We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be the best resort in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ultimate Romance
Ranked #2 of 77 hotels in Hoi An
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could be the best resort in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

this was the most amazing experience. A group of 7 of us traveled from around Asia and Australia to meet here. OMG it was sensational. We had our own villa (3 in total) which had sunken bathtub, canopy beds french doors opening out onto an infinity pool that lead onto the famous China beach. Coconut trees, music, cocktails, butler at our service, sun beds.....it goes on. The breakfast buffet which was included was sensational - huge selection of Asian and western foods to choose from. Little golf carts and bicycles to drive us around. www.thenamhai.com Thank you to Debbie Chee from the Resort for making this possible.

Room Tip: Beach Front villas are just the best as not all villas are beach front with an infinity pool. Go ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    747
    88
    40
    13
    7
See reviews for
197
506
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The Nam Hai is a pearl. The grounds and the buildings are absolutely beautiful, the pools huge and the food is great. What sets it apart from everything we have ever visited is - as always - the people. Everyone from management, hospitality staff and service personell did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We stayed a week and would come back anytime - pity Norway - Hoi An is such a distance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Nam Hai is truly an amazing establishment. Much more than just a hotel, it was heaven.
The Nam Hai is one special place.
We travelled with another family and had two individual pool villas with interconnecting door through the garden. It worked really well for us and our collective 4 children.
The Accom - our private pool villa was just divine....exceeded my already high expectations.
The Breakfast - everything you could want and more. Service outstanding.
Private Butler - our villa came with a private butler (K) and she was amazing (wont disclose her name as I'd like to keep her to myself!!). K was just fantastic, there when you needed her, and then disappeared!
The Spa - must have a treatment or massage... just heaven.
The room service and restaurants are expensive, compared to eating in town. However the food standard is very high and you wont be disappointed. Even the simple children's meals were great. Biggest tip would be have a big breakfast, very light lunch and head into Hoi An town for dinner at one of the many restaurants. Lantern Town being my favourite.
Overall we were so impressed and enjoyed so much, we hope to book again for next year.

Room Tip: Any of the private pool villas are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

i just stayed here for a 4 day trip with my wife,i can only tell you that from all the hotels we stayed at globally this ranks in the top 5 for sure.
room fab/food unbelievable./prices reasonable and great pool areas.
only downside is the steps in the villa,don't go if you have any problems walking but really this was a fantastic place and for sure we will return.

Its near the airport,so easy to get to and roads very quiet, a true paradise and so well managed!
dave

Room Tip: get one with good aircon and some are hotter than others,get the villa close to the sea. they do sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a truly magnificent resort as good as any five star from Bali to Phuket and other popular beach destinations in Asia. It has the usual luxurious but same looking dark wood Asian style villas and lovely grounds. The service cannot be faulted however there are a few small things one should note.
Firstly all the rooms are designed for couples to sleep together. To travel with a platonic friend they cannot really split the beds properly so you need two rooms or a two bedroom villa. This is a major drawback as not everyone wants to sleep with the person with whom they are travelling and two single beds is usually available somewhere. Not here...they can only do an extra bed or converted couch or some such nonsense.
Having said that we opted for the two villa option and while expensive the pool was the biggest private one I've had at similiar resorts in Asia and the personal butler was of the usual amazing standard expected in Vietnam and even higher at this resort.
The only other criticism was the spa which was ludicrously expensive and limited. They were doing major renovations for a huge number of treatment rooms so they will seriously have to lift their game. It is not simply that you can get excellent massages and other treatments at a fraction of the price just down the road - one doesn't mind paying a great deal extra for the convenience of treatments inside the resort. However to charge rates even higher than most five star western hotels is plainly ridiculous and puts you off what are fine treatments.
We had similar warnings about eating in the restaurant - over-priced when there is far more to offer elsewhere. Indeed the nearby town of Hoi An is one of the great heritage sites of the world and it would be a crime not to spend as many nights there as possible.
We did do breakfast at the main restaurant and it was top-class.

Room Tip: If you do not want to sleep in the same bed or virtually on top of your travelling companion book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at The Nam Hai and your feedback. We admit, due to the configuration of the raised platform of the bed, we can substitute the king size mattress with two twin size mattresses, yet the later will be close together, which we understand may not suit everyone’s preference for comfort and space. As an alternative, we are always happy to convert the lounge area into a cozy sofa bed. Please accept our sincere apologies that these two configuration options did not meet your expectations whilst in residence.

As for The Spa, the refurbishment has been completed and the last two spa villas were placed back into operation at the end of June. Whilst we tried to minimize the impact as much as possible, we were dismayed to read that your experience at the spa was not as anticipated. We apologize profusely for the inconvenience caused.

We appreciate your kind comments about your Butler, service at the resort in general as well as our sumptuous breakfast buffet. We trust that the two above mentioned situations did not tarnish an otherwise enjoyable holiday at The Nam Hai and we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

WOW! We were impressed. The resort and the service is excellent with few equals. We were instantly made comfortable and serviced beyond expectation. The clientele and service team are seamlessly integrated in providing a sanitary. We quickly felt at ease and like one of the Villa owners while we were in residence. Dining, Spa all first class. Take advantage of all the offerings! We did not want to leave. We will return soon and often.

Room Tip: all Villas have privacy and beachfront, we preferred the smaller villa's closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to post a review about your visit at The Nam Hai. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you felt well looked after by our team. We will keep up the good work and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wow! find it hard to put into words what we experienced at the Nam Hai. The best place to go for a private, luxurious and exclusive beach vacation. The resort is situated right on a 3 km private beach. Most rooms have a view of the ocean and is the gold standard in Luxury and spaciousness. The beach being private is looks so virgin and pristine. We were there every evening to enjoy the sunset and a dip in the sea. The view from the reception is to kill for. There are 3 pools which finally lead to the ocean. The breakfast is ofcourse very elaborate. The gym and resort grounds are top notch too. Hoi An town is just an 8 dollar taxi ride away and is a gorgeous and quaint town with lots of little resturaunts and attractions. The standards of service is top class too and we were very well looked after during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent visit at The Nam Hai. We were very happy to learn that you had a fabulous holiday and particularly enjoyed the pristine beach & grounds of the resort, the extensive breakfast buffet and our well equipped gym. We pride ourselves in delivering high quality service and it was a pleasure to read that you felt well looked after whilst in residence. We are looking forward to seeing you soon again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel

Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
The Nam Hai Hotel
Nam Hai Hoi An
Nam Hai Resort
Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.