry done next door and hire a bike. Great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Nicholas,
We would like to thank you very much for your choosing Hoi an Lantern Hotel on your holiday and there were comments about our hotel on tripadvisor, we are grateful for your informations and hove we will serve your family again at our hotel.
Your sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Nguyen Duc Tai / Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

1. The hotel is located on a good location. It's a walking distance to the Ancient town. Along the way to there, there are bunch of shops so you can go window shopping along the way :)
2. The wifi signal is very weak. I could only connect it with my ipad not my phone. We stayed on the 2nd floor. I don't think, they set up router separately for each individual floor. ( internet accessibility has become our one of the major facts to book the hotel since we need to do some research for our plan)
3. I don't like how they kept insist on keeping our passport. I even said that they could get my photocopied ones, they rejected the idea.
4. We got them arranged the airport service to Danang at 400,000 VND for 2 persons. It's cheaper outside but we preferred to book with them for our own convenience.
5.I would recommend this hotel to all ages. It's friendly environment. Nice pool, walking distance from place to place.
6. Dont recommend to get the food at the restaurant next to the hotel ( on the right!!) the food was pretty not yummy! But you should try for yourself because we might have different preference :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear guests from Thai Land,
Thank you for your having comments on community tripadvisor about Hoian Lantern Hotel and choosing it on your vacation, we really did not know before about the incident on the internet connection of your room, it was repaired by computer mainternance as soon as we receive your informations, we do apologize about that incident and always hope it's never happen again, your passports are use for controlling scurity between all guests and local goverment only not for other thing that way we keep your passport during you stay with us and we are responsible fof that if you see any problem about your pasports, we hope you are happy about that.
Best regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Nguyen Duc Tai/Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights but could have stayed longer! the staff are very friendly & want to help with everything the guest might need. It's a nice spacious vietnamese style building with a pool. The rooms have flat screen TV & air con operates whilst you are in the room, but it does get very cool quickly! The location is excellent as the road has lots of fun shops & restaurants & through a shortcut you can find a row of restaurants right on the river where some local friends took me which was really convenient! the best one is called Song Thu about a 5 minute walk! I also was recommended to try their cooking course which was a wonderful surprise! you would never know from the basic breakfast that the chef Anthony has real gourmet knowledge! he took me to the market, explained the exotic fruits & vegetables I was not familiar with before returning to the kitchen set up where I got to prepare the dishes of my choice! I also didn't want any added processed sugar & we adjusted the recipes to my requirements which turned out delicious! This was definitely a 5 star experience! I recommend staying here so you can splurge on a new wardrobe from Ha Na tailors at 85 Tran Hung Dao St. definitely these sisters are 5 star!! have a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dera Ms Nancette,
We would like to thank you for your writing comments and spent your holiday 3 nghts at Hoi an Lantern Hotel.
Our hotel is the perfect stage to go to the upgrading of equipment including air conditioners so we are ensure all facilities will hard working at the moment, the daily local tours were organized everyday but among them one of the most special tour that we would recommend to our customers and to you are cooking class, we are proud of the tour guide because he is local peole and he had good knowledgeable of food as well as good experience working in the food industry, we are very happy when you have a good comment about that, we are rejoice welcome you come back our hotel on your next trip,
Your sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The lobby is comfortable and well presented.The hotel is on a main road not far from the town centre.Service is good with attentive staff.It looks very nice at night and lives up to its name.

I will visit here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Alfred,
Many thanks for your choosing Hoi An Lantern Hotel on your trip! we are very happy when you have the best comments about our hotel, that is the source of motivation to the management and all staffs of better working, there is also the motto of the daily work in our hotel,we are going to complete than some quality of service as well as equipment of the hotel so we warmly welcome you to our hotel to experience more about our changes.
Your sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai /Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel with our 6 and 4 year old children for 6 nights in April 2013.
We originally booked for 2 nights but ended up extending our stay as we couldn't beat the location, price and service of this hotel. Not a resort style hotel, more like a guesthouse with good service by friendly staff, not too crowded, and the kids didn.t want to get out of the pool. Very close to the centre of town by foot or hiring a pushbike from the nice lady accross the road for $1.50 a day. Buffet breakfast was quite good and poolside service for drinks and food. Easy 15 to 20 minute bike ride out to the beach along the rivers edge or $3 taxi ride. Great view of the local area from the very top of the hotel. Wouldn't look any further than this hotel if we were to ever return to Hoi An.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear value guests from Australia,
We would like to thank you very much for your choosing Hoi an Lantern Hotel on your vacation and have comment about our hotel online community, our hotel is more convenient than other hotel about located position, we constantly improve service quality as well as pricing policies to create the best satisfaction for guests and always try to maintain quality at 3 star hotel, we are not a high-end resort and not a guest house too, so long time we are a 3 star standard hotel and always strive to achieve higher standards,
We look forward to serving your family at our hotel again on your next trip,
With my best regards,
Guest Relations Manager,
Nguyen Duc Tai / mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spent 2 nights here as part of a small group tour. The location was good, right at the end of a main shopping street and very walkable. Plenty of good restaurants nearby. My room was a fairly good sized room with a refrigerator, working A/C, clean, and a decent shower. I didnt have much of view but it did not matter as I spent most of my time exploring beautiful little Hoi An. The lobby is large with comfortable sitting and the breakfast buffet is more than adequate. There is a pool that looked attractive. I liked this hotel. My only reservation is with the front desk...not particularly friendly and when asked to reserve a massage at a nearby spa, they pulled out THEIR massage listing at the hotel and said they could reserve one of those, completely ignoring my request. All in all, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your kinding comments our hotel on tripadvisor. Nearby old city, friendly staff, good services, that was the comment from visitors after they staying at our hotel, that's right we are always working with the motto "service from the heart" and ready to provide all available services in our hotel to guests, we do not want our customer spent their money without service value, we are not allowed to refuse or ignore requests from customers, we look forward to what is selling good and services affordable for our customers first.
we hope see you again in our hotel.
Wth my kindest regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai / Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Lantern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Lantern Hotel

Address: 288 Nguyen Duy Hieu | Son Phong, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam (Formerly An Phu Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoi An Lantern Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the impression designed in the style of the people of Hoi An. Hoi An Lantern Hotel always gives you a warm experience feeling as the real people of the ancient town of Hoi An. You can enjoy your own eyes the charming landscape of the Hoi An ancient city, the river flows into the sea, the green rice fields along the trails or the bright sunrise in the morning and romantic sunset on the way down through the telescopes at the Observation of Lantern restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hoi An Lantern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Phu Hoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Lantern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.