We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most incredible hotel I've stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rejuvenate in Style
Ranked #1 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The most incredible hotel I've stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was our main destination on our honeymoon (travelling through Vietnam and Cambdia) - and it didn't disappoint at all.

We had a 3-bedroom villa with a pool (because we'd asked for privacy), we had welcome champagne and cakes and a message from the manager. Our outside shower was a great touch (don't worry, there's one inside too!), as was the barrel of rainwater to wash your feet with when you leave the beach. No item of service is left unthought of - from complimentary suntan lotion on the beach and by the pools to the elegant turndown of the rooms at night.

We had no idea what to do with our butler (he must have been so bored!), but the room and the pool and the whole resort were stunning. The food was lovely, and the proximity to Hoi An (and the shuttle bus) means you can eat in town quite easily if you prefer.

It was the most fantastic hotel we have ever stayed in and we will be returning for our anniversary. The sunrise on the beach is worth getting up for...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the privacy of your pool villa and felt well taken care of during your holiday. We appreciate that you included The Nam Hai on your honeymoon itinerary and would be delighted to welcome you back on occasion of a future anniversary. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    827
    93
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
217
557
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a place! Stayed for 9 nights with my husband in June in a one bedroom villa and we were absolutely blown away. The service was phenomenal - we were truly pampered for our entire stay. Nothing was too much trouble, and we were excited each day to see what small gifts or treats we were left at turn down (from a bottle of wine and canapes, to chopsticks, to invitations to wine tastings). This was the first hotel that I truly felt sad to leave. I'll try to keep the rest concise because this review could end up becoming an essay!

VILLA - outstanding. All villas seem to have at least a partial sea view, and words can't begin to describe our view each morning. The outside shower was a highlight.

DINING - breakfast was excellent with a buffet and a la carte options. Also sparkling wine and champagne cocktails (which they were very generous with, offering to top up your glass regularly - which is a dangerous thing at breakfast time...). We had dinner at The Restaurant twice which was outstanding. Try the asparagus risotto and beef carpaccio, mmmm.

POOLS - breathtaking and huuuuge. One is olympic size. And often two out of three pools are completely empty with no sunloungers being used, so it feels like your own private pool (this was out of season, not sure what Jan - March would be like). All the pools are an excellent temperature and the pool loungers are very comfy with plenty of shady or sunny areas to choose from.

SERVICE - what the hotel does best. From reception staff to pool staff, everyone knew us by name and greeted us with a smile. Wake up calls were ended with 'is there anything else I can do for you?', which seemed to be the theme for everyone. It was my husbands birthday, which we had kept pretty quiet, but when we randomly mentioned it to the pool manager (Lutyen) that afternoon, we were quickly served complimentary mojitos and cake & flowers were at our villa when we returned that evening. Perfect. I could go on an on with examples of their excellent service - it's truly immaculate.

BEACH - beautiful. Grab a mini-bar beer and head down to watch the sunset. You won't regret it. Perfect for a morning swim also.

SPA - expensive but, you definitely get what you pay for. The 90 minute Balinese massage was to die for and I have never seen such an awe inspiring spa location in my life.

MISC - we were given a late check out until 4pm with no hassle at all, to coincide with our flight home. The shuttle service to Hoi An leaves at 10.30am, 3pm, 5pm and 9pm. It's only 150 dong to get there by cab if those times don't suit you. Finally, Hoi An is a wonderful place for dinner and drinks - try some street food too, it's all delicious.

We'll be back in 2014 for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in a simple one bedroom villa and couldn't have been happier. The three pools are out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your comprehensive review about your recent holiday at the Nam Hai. It was a delight to read that you and your husband felt recognized and pampered during the 9 nights in residence. Thank you also for recognizing Mr. Luyen, our Beach & Pool Manager. We will pass your compliments on to him and are sure he will be thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Once more, we sincerely appreciate your long visit and are already looking forward to your return in 2014. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place is amazing. And there is plenty more good to write than bad. I'll start with the bad and finish strong with the good.

The bad:

The villa is extremely dangerous for families travelling with young children. Our son just turned one (he is walking) and our daughter is 2.5. This villa has man sharp edges, multi levles, steps, pitfalls (the bathtub is in the middle of the room). It was very stressful hoping our children did not fall down and knock their front teeth out or crack their head open.

The beach has beautiful sand but on a hot day there is not much shade and the sand is blistering hot. You will not find yourself out there walking or swimming around.

The food at the resort for lunch and dinner is limited. The prices are aggregious so best to eat in town if you can find the time.

The good:

The resort is perfect for young couples or families without young children. The resort is gorgeous.

The resort is huge but the buggy service is very timely and very helpful to get you from point a to point b.

