We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A M A Z I N G” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #1 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
rugby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A M A Z I N G”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our 4 days at the Nam Hai were truly truly magical from the second we were picked up from the airport to the second we were dropped off we were made to feel like royalty. Walter personally welcomed us which was a very nice touch. We were then driven down to our bungalow and met by our butler Duy, who by the end of the 4 day trip felt like a friend. He arranged a tailor to come to the villa, recommended restaurants, organised transport and his piece de resistance was our barbecue around our Pool, was truly truly special. When i return to the Nam Hai it will be on the proviso that Duy looks after us. The Nam Hai is a paradise that shouldn't be missed, its a special hotel in a very special country.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    858
    93
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
233
564
23
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family, consisting of the four of us along with our friends being a family of five stayed 10 nights at this wonderful resort.
Between the two families, we had 5 teenage daughters. Teenagers can often be a challenge to keep entertained, but there was absolutely no complaints from anyone. The girls were happy to have long leisurely breakfasts each morning, swims in the villa and general pool, watch videos, play games of tennis, ping pong, ride the resorts' bikes, spa treatments, walks along the beach and one morning we requested the girls have a surfing lesson ..... which was arranged by the management with minimal fuss for us, and a big success for them.
We, the parents had a beautiful quality time with our children ...... free from the daily routines that snatches time away from the kids.

The general "grumble" that has been raised in this forum has been an issue with the price of the resort. If one breaks down the costs and understand what is included in the price, in my opinion, the cost is very good value.

The staff were superb. Very intelligent training by management.
The food was delicious, the breakfast buffet was refined and chic. The Beach Restaurant was a wonderful reflection of the Vietnamese food and culture.
One of our favourite nights was the in house Villa b.b.q. What a beautiful experience.

All in all, it was a pleasure to stay in a resort that has firmly positioned themselves on "old fashioned" basic principal of making sure the guest is treated with great respect.
To the management and all staff at The Nam Hai ..... your hard work is recognised and appreciated and we wish you all continued success.

Room Tip: Just book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for having chosen The Nam Hai as your destination of choice for your family holiday. It was very refreshing to read that you, your friends and the teenagers had a lovely time at the resort, in particular with the impromptu surfing lessons. Furthermore, we appreciate your kind comments about our lavish breakfast buffet and your perception of value for money for the services and amenities offered. Once again, thank you very much for your recent visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Its really best hotel or better resort arround , nodern design, perfect workmanship, and of course perfect service, but this has also a price. As lready last year we booke the weekend with 1 night at japanese bridge hotel called vinh hung 1, for sight seeing and then 2 nights for recreation at the nam hai, so we compensated some cost and had a full night in the lovely village.
Fo the facilities have a look to their webside, but original is much better.
Villa perfect , pool perfect, even sometimes you feel like snob as they serve befor you ask.
Only open point , still some construction material ( broken briks) in the sand from villa to beach, please clean up that.
We did not take dinner there for budget reason, but nearby retaurants at public beach are ok, but basic.
An breakfast, perfect, if you ask for any minus, ok, 2 bottle of sparkilng wine was not already open.

Room Tip: Enough €,$, thake a pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Nam Hai and for including our resort as a luxury finish in your itinerary through Vietnam. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed the resort’s architecture and design as well as the polished service of our staff. As for the debris found on the beach, we do have a team of Gardeners who walk the full length of the property each morning picking up items in order to maintain the stretch of beach as pristine as possible. Once again, thank you for your visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the foreseeable future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuyen Quang, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fantastic. Value for money. We are treated as King and Queen on our honeymoon trip. The room was so spacious with helpful staffs. We are welcome in special way. The nice girls who taking care of us at their reosrt. We will come back and recommends my friends, Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am a little late in writing my review given we stayed at the Nam Hai for 7 nights commencing 29th July. I was looking for somewhere special to celebrate Dean's 60th Birthday and wow the Nam Hai delivered, what a wonderful resort (thank you for the roses and cake - a lovely surprise for Dean). Firstly, I need to make special mention to everyone of the wonderful people who work at the Nam Hai, such beautiful genuinely friendly, caring people. I have never said good morning so many times walking to breakfast. Secondly, the food, absolutely fantastic, I would recommend either of the restaurants. The room, we had a beach front, excellent, waking each morning to the beautiful sea view, seeing the fisherman boats all the way to Danang, seriously just the memory brings tears to my eyes. Thank you to everyone for a wonderful holiday celebration, we certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Even though it was rainy, we had a good time at Nam Hai. The property and service was fantastic. Great, big pool and good gym. Service is one of the best we've experienced. The restaurants are a little overpriced and the food is ok. But breakfast is very good. The only little negative comment I have is that we found the room to be very dark and there are too may little steps which makes is even trickier to move around in the room at night. But there is the most amazing movie selection which you could pick off the TV.

Highly recommend it for couples and girls friends, but not with young children.

Room Tip: This is a huge property. We are lucky to have a room near the centre so that we do not have to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Nam Hai is a beautiful resort simply everything about its is of the highest quality.

What i enjoyed about it the most was its privacy and quietness. Our fellow guests were were there to relax and enjoy the serenity of the place. It was mostly couples the main pool has excludes children under 16, which makes for a peaceful day around the pool. There are two other pools and a beach if anyone has younger children.

Best way I can sum it up is that The Nam Hai is a beautiful serene place for people who value their privacy and who enjoy pampering themselves from time to time .... and who want a break from the day to day.

Wifi and Cable internet was available in our cabin and was excellent in speed and continuity. I have an iPhone 5 and with the adaptor from 4 to 5 we had access to all of our music through the sound system.

We loved the outside shower :)

Room Tip: We used local cab service to travel to and fro from Danang. It was excellent and Safe. From memory...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Otel, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.