We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but That is all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea and Sand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sea and Sand Hotel to your Saves list
Sea and Sand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Cua Dai | Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 99 Hotels in Hoi An
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location but That is all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

This place is but like a school or hospital building. Cold and sterile. I think there might have even been Lino floors. I regretted booking if, was bad weather when I was there which didn't help but the pool was empty (didn't say that on website either) and the buses into hoi an infrequent. Room large and airy, brek just average. No competition in that price range in area though. Seems more if a place for locals. As a female on my own u actually didn't feel that safe in the area

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    45
    29
    15
    10
See reviews for
25
41
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

So close to the beach the pool didn't matter. This hotel really suited us. The shops on Cua Dai Rd. made it a great self contained local area with restaurants, street food, clothing shops, convenience stores and a little market. Back toward the bridge, first St. on the right was a great little coffee shop that opened at 0530 which compensated for no kettle!
The complimentary GoBy beach club pass got used most days as the weather was 30c++.
Sunloungers under thatched umbrellas with a little table for your G&T and lovely seafood lunch.
This part of the beach had lots of locals and near Cua Dai Rd. street food on the beach incl. whole fried crabs and delicious clam dishes.
On lantern festival night we found town to be too hot and crowded so came back to the beach covered with lanterns and locals having a great time

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have balconies to watch the passing parade
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.A.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Fine for a 4 night visit. Very rarely in our rooms so it was OK. Rooms were clean with large, comfy, clean beds. Bathrooms clean enough. Breakfast good. Had a good laugh at our teenage daughters faces when they saw the pool!!!! Ha Ha it is as big as a large bath and on main road next to carpark!! Close to beach but still close enough to walk into town. The restaurant next door (right hand side if you are looking from the front) is beautiful with great service, cheap and delicious food. Loved Hoi An!! Take advantage of the tailors - they are the cheapest and best quality throughout Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed in Sea & Sand hotel in Hoi An, Viet Nam just 2 nights because I booked a tour package from the North to the South and come back to USA.
It is just a 3 star hotel but made me really amazed with what they serviced...I loved all...the view, the bancony, the private beach, the buffet breakfast, the staff etc.
I don't intend to say so much. I just shared my experiences with you when I traveled...
I will recomend this hotel to my friends if they plan to travel to Vietnam.

Room Tip: cheap room rate but fully services. You can get anything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel is well located if you want to go to the beach and do not want to stay in expensive resorts. Although this hotel needs refurbishing and an overall good cleaning, our room and sheets were clean. Staff is very nice. The pool is very small and located next to the hotel parking. We were given beach vouchers to get free towels, chairs on the beach at the Go By restaurant which is a very nice. The hotel has not really an ocean view because you can see a bit of the ocean trough the palm treas, you will see a moto parking space instead. We recommed it for a short stay but don't expect too much. Also Hoi An is too commercial for us we preferred our stay at the Sandy Beach Hotel in Danand which was great.

Sea and Sand has free shuttle to go downtown about 4 times a day. The Sandy Beach also has free shuttles to go to dowtown Danang and to Hoi An.

Room Tip: Sea and Sand has free shuttle to go downtown about 4 times a day. The Sandy Beach also has free shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Disclaimer: We stayed in the best room (405) for about $40/night. That room is on the corner of the top floor. We stayed from 8/3 -11/3.

As long as you don't expect luxury standard, this hotel is excellent with very clean rooms and close to beach. Yes, you will see marks on the walls or ceiling, and the bathroom is old but it is very clean and NOT dusty (we had to move out of another hotel in Hoi An town due to a dusty and unclean room). The room was cleaned daily. The hotel itself is old, but it has charm.

Staff are extremely friendly even though they have limited English. They helped us with any inquiry.

They have a shuttle bus to the town every two hours, four times a day. Last one leaves the hotel at 430pm. Taxi costs about $4.

Balcony is spacious and clean. A nice place to read a book if you're beached out.

Breakfast was average but sufficient.

Tip: Pay a bit more and book a room with balcony facing the main street as this would give you seaview. If Breakfast is optional, I would skip it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I viewed all the hotels listed for the beach area of Hoi An. Sea and Sand was one of the few (perhaps only?) inexpensive hotels near the lovely beach (easy 5-minute walk). Located along the main road, it has the noises of Vietnam but quiets down at night. No warm-fuzzy atmosphere here, but it's clean, rooms are spacious with lots of drawer space, shower is good, and the breakfast is filling and fine. It was what I wanted for the money I wanted to pay. They offer a beach towel from some restaurant located on a side road; I never found it. Just brought my sarong (my travel staple) and relaxed. Great restaurant next door, not affiliated with hotel: Bao Han.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Indochine Hotel
Indochine Hotel
#76 of 99 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Agribank Hoi An Beach Resort
12.6 mi away
Fansipan Danang Hotel
Fansipan Danang Hotel
#60 of 150 in Da Nang
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muong Thanh Hoi An Hotel
Muong Thanh Hoi An Hotel
#79 of 99 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Beach Resort
River Beach Resort
#62 of 99 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ki No Homestay
Ki No Homestay
#80 of 132 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea and Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea and Sand Hotel

Address: 15 Cua Dai | Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 99 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea and Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea and Sand Hotel is located on the edge of Cua Dai Beach. It offers light rooms with private balconies and free Wi-Fi. There is also an outdoor swimming pool.Each room at Hotel Sea and Sand is decorated with fresh decor and tiled floors. They feature satellite TV, daily fresh fruit baskets and free mineral water.At the Sea and Sand, drinks can be ordered from the Sun Bar and delivered to the pool. There is also a relaxing spa, which offers a range of beauty and body treatments.Hotel Rooms: 36 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Sea and Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea and Sand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.