We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rejuvenate in Style
Ranked #1 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Telford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of our tour of Vietnam. We had been rushing around on tours etc and therefore the 2 days spent here doing not a lot was very well received and we couldn't have been anywhere better. The hotels tag of a 'Leading Hotel of The World' is not without merit and indeed was well earned. Having stayed in 'SLHoTW' before we expected a lot and received more. The rooms are all individual villas (of varying bedroom sizes , ours being a 1 Bed Villa (their 'standard' room)). Beautifully furnished in a 'zen' kind of way, not experienced anywhere else before....extremely comfy bed on a raised 'plinth' in the middle of a very 'feng shui' way, cracking bathroom, outside and inside shower (private of course), complimentary soft drinks, lovely sitting area on one of three different levels in the room..downside of nowhere to put anything as designed in that way! Hotel food was extraordinarily good, breakfasts all made to order off a menu, plus the usual, even champagne for those so inclined..evening meal was even worth staying in the hotel for...we ate in the Beach Restaurant, which was beautiful at night with some of the best Vietnamese food I've eaten anywhere in Vietnam. Now the downside......the cost! We paid on average 4 times more for food and beers in this hotel than most other places in Vietnam. Now we knew this but still chose to do it due to the fact that in the first instance, it was cracking food, but also because we were only there for 3 nights ( Ate out in Hoi An on one night and had some lovely food...) and it was a 'treat' after wizzing around Vietnam.... In short, absolutely fantastic place, more than deserving its status, but be prepared to spend!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, no brain power required on the decision!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for having included The Nam Hai on your itinerary through Vietnam and for having spent three nights with us. We appreciate your kind feedback and were thrilled to read that you enjoyed you visit thoroughly and felt it was well worth it, in particular the breakfast buffet as well as your meals in the Vietnamese Restaurant. Once again, thank you very much for your visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Walter Hess, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    825
    93
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
216
556
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed seven nights for a romantic holiday and found the Nam Hai heavenly. We booked a one-bedroom pool villa, but upon arrival we were upgraded to a three-bedroom villa with a very large private swimming pool and direct sea views through the palm trees. I loved the pod-like bed area: each evening translucent, white curtains are draped around your large, comfortable bed, creating a romantic, private bower. The bed is set on a platform, which was a very large step down for me but I quickly got used to this. Wardrobes would be improved with additional bright lighting - I used a torch to sort through my clothes. The separate formal dining pavilion (for 6) was huge, with the giant dining table directly in front of the enormous television, so that the room is unsuitable for cozy TV watching as a couple, but great for large feasts. There is a wide selection of older, free films on the TV and the resort-wide, free wifi is very reliable. Housekeeping was speedy, friendly and produced immaculate results.

The Nam Hai offers a broad range of fabulous, free additions with any type of pool villa. We have stayed in many resorts and found this hotel’s unlimited free laundry service fantastic. The free private car service made it a breeze to dine and shop in Hoi An or elsewhere along the beach (6 hours notice required). While these were only two of a large range of ‘extras’, for us they truly contributed towards a care-free holiday.

We really liked our butler and thought he did a great job, but we had mixed feelings about the Nam Hai butler concept. Your butler is at your service all day, which can unintentionally act as a brake on spontaneous romance. For example, your butler will quietly approach while you are in the pool to check when you want to place lunch orders etc and stays back at night to serve you if you indicate you’ll order a room service dinner. The butler ‘pros’ included getting fantastic help with things like laundry, tailors, car bookings or external restaurant reservations, and having someone dedicated to to help you to navigate a different culture – the ‘con’ was less spontaneity; for example, just ordering yourself a room service pizza to eat in bed. While you can place a ‘do not disturb’ signal on your bedroom pavilion, gardening staff and others can still access your pool and dining pavilion etc. When we next stay at the Nam Hai we will mention our desire for privacy and seek to limit butler/staff access to our room to specific times of the day.

The very long hotel beach was enjoyable with calm waters some days then rolling waves others – all good. We enjoyed alternating between our large private pool and the warm sea. When we headed to the ocean to take a dip, a hotel life-guard would apparate, keeping a discreet watch. While in the ocean, a few times I felt something large wiggle under my feet and took to wearing water sandals (a local suggested a starfish).

One night we had a romantic BBQ on the beach, which was stunning, involving a bonfire, the erection of a canopied day bed and beautiful dining table arrangements. Three dedicated staff cook and serve your meal - there was probably enough food for six! The Beach Restaurant serves delicious Vietnamese food in a gorgeous environment decked with yellow lanterns and lotus flower lamps. Breakfast was a feast and the service was excellent.

The buggy drivers at Nam Hai were the most friendly we have ever met. In fact, across the resort staff are invariably warm and helpful, and you always feel like a welcomed guest. We loved the way the hotel facilitated arrangements for external meals etc. One evening the hotel car took us to Soul Kitchen (our butler made the reservation) a local beachfront restaurant that looks like it was built by Robinson Crusoe. Sitting in our private palm-roofed cabana drinking cocktails and watching local families picnic on the beach as the sun sunk was fantastic. The caramel pork, prawns with tamarind sauce and dessert crepes were absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. Fifteen minutes drive from the hotel, Hoi An at night is magical, filled with coloured lanterns and lively street-life. Again the Nam Hai arranged for us to dine on the roof of the Cargo Club with beautiful river views. The hotel also recommends various tailors and shops, which we found helpful given the confusing multitude of options.

