We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Summer Getaway
Ranked #1 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stepping into the lobby, you feel welcomed. Stayed here just for one night before returning home. Very impressive in and out; wish we could have stayed longer. Given an upgrade which meant a suite with a four poster bed, fantastic bathroom. which is in one of the beach-front houses. I have just completed a 3 night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit at The Nam Hai. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly and appreciated the upgrade to a beach front villa overlooking the East Sea. We would be very happy to welcome you back soon again, perhaps next time for a longer visit, allowing you to discover more of what the greater area of Hoi An has to offer. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    804
    91
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
208
545
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was our first time in the Nam Hai, but definitely not the last!

The villas - we had a beach front - were beautiful and very spacious. The outdoor shower was a surprise at first but quickly became an addiction. The staff is paying much attention and the quality of service is great. It is easy to navigate within the resort with all the buggies. We enjoyed the various facilities (tennis, badminton, pools...) and more importantly the kid's villa, where our daughter could spend good time a few hours per day. Baby sitter service is also very convenient and surprisingly cheap. My wife tried the spa and was very satisfied.

The only negative comment would be on the food side; not the quality or environment which are great, but the price which is outrageous for Vietnam.

We then tried one recommended restaurant outside of the hotel, but this prove to be a bad idea as it resulted in food poisoning. By the way, the hotel staff was truly great at that moment, very caring and helpful to organize a doctor visit and the delivery of medicine.

Thanks again and we will visit VERY soon again!

Room Tip: The beach front villa is definitely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for providing us with feedback about your stay at The Nam Hai. We were pleased to read that your daughter was comfortable at the Kids Club as well as in the care of one of our babysitters. We were also glad to read that your wife enjoyed some quality time at our Spa.

We are very selective as to which restaurants in Hoi An make it onto our recommendation list and we were very sorry to hear that you got ill whilst dining in town. We appreciate that you made us aware of this situation so that we can take up this matter with the owner of the relevant restaurant in Hoi An. We trust you are feeling better now and hope this incident did not tarnish an otherwise enjoyable family holiday in Vietnam. Once again, thank you for your visit and we would be delighted to welcome you back soon again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the nam hai for 3 nights which was just not long enough to enjoy all that was on offer as well as get out and enjoy the town of Hoi An! We found our villa very comfortable although a little more bright lighting wouldn't go astray.
We struggled with wanting to spend our days relaxing by the pool, walking along the beach, spending time at the spa but also wanting to be in the town enjoying all it has to offer. Our 4 days just wasn't long enough so we will have to return to be able to enjoy the hotel and fully relax and again visit Hoi An as it is a fantastic town full of atmosphere.
We used the shuttle to get into town which was very convenient and saved getting a taxi.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and we would be very happy to return in the near future and would recommend this accommodation to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We were very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and are already thinking about returning to The Nam Hai for another visit in the near future. We promise we will keep up the good work and be ready for a return visit of yours as your busy schedule allows it. Once again, thank you for spending your holiday with us and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The staff are fantastic, friendly, efficient and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. The restaurant serves a very good selection of dishes and you can order breakfast all day. There was a free shuttle bus to the centre. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a good variety of food. The food in the restaurants was good. Not great, but enough to satisfy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent visit at The Nam Hai and for providing us with feedback about your stay. We were very happy to read that you were very well taken care of by our staff and had felt they anticipated your every need. Thank you also about your lovely comments about our sumptuous breakfast buffet. As for the other meals, we will strive harder to render them not just satisfying but great. Once again, thank you for your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a three bedroom beach view villa with private pool. It was made up of 4 pavilions - 3 containing en suite bedrooms and one a living room, with a separate kitchen area for staff use. Generally we thought the standard of accommodation was excellent.