The staff really makes this place. One of the most friendly staff I have ever seen any place we have ever stayed.

They had a cake waiting for your one year old for his birthday and even sent a sandwich to the villa when we arrived late after a long flight.

Shuttle fo and from the airport and town is very well done. They use a mixture of air shuttle and BMW cars to transport.

The spa is very professional and very well done. A +

The breakfast in the morning is amazing. Lots of choice, wonderful fruits, pastries and coffee. The mains are also delicious. This is very, very good.

Villa is gorgeous, just a touch dangerous for young children.

5 stars if travelling alone, with older children or as a couple

3 star if you have young children.

The pool was also well thought out as they have a 16 and older pool, a lap pool (16 and older) and a pool for the children. Gorgeous pools and sizable. Pretty good shade around these areas as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for having chosen The Nam Hai as your resort of choice for a family holiday. We empathize with your point of view that the layout of the villas and certain areas in the public areas require parents with small children to stay vigilant. It is understood that this impacted the relaxation aspect of you and your wife whilst in residence and we extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused. Aside from the design of the resort, we were very happy to read that you and the family enjoyed your holiday immensely and even had the time to try out our award-winning spa. Once more, thank you for your visit and we are looking forward to seeing you again, perhaps for a romantic getaway for just to two of you or with the family once your children are a little bit older. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The staff was very hard working and prompt to pick us up in golf buggy. In room service was probably the best ever had around the world! I thought the bedding/blanket was too heavy for the climate and the hotel lack landscaping/trees. From our villa we could see other villas bedroom. Overall, the breakfast buffet was fantastic and so much variety each morning. We would definitely return to the resort.... but prior to arrival we are not please that the local Vietnamese rate was less than 50% of what tourist had to pay, which I think is unfair considering we had to fly a longer way to get to this resort.

Room Tip: We didn't need our own butler and found the cheaper room much better, more intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and your insights about your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We were pleased to read that you had a good time at the resort and particularly liked our in-room service. As for the bedding in the villas, upon request, we are glad to replace the down feather duvet with a lighter blanket and a top sheet to suit one’s personal preference. In terms of the landscaping, we do have a plan to add shrubs and other plants to further enhance the privacy in-between individual villas. Lastly, as for the local rate, it is only available during certain short periods of time throughout the year and this practice is in line with other resort destinations throughout Asia as well as sought after travel destinations in Europe where the local residents are being provided with a preferred rate. Next time you intend to return to The Nam Hai, please contact us in advance and we will find the most favorable option for you. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just spent five days at this exceptional resort and although a little pricey the location, facilities, and service is simply outstanding.
I cannot rate it enough for a vacation. From the airport collection to our final departure it was flawless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We were glad to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday and we are looking forward to welcoming you again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in the 5 bedroom villa for my sisters 60th birthday celebration. The resort is absolutely 1st class, villa's are wonderful, staff 1st class nothing is too much trouble our butler was amazing and the happiest disposition. The restaurants are wonderful and the breakfasts are the best. To anyone thinking of indulging themselves or their partners or groups of friends this is the place for a very relaxing and fun time. To the staff we say a big thank you for making our stay so wonderful and going out of your way at times! I shall return! Pauline

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Pauline, thank you very much for your review and your warm comments. It was a pleasure to have you, your sister and your friends as our guests to celebrate this special occasion. We will pass on your compliments to our team and are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a unique hotel! Having stayed at another property of the hotel developer (The Chedi Muscat) we really had expectations for the Nam Hai.

I have to say that the Nam Hai was perfect: it was part of a luxury tour across Vietnam and it brings a perfect balance: a unique hotel, in a unique town (Hanoi) with attentive service.

For me, the interior design was one of the elements that made the experience unique: I did not have any problems with the setup of the rooms. It was also amazing to see the different setups of the room: transforming itself from day to night, creating a different space.

When you tour the hotel, you realize the amount of time that the designers and managers spent to ensure every detail is taken care of: the grass is cut manually, the villas are oriented in a way that assures privacy and beautiful views, the location is ideal... It is a true work of art.

We did not have the time to try the restaurants since we were busy touring Hanoi and its surroundings (what an incredible place) but the breakfast was of the highest quality.

Our only problem was that I was angry with our tour operators, as it would have been great to have at least one more day to spend at the Nam Hai...

We will definitively return in the future. Thank you to all the staff for making two extremely busy people unwind and disconnect in your venue.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for having included The Nam Hai in your itinerary whilst touring Vietnam. We were very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the resort as well as in the Hoi An area. We were also pleased to read that you were able to unwind in spite of the activities your tour operator had lined up each day. We will keep up the good work and are looking forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing beach holiday without any active tours exploring the cultural sites in the region. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.