We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing romantic getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rejuvenate in Style
Ranked #1 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“An amazing romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

From the moment we arrived to the sad day we left, the service was impeccable.
The entrance is grand and as you walk up the steps to the front desk you'll be wowed.

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. We reserved a single bedroom villa without a pool and were only a minutes-walk away from the beach. The villa had a very zen-like feel to it and we were impressed with the layout and style.

All three pools were great, again service throughout the resort was fantastic. Maybe the only slightest complaint was that the main 'quiet' pool was set at a temperature a touch too warm?! (I guess when its 35 degrees C outside with over 85% humidity, being in colder water is way more refreshing). Sorry, i guess this is classed as a first-world problem?!!

Agree with the previous reviewer, this resort is obviously aimed at a certain demographic and status (maybe?)...which my wife and I are outside of! So, the food prices in our opinion were high. Although, note that the food quality is excellent.

All in all a great stay and experience. We will definitely come back if we are in Hoi An - if not for the serene location, for both the comfort and definitely for the service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    818
    92
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
213
554
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is certainly a 5 star location. Despite its rather large size you never feel that it is crowded and it looks out on a magnificent stretch of unspoiled beach and the warm waters of the southern seas. A really brilliant location for a relaxing break when exploring Vietnam. We choose to end our long trek with 6 restful days here which was a great plan with Hoi An beside you for a nice diversion and a bit of retail thereby under the heading of bespoke tailoring.

The food here is superb but its is extremely expensive compared to normal Vietnamese prices, even taking into account the exceptional surroundings and the fact that the food is extremely good its just that bit too expensive. That said we had one of the best Indian dinners I've ever had and lunch was always excellent looking out over the beach. Breakfast is a superb buffet with just about anything available to order that might come into your head.

The staff are truly what make the location a head above its rivals, Phongg (lady works in reservations I think) and Thu were really helpful and couldn't do enough to help us. Bingh who was in charge of the villas was also excellent as was Vieth, the chef who gave us our excellent cooking class. We had the use of a Butler - Aong - but after a day we had nothing we could think of that she needed to do so we advised we didn't need her. Honestly there is only so much two people need when your just chilling out! Probably a great idea if there are lots of you, but for us, it just didn't make sense. (Sincere apologies if I have your names spelled incorrectly, but you know we appreciated your help).

We had a pool villa which gave us great privacy and I would highly recommend and gives you allot more space. The rooms are superb but I would have to concur that you need to be ready to deal with lots of single steps around the place. That said they are well lit and pretty obvious, but just keep your wits about you. The overall architecture is also superb with wonderful mood lighting and superb facilities - not that we tried them out though.

There is a great shuttle service available from the hotel for trips to town and its available to book any time if you are in a pool villa, otherwise use the standard timed bus. But if your stuck spending max €5 for a taxi from town wont break the bank!

Overall a big thumbs up but just maybe use the in-house restaurants for a few special meals and have a more inexpensive really good meals in the very informal surroundings of the local Hoi An restaurants.

Room Tip: Rates define the room location! But they all have the same layout, just some are a bit more overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Nam Hai this past May and had a wonderful 4 days/4 nights. The grounds are spectacular and the pools are out of this world. The beach is immaculate, albeit burning hot, but the resort has little control over that. All positive reviews are deserved.

Our major qualm was our room. Other reviews mention the awkward layout (particularly the steps near the bed) which can be a nuisance for the less agile. But our air conditioner broke on our second day there. With 99 degree temperatures, A/C is a necessity. The mechanics came to our room at 6pm and left at 9pm. Obviously less, than ideal, especially since we had just come back from an early dinner. After that was fixed, the next day our suite lost power. Again, in the evening. We had the mechanics again there until 9pm. Finally, one of our sinks was clogged and didn't drain after brushing my teeth.

To their credit, they gave us a very late check out (thank you!) since we were taking the red eye back. Still, we are paying an extraordinary price for an alleged 5 star resort and 2 out of our 4 nights were interrupted with mechanics and engineers in our room fixing problems.

On the plus side, the breakfast is ridiculously good and the people and staff are extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian L, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, today
Thank you very much for choosing The Nam Hai, as your address of luxury, when visiting the Central Coast of Vietnam.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you have encountered during your stay. Furthermore, we truly appreciate all your time whilst in residence, to share with us, your constructive feedback; we also acknowledge, that our team, addressed your concerns immediately and provided service recovery as per our internal records.

All that said, we do understand the frustrations you must have endured, with constant interruptions, to the the serenity of your stay. On behalf of the entire team, I can reassure you this is not reflective of the service/product we are committed to providing at The Nam Hai. We do hope that you will return one day soon to experience, first hand, what we are capable of.