The layout in two of the bedroom villas was a bit strange - a large platform comprising desk, bath & bed (all surrounded by muslin curtains 4 poster style), with a daybed/sofa down a step at the end of the bed. Whilst this was OK for us, we thought it would be difficult for anyone with mobility issues or for families with smaller children. The remaining bedroom had a much more standard layout, with the bath in the bathroom and a free standing table rather than the kneeling desk on the bed platform. Lovely bathroom in all pavilions with 2 vanity areas, 2 walk in wardrobes & both indoor and outdoor showers. Only complaint here was that the hot water was positively scalding, and you could only get any cold water at all if you ran the taps for ages (we think because the pipes ran through the hot ground to get to the outlets). The layout in the sitting room pavilion was also bizarre - one big central dining table with 4 corner seating areas around the perimeter. Would have been lovely for dining (though we ate on the terrace), but not so great for lounging around watching the enormous TV had you wanted to (which we did not).

We had numerous activities booked (walking tour of Hoi An, half day cooking course at Red Bridge, bike tour around Hoi An) and literally had to drag ourselves away from the villa. The hotel organised transfers for us for most of our excursions, and where they couldn't get the hotel car they arranged (and on one occasion paid) for a taxi.

We didn't spend much time in the main part of the hotel, but enjoyed the breakfasts in the restaurant (especially the sparkling wine cocktail that changed every couple of days). We had one late lunch at the beach restaurant, though the service was a bit slow and the prices astronomical. We had room service dinner one night from the main restaurant for our daughter's birthday and it was very good for room service. The pools looked great but it's worth noting that kids can only swim in one of the three pools in the main part of the resort, as the other two are only for guests over 16 years of age. This would have been annoying if we hadn't had a private pool.

We would go back in a heartbeat for the excellent service by our butler, Huy, and the great location near Hoi An. We had considered staying in Danang and were so pleased we'd chosen to be closer to Hoi An and away from the strip of half built resorts further up the coast. It's more expensive than many of the other resorts, but was well worth it for a special treat in the middle of our trip around Vietnam.

Room Tip: ! was worried our beach view pool villa might be at the back of the resort, but we were just one in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with an in-depth account of your recent visit at The Nam Hai. We were very pleased to read that Butler Huy rendered your stay not only enjoyable but also memorable.

We admit, the interior design in the bedroom villas and in the living room is unique and may not appeal to everyone’s preferences in terms of layout and comfort, yet we were glad to learn that you liked the generous bathroom and the size of the walk-in closets. As for the hot water, we will look into this at once to ensure all is in order with the supply of cold water. We appreciate you telling us about it. Thank you also for your feedback about the service at The Beach Restaurant, which we will address with the relevant managers to make sure the pace is appropriate at all times.

Once again, thank you very much for having included The Nam Hai on your itinerary through Vietnam and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the foreseeable future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of our tour of Vietnam. We had been rushing around on tours etc and therefore the 2 days spent here doing not a lot was very well received and we couldn't have been anywhere better. The hotels tag of a 'Leading Hotel of The World' is not without merit and indeed was well earned. Having stayed in 'SLHoTW' before we expected a lot and received more. The rooms are all individual villas (of varying bedroom sizes , ours being a 1 Bed Villa (their 'standard' room)). Beautifully furnished in a 'zen' kind of way, not experienced anywhere else before....extremely comfy bed on a raised 'plinth' in the middle of a very 'feng shui' way, cracking bathroom, outside and inside shower (private of course), complimentary soft drinks, lovely sitting area on one of three different levels in the room..downside of nowhere to put anything as designed in that way! Hotel food was extraordinarily good, breakfasts all made to order off a menu, plus the usual, even champagne for those so inclined..evening meal was even worth staying in the hotel for...we ate in the Beach Restaurant, which was beautiful at night with some of the best Vietnamese food I've eaten anywhere in Vietnam. Now the downside......the cost! We paid on average 4 times more for food and beers in this hotel than most other places in Vietnam. Now we knew this but still chose to do it due to the fact that in the first instance, it was cracking food, but also because we were only there for 3 nights ( Ate out in Hoi An on one night and had some lovely food...) and it was a 'treat' after wizzing around Vietnam.... In short, absolutely fantastic place, more than deserving its status, but be prepared to spend!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, no brain power required on the decision!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for having included The Nam Hai on your itinerary through Vietnam and for having spent three nights with us. We appreciate your kind feedback and were thrilled to read that you enjoyed you visit thoroughly and felt it was well worth it, in particular the breakfast buffet as well as your meals in the Vietnamese Restaurant. Once again, thank you very much for your visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Walter Hess, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed seven nights for a romantic holiday and found the Nam Hai heavenly. We booked a one-bedroom pool villa, but upon arrival we were upgraded to a three-bedroom villa with a very large private swimming pool and direct sea views through the palm trees. I loved the pod-like bed area: each evening translucent, white curtains are draped around your large, comfortable bed, creating a romantic, private bower. The bed is set on a platform, which was a very large step down for me but I quickly got used to this. Wardrobes would be improved with additional bright lighting - I used a torch to sort through my clothes. The separate formal dining pavilion (for 6) was huge, with the giant dining table directly in front of the enormous television, so that the room is unsuitable for cozy TV watching as a couple, but great for large feasts. There is a wide selection of older, free films on the TV and the resort-wide, free wifi is very reliable. Housekeeping was speedy, friendly and produced immaculate results.