Room Tip: If privacy is important to your, mention this in your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback as well as your kind compliments. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your getaway at The Nam Hai and felt well looked after by our friendly team.

Your observations in terms of privacy have been duly noted and we will review how we can further fine tune access to occupied villas as not to infringe on privacy all while servicing the villas in terms of housekeeping, private bar and gardening.

Once again, thank you very much for having chosen The Nam Hai as your romantic holiday destination and we would be delighted to welcome you back next year. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights in a pool villa for our wedding anniversary.

I'm normally reluctant to give a hotel a rating of 5 but in this case it is definitely warranted. Service is excellent, the majority of staff speak English very well. As illustrated in the photos, the villas, common areas and restaurants are immaculately presented. Food selection at breakfast was great, and the included afternoon tea and canapes (pool villas only) are a lovely touch.

There are only a couple of areas that I felt could be improved. The Beach restaurant which serves Vietnamese food is good but the food sometimes seems "toned down" for Western tastes and not as tasty as some restaurants in Hoi An (not to mention the Hoi An restaurants are much cheaper). Secondly, the design has lots of discrete lighting which leaves areas of unlit steps and other obstructions.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and for a rating your recent stay at The Nam Hai as 5 out of 5. We were pleased to read that you perceived the common areas as polished and well maintained and our breakfast buffet a highlight. In terms of the Vietnamese cuisine at The Beach Restaurant, Richard Wilson, our Executive Chef will look into this to ensure each dish is consistently authentic and flavorful.

As for the discreet lighting, we will assess how we can improve upon this by balancing convenience and the cozy atmosphere of the resort. Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in the resort 12th April. ( family 2 x adults and 1x 15yo and 1 x 11yo)
A beautifully layed out, spacious resort.
Three large, luxurious swimming pools ( 1 only for kids, so all can enjoy a swim).
The villa was private, with large bath, his and her bathroom facilities and an outdoor shower.
The town Hoi An is 10 minutes by shuttle, so you can experience the best of the resort style with local interests and adventure.
Du ( in charge of restaurants and bars) was particularly helpful and kind.With our travels,my children often base their assessment of a hotel on the breakfast. It did not disappoint. The food was well prepared and delicious, all in an understated darkwood, designer setting. Just beautiful.
The seafood dinner was very good, but a little expensive at US418 for our family.
If serene,luxury is what you're after, The Nam Hai is it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen The Nam Hai as your destination of choice for your family holiday. We were happy to read that your children enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast buffet and unanimously gave The Nam Hai the rating “approved”. Thank you also for your compliments about Mr. Du, which we will pass on to him. We very much appreciate your recent visit and would be delighted to welcome you and your family back for another holiday in the sun. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

What an awsome place, I was taken here on a trip from work we stayed for three nights and all I can say is wow to every aspect of this hotel it didnt disappoint in any way shape or form. The staff, food, setting, villa's just pure luxury. If you are looking for a hotel do not pass up on this one or you will have missed one of the best hotels in the world

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit at The Nam Hai. We were very happy to read that you had a fabulous stay and feel that our resort is truly luxury and on par with some of the best resorts in the world. We will keep up the momentum and would be very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having had a bad experience at a nearby hotel we moved to The Nam Hai. We were met at reception by Walter and some of his team and immediately we knew that we were going to like our stay. The staff from the management team to the cleaners were excellent - our daughter was ill whilst we were there and the hotel could not have done more.
The rooms are amazing and the whole hotel kept to an excellent standard.
Food and drinks are expensive but this is a top world class hotel and therefore no one should be surprised.
I cannot think of one thing that let the hotel down. A well run hotel, like this one, is something to be proud of and it is clear the hotel feel this - management are around alot and talk to the guests making sure they are happy. A badly run hotel, like we experienced with the previous hotel, management are nonexistent.
If you are going to Hoi An then stay here - yes it is expensive but so worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to post a review and for providing us with your warm comments. We trust the entire family, especially your daughter, feels rested and energized after your holiday at The Nam Hai. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the foreseeable future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I loved this resort, the design of the resort is fantastic. The villas are devine- sea view, big, private and very comfortable to relax in.

I like that they have a separate pool for kids.

A few extra touches were really nice like- free soft drinks and juice in the mini bar, continuously bringing you free water when lying by the pool, free meditation and yoga lessons.

Only negative thing was that you felt that some staff were trying to convince you to eat at the restaurant which we were finding annoying.

Breakfast Buffett was amazing!

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We appreciate you having taken the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We were glad to learn that you liked the special touches in the villa as well as by the pool. We admit, we do encourage guests to try our restaurants whilst in residence prior to us making suggestions about restaurants in Hoi An. It was certainly not our intention to bother you with recommending our two restaurants and we apologize for any inconvenience caused as a result of it. Once again, thank you very much for having stayed at The Nam Hai and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.