We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rejuvenate in Style
Ranked #2 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Complete luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

What an awsome place, I was taken here on a trip from work we stayed for three nights and all I can say is wow to every aspect of this hotel it didnt disappoint in any way shape or form. The staff, food, setting, villa's just pure luxury. If you are looking for a hotel do not pass up on this one or you will have missed one of the best hotels in the world

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit at The Nam Hai. We were very happy to read that you had a fabulous stay and feel that our resort is truly luxury and on par with some of the best resorts in the world. We will keep up the momentum and would be very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    807
    91
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
208
548
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having had a bad experience at a nearby hotel we moved to The Nam Hai. We were met at reception by Walter and some of his team and immediately we knew that we were going to like our stay. The staff from the management team to the cleaners were excellent - our daughter was ill whilst we were there and the hotel could not have done more.
The rooms are amazing and the whole hotel kept to an excellent standard.
Food and drinks are expensive but this is a top world class hotel and therefore no one should be surprised.
I cannot think of one thing that let the hotel down. A well run hotel, like this one, is something to be proud of and it is clear the hotel feel this - management are around alot and talk to the guests making sure they are happy. A badly run hotel, like we experienced with the previous hotel, management are nonexistent.
If you are going to Hoi An then stay here - yes it is expensive but so worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to post a review and for providing us with your warm comments. We trust the entire family, especially your daughter, feels rested and energized after your holiday at The Nam Hai. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the foreseeable future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I loved this resort, the design of the resort is fantastic. The villas are devine- sea view, big, private and very comfortable to relax in.

I like that they have a separate pool for kids.

A few extra touches were really nice like- free soft drinks and juice in the mini bar, continuously bringing you free water when lying by the pool, free meditation and yoga lessons.

Only negative thing was that you felt that some staff were trying to convince you to eat at the restaurant which we were finding annoying.

Breakfast Buffett was amazing!

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We appreciate you having taken the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We were glad to learn that you liked the special touches in the villa as well as by the pool. We admit, we do encourage guests to try our restaurants whilst in residence prior to us making suggestions about restaurants in Hoi An. It was certainly not our intention to bother you with recommending our two restaurants and we apologize for any inconvenience caused as a result of it. Once again, thank you very much for having stayed at The Nam Hai and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was a unforgettable memory. The whole villa set up was excellent, the bed was facing the beach and all services were splendid. The old Hoi An city was very ancient and unique, the whole trip felt like a dream in a movie!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We enjoyed reading your description about your recent holiday at The Nam Hai and were very pleased to learn that you spent an unforgettable holiday with us. We trust the memories will last for many years to come and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the foreseeable future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights last fall at the Nam Hai in a beach front villa. There was a misunderstanding regarding the airport pickup, but we were fine to hop in a taxi. The staff were there to greet us and insisted on paying for the taxi despite not being necessary. They went over and above the call of duty to make up for what was simply a lost reservation and it was appreciated!
The villas are spectacular! Big, clean, spacious with gorgeous views (though still not convinced about bathtub beside the bed..but that could just be me)
Everyday a new fruit in the room, FABULOUS food in everyone of their restaurants. Spa was amazing and so very relaxing. There is a free shuttle to Hoi Ann, but the staff are just as happy to get you a taxi.
This place oozes luxury....I have looked forward to coming back since I left! Will be bringing the in-laws this fall!