The Nam Hai offers a broad range of fabulous, free additions with any type of pool villa. We have stayed in many resorts and found this hotel’s unlimited free laundry service fantastic. The free private car service made it a breeze to dine and shop in Hoi An or elsewhere along the beach (6 hours notice required). While these were only two of a large range of ‘extras’, for us they truly contributed towards a care-free holiday.

We really liked our butler and thought he did a great job, but we had mixed feelings about the Nam Hai butler concept. Your butler is at your service all day, which can unintentionally act as a brake on spontaneous romance. For example, your butler will quietly approach while you are in the pool to check when you want to place lunch orders etc and stays back at night to serve you if you indicate you’ll order a room service dinner. The butler ‘pros’ included getting fantastic help with things like laundry, tailors, car bookings or external restaurant reservations, and having someone dedicated to to help you to navigate a different culture – the ‘con’ was less spontaneity; for example, just ordering yourself a room service pizza to eat in bed. While you can place a ‘do not disturb’ signal on your bedroom pavilion, gardening staff and others can still access your pool and dining pavilion etc. When we next stay at the Nam Hai we will mention our desire for privacy and seek to limit butler/staff access to our room to specific times of the day.

The very long hotel beach was enjoyable with calm waters some days then rolling waves others – all good. We enjoyed alternating between our large private pool and the warm sea. When we headed to the ocean to take a dip, a hotel life-guard would apparate, keeping a discreet watch. While in the ocean, a few times I felt something large wiggle under my feet and took to wearing water sandals (a local suggested a starfish).

One night we had a romantic BBQ on the beach, which was stunning, involving a bonfire, the erection of a canopied day bed and beautiful dining table arrangements. Three dedicated staff cook and serve your meal - there was probably enough food for six! The Beach Restaurant serves delicious Vietnamese food in a gorgeous environment decked with yellow lanterns and lotus flower lamps. Breakfast was a feast and the service was excellent.

The buggy drivers at Nam Hai were the most friendly we have ever met. In fact, across the resort staff are invariably warm and helpful, and you always feel like a welcomed guest. We loved the way the hotel facilitated arrangements for external meals etc. One evening the hotel car took us to Soul Kitchen (our butler made the reservation) a local beachfront restaurant that looks like it was built by Robinson Crusoe. Sitting in our private palm-roofed cabana drinking cocktails and watching local families picnic on the beach as the sun sunk was fantastic. The caramel pork, prawns with tamarind sauce and dessert crepes were absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. Fifteen minutes drive from the hotel, Hoi An at night is magical, filled with coloured lanterns and lively street-life. Again the Nam Hai arranged for us to dine on the roof of the Cargo Club with beautiful river views. The hotel also recommends various tailors and shops, which we found helpful given the confusing multitude of options.

Room Tip: If privacy is important to your, mention this in your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback as well as your kind compliments. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your getaway at The Nam Hai and felt well looked after by our friendly team.

Your observations in terms of privacy have been duly noted and we will review how we can further fine tune access to occupied villas as not to infringe on privacy all while servicing the villas in terms of housekeeping, private bar and gardening.

Once again, thank you very much for having chosen The Nam Hai as your romantic holiday destination and we would be delighted to welcome you back next year. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.