Florian Leven
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel creates an atmosphere of luxury and peace. The staff are the best and look after everyone in a caring fashion. The complex is well run and beautifully maintained. We had superb Indian meal the first night and excellent breakfasts every day. The shuttle into Hoi Ann works very well. The layout of the rooms creates a feeling of peace and tranquility will a view of the sea - although we didn't see the sun! The gym is really well equipped and quite quiet!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our family stayed in Villa 2020 - a 3 bedroom ocean view pool villa which sits just behind one of the beach front villas. Anywhere else and I'd describe our villa as a beach front villa too, such were the wonderful views and proximity to the sand and sea. This is an extraordinarily beautiful property.The wow factor continues inside the villas. Everything was beautifully maintained and we felt very pampered by Thuong, our butler who organised everything for us, from restaurant and car bookings in to Hoi An, to fresh towels, drinks (including the divine and ubiquitous Vietnamese coffee to which we became hopelessly addicted),afternoon tea and evening canapes. Thank you Thuong for making us all feel so welcome and for showing me how to prepare a Vietnamese coffee. We used the gym every morning and had breakfast at the restaurant in the main part of the resort. We also enjoyed several massages at the spa.The staff, the facilities and the food were all excellent. Trouble now is, can anything possibly live up to the Nam Hai?? We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Nam Hai with our two 17 yr old sons for 10 days in July. We had a beachfront villa for ourselves and an ocean view villa for our sons. Both were fabulous. The whole resort is completely stunning. We have travelled extensively and this resort is definitely the most beautiful we have stayed at. The villas are beautifully designed and furnished, the gardens of the resort are amazing, the pools are huge, the staff very friendly and attentive. The gym facilities are also great. Breakfast choice is extensive and everything delicious. The only negative would be the restaurant and alcohol prices which are very high. Apart from that, a beautiful place which we would love to return too.

Room Tip: We had 4020, absolute beachfront and close to pool, no problem with noise from pool area. Our childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian L, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for selecting The Nam Hai as your address of choice for your family vacation Vietnam. We were thrilled reading about how much you and your sons enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments about our resort, our colleagues and our restaurants will be passed to our colleagues, and we are certain they will be thrilled to hear about them.

We admit that the prices at our restaurants are higher compared to offerings in Hoi An. We pride ourselves of importing high quality ingredients/products, continuous training our staff in high standards of hygiene and food preparation, ongoing training in English to name but a few. We believe that all of those, in combination of the ambiance at our resort, provide value to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your visit and time to share your experience at The Nam Hai. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the foreseeable future.

Florian Leven,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you can afford the rates, stop looking, stop reading and book, you will. It be disappointed!

A little more detail if you need it? I am a little 'fussy' shall we say, with this in mind:

ARRIVAL
Met at the airport as we booked the hotel car. Super helpful, very efficient, cold towels, drinks and 30 minutes later we arrived to a personal welcome. All very efficient, room also ready despite a 09:30 arrival.

ROOMS
We had a beach villa and asked for it close to the main pool, we got exactly as quested. No more than 10 metes away. Beautifully set out, great views lying in bed or sitting on the terrace with an afternoon beer. Great showers, gels, big soft towels. Double sinks and wardrobes. Super comfortable bed, nice linen etc. iPod decks playing when you return each evening with candles lit. All in all very very nice. Oh, and free, fast wifi in the room.

The room is serviced twice per day between times of your choosing. Towels refreshed etc. standards very high and staff genuinely looking to help and please.

POOLS
We loved the idea of having 3 pools, one being for 16 years and older (sorry, not anti children but do like to snooze and read). Free wifi actually at the pool that's also pretty quick. The infinity pool is probably the biggest and best I have seen. The pool attendants are out of this world. All incredibly helpful. I can not speak highly enough for them.

RESTAURANTS
Food here is great. Good selection for breakfast (I read some TA comments that questioned the selection - their view of course but I personally do not feel it could have been any better having stayed in some great places, remember I did say I was fussy).

Vietnamese restaurant is good for lunch and dinner. The western/Indian also very good quality. I would recommend both.

TEAM AT THE NAM HAI
From the gardeners, the restaurant staff, pool attendants, lifeguard, reception team etc etc they all go above and beyond. A great team and with over 600 involved at the Nam Hai it is no wonder the service is so good.

EXCURSIONS
We attended the canapé party with was complimentary and very nice. We also did the cooking course, don't miss it. For the fee we had a private lesson which involved a tour of the local market to buy produce (the tour itself was great), a cooking lesson in the restaurant and then of course we got to eat the lunch we had prepared. Great value and our chef (Vinh) was outstanding. A great chef, teacher and very patient with both of us. Compliments to him for sure.

OVERALL
Sure we will return. Yes, it's not the cheapest but if you want the best then expect to pay for it. Genuinely can not think of anything we would have changed, other than an extra week!

Book it, you will love it!

Room Tip: Beach villas superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.