Room Tip: Get a beach front villa for a fabulous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for providing us with insights about your holiday. Please accept our apologies for the airport pick up, which seemed to have gotten lost in the shuffle. We were glad to learn that this experience did not tarnish an otherwise splendid holiday at The Nam Hai. We would be very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back along with your in-laws later this year. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Mixed feelings about this Hotel really. Arrival at reception felt amateurish as though they were training a new person on reception who didn't have a clue. The first question we were asked is what time did we want the room serviced. Not sometihing that was top priority for us after a long flight from Austraila !
The room itself was not as clean as I expected for a hotel of this calibre - dirty cloth in bathroom sink left from housekeeping. Electrical switch plates in toilet were dirty and the light around the bathroom celing was covered in dirty marks. Dust everywhere and the screen doors were incredibly dusty - just caked in dust. I spent the first night coughing my head off due to the dust which was circulated around the room once the air con had been turned on.
The bed I found very uncomfortable, more like a futon than a bed and incredibly hot. They should offer an alternative mattress at the prices they charge here !
The staff in the restaurant for breakfast didn't appear as though they were enjoying their jobs, rather, just going through the motions. The breakfast offerings were first class and a great selection on offer.
The transport staff were great and very friendly. We took several trips organised through concierge and found the drivers and guides were fantastic. The Hotel overall was beautifully designed and the pool and garden areas well maintained. I just think for the rates charged here, which were absolute top dollar for Vietnam, one should not have had to complain about one thing.
Housekeeping and reception needs improvement !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with an account of your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We concur with you that impeccable cleanliness in a hotel room is paramount and we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings experienced in your villa. Together with our Executive Housekeeper, we will fine tune the internal procedures to ensure each villa is spotless prior to a guest arrival. As for the bed, we admit, the platform design of the bed is unique and may not suit everyone’s taste in terms of ergonomics and comfort and we empathize with your observation. Upon request, we gladly replace the down feather duvet with crisp sheets and a light blanket.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the offerings of our comprehensive breakfast buffet as well as the services of our transportation staff and our concierge team. In terms of the service level during breakfast, we will review your observations with our Restaurant Manager to make sure our team of servers is consistently good-natured and intuitive. As for the registration process upon arrival, we do indeed ask our guests about their preferred times of morning and evening housekeeping service in order to access the villas with the least amount of interruptions to guests as possible. Having said this, we will reassess when and how this is information is obtained during the registration process and, if necessary refine the verbiage used by our employees. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the Nam Hai. In 2009 we stayed in a beach front villa and this time we were in one of the pool villas as we came with children. The stay was excellent and we enjoyed every minute of it for the following resons:
- excellent villas wtih and without pools (please note that some villas are somewhat removed from the beach while the villas facing the beach are excellent); The villas with pools are more like huge compounds as they comprise of several free standing pavilions and two courtyards. They are some of the largest in Asia we believe.
- excellent food (much improved to what we experienced back in 2009) at the two resort's main restaurants
- expansive resort grounds (the resort claims to cover 30ha of land along almost 1km of a wide and empty beach ! our kids loved it ! although the resort was 90% occoupied we were told, we never felt there was lack of space at the beach, at restaurants or pools
- great three terraced pools including one dedicated to families
- excellent service (this time we had a dedicated butler Mr Le - we complement him for his ability to exceed our expectations and "read our minds")
- excellent opportunities to explore beautiful town of Hoi An just 15min away by hotel car
- proximity to modern Danang airport (30min)
- great activities for kids (at the Kids Club or pool) (however couples should not be discouraged as kids are totally inivsible on expanisve grounds of the resort and privacy is excelent)

All this can be enjoyed provided that guests come at the right time of the year, i.e.avoiding Nov to February a period which is relatively cold and rainy hence opportunities to enjoy outdoor pleasures are limited (as we have read from other guests' reports).

We strongly recommend taking at least one trip to the beautiful and picturesque town of Hoi An and to Hue (the latter only if someone does not mind 3hrs drive by car one-way) which is close or on par with the Forbidden City in Beijing and the boat ride on Perume River is unforgettable.

Last but not least we took time to see some other top resorts in Danang area (such as new Banyan Tree+Angsana, Hyatt Regency, and Fusion Maia) and believe that The Nam Hai is the best resort in Central Vietnam at present.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for having returned to The Nam Hai for another holiday, this time with your children. We were very happy to read that your second stay was as good as the first one and that you had the chance to explore interesting sites along the central coast with your family. We will pass on your compliments to Mr. Le, your dedicated Butler, who will be thrilled to learn that your thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty towards The Nam Hai and would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the foreseeable future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.