We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth returning too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rejuvenate in Style
Ranked #2 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth returning too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights last fall at the Nam Hai in a beach front villa. There was a misunderstanding regarding the airport pickup, but we were fine to hop in a taxi. The staff were there to greet us and insisted on paying for the taxi despite not being necessary. They went over and above the call of duty to make up for what was simply a lost reservation and it was appreciated!
The villas are spectacular! Big, clean, spacious with gorgeous views (though still not convinced about bathtub beside the bed..but that could just be me)
Everyday a new fruit in the room, FABULOUS food in everyone of their restaurants. Spa was amazing and so very relaxing. There is a free shuttle to Hoi Ann, but the staff are just as happy to get you a taxi.
This place oozes luxury....I have looked forward to coming back since I left! Will be bringing the in-laws this fall!

Room Tip: Get a beach front villa for a fabulous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for providing us with insights about your holiday. Please accept our apologies for the airport pick up, which seemed to have gotten lost in the shuffle. We were glad to learn that this experience did not tarnish an otherwise splendid holiday at The Nam Hai. We would be very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back along with your in-laws later this year. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    807
    91
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
208
548
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Mixed feelings about this Hotel really. Arrival at reception felt amateurish as though they were training a new person on reception who didn't have a clue. The first question we were asked is what time did we want the room serviced. Not sometihing that was top priority for us after a long flight from Austraila !
The room itself was not as clean as I expected for a hotel of this calibre - dirty cloth in bathroom sink left from housekeeping. Electrical switch plates in toilet were dirty and the light around the bathroom celing was covered in dirty marks. Dust everywhere and the screen doors were incredibly dusty - just caked in dust. I spent the first night coughing my head off due to the dust which was circulated around the room once the air con had been turned on.
The bed I found very uncomfortable, more like a futon than a bed and incredibly hot. They should offer an alternative mattress at the prices they charge here !
The staff in the restaurant for breakfast didn't appear as though they were enjoying their jobs, rather, just going through the motions. The breakfast offerings were first class and a great selection on offer.
The transport staff were great and very friendly. We took several trips organised through concierge and found the drivers and guides were fantastic. The Hotel overall was beautifully designed and the pool and garden areas well maintained. I just think for the rates charged here, which were absolute top dollar for Vietnam, one should not have had to complain about one thing.
Housekeeping and reception needs improvement !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with an account of your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We concur with you that impeccable cleanliness in a hotel room is paramount and we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings experienced in your villa. Together with our Executive Housekeeper, we will fine tune the internal procedures to ensure each villa is spotless prior to a guest arrival. As for the bed, we admit, the platform design of the bed is unique and may not suit everyone’s taste in terms of ergonomics and comfort and we empathize with your observation. Upon request, we gladly replace the down feather duvet with crisp sheets and a light blanket.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the offerings of our comprehensive breakfast buffet as well as the services of our transportation staff and our concierge team. In terms of the service level during breakfast, we will review your observations with our Restaurant Manager to make sure our team of servers is consistently good-natured and intuitive. As for the registration process upon arrival, we do indeed ask our guests about their preferred times of morning and evening housekeeping service in order to access the villas with the least amount of interruptions to guests as possible. Having said this, we will reassess when and how this is information is obtained during the registration process and, if necessary refine the verbiage used by our employees. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the Nam Hai. In 2009 we stayed in a beach front villa and this time we were in one of the pool villas as we came with children. The stay was excellent and we enjoyed every minute of it for the following resons:
- excellent villas wtih and without pools (please note that some villas are somewhat removed from the beach while the villas facing the beach are excellent); The villas with pools are more like huge compounds as they comprise of several free standing pavilions and two courtyards. They are some of the largest in Asia we believe.
- excellent food (much improved to what we experienced back in 2009) at the two resort's main restaurants
- expansive resort grounds (the resort claims to cover 30ha of land along almost 1km of a wide and empty beach ! our kids loved it ! although the resort was 90% occoupied we were told, we never felt there was lack of space at the beach, at restaurants or pools
- great three terraced pools including one dedicated to families
- excellent service (this time we had a dedicated butler Mr Le - we complement him for his ability to exceed our expectations and "read our minds")
- excellent opportunities to explore beautiful town of Hoi An just 15min away by hotel car
- proximity to modern Danang airport (30min)
- great activities for kids (at the Kids Club or pool) (however couples should not be discouraged as kids are totally inivsible on expanisve grounds of the resort and privacy is excelent)

All this can be enjoyed provided that guests come at the right time of the year, i.e.avoiding Nov to February a period which is relatively cold and rainy hence opportunities to enjoy outdoor pleasures are limited (as we have read from other guests' reports).

We strongly recommend taking at least one trip to the beautiful and picturesque town of Hoi An and to Hue (the latter only if someone does not mind 3hrs drive by car one-way) which is close or on par with the Forbidden City in Beijing and the boat ride on Perume River is unforgettable.

Last but not least we took time to see some other top resorts in Danang area (such as new Banyan Tree+Angsana, Hyatt Regency, and Fusion Maia) and believe that The Nam Hai is the best resort in Central Vietnam at present.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for having returned to The Nam Hai for another holiday, this time with your children. We were very happy to read that your second stay was as good as the first one and that you had the chance to explore interesting sites along the central coast with your family. We will pass on your compliments to Mr. Le, your dedicated Butler, who will be thrilled to learn that your thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty towards The Nam Hai and would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the foreseeable future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at The Nam Hai from the 8th - 14th April ( 6 nights ) in a one bedroom pool villa for our first year anniversary. The weather we experienced during our stay was not the best, but it certainly did not hinder our enjoyment staying at the resort or exploring Hoi An

We were greeted by a Nam Hai representative at the airport and were escorted to our private vehicle to transfer us to the resort. The drive was a relaxing 30 min and once we arrived were introduced to our butler and swiftly swept away to our villa for smooth check in

Villa
- beautifully maintained villas that are already a few years old
- we stayed in villa no. 2100 and it is literally a few metres away from the beach with a beautiful view. We could hear the sound of the waves while relaxing on our pool lounges and during the night while you're sleeping. Sometimes, it seemed just perfect and surreal
- we really loved the lush dark wood decor they used throughout and to us, it had a very luxurious feel. I can truly say villa 2100 looks exactly like the pictures shows on The Nam Hai website
- the villa compound itself was quite large and we thought the separate building for living/dining a bit of wasted space for just 2 people as we never really used that area
- some people have commented about the different 'levels' in the villas, but this was not a problem for us. During the night if we needed to use the toilet subtle sensor lights would automatically illuminate on the floor so you can easily see where the step is
- laundry was an included service every day during our stay and it was convenient as we had gone through several wears of clothing before arriving. A simple pleasure of being able to pack freshly laundered clothes for our trip back home

Service
- all the staff at The Nam Hai are friendly, but we felt a bit of 'warmth' missing. Sometimes, it felt automated
- we experienced only a few staff who were more confident in their english, but even then it was difficult to converse as their pronunciations of words were difficult to understand. It lead to a few awkward moments where we kind of just nodded and smiled
- we don't expect perfect english, but we felt their level was below par to other resorts we've stayed in around the world with the same price point. For example, we asked staff at the beach restaurant how a certain dish was cooked and they really had difficulty finding words to describe how it was prepared
- the resort runs on a very relaxed time, particularly the staff at the beach restaurant where we had experiences of food coming out slow ... but, really we didn't care! Soak in the magnificent view and relax
- the resort provides complimentary shuttle services to Hoi An several times a day which is great as it encourages you to venture out of the resort
- we were kindly provided with a late check out, which provided us extra relaxation time as our flight was not scheduled until the early evening. This was very much appreciated

Food
- we're fans of asian cuisine and my husband and I both agree that The Nam Hai has the best food we've eaten at any resort we've stayed. I have no idea why some people have reviewed that they did not enjoy the food or think it was at a high level
- delicious, fresh and a lot of the time organic as they have a large herb garden with full time staff that attend to it. We also thought the pricing was fair for a resort like this as the quality was very high
- if you find that you're craving for something not on the menu, don't hesitate to ask as they try their best to cook it for you. My husband loves stir fry morning glory ( water/river spinach ) and it wasn't on the menu for lunch, so he asked if they could cook it for him and it was absolutely not a problem
- we had their seafood buffet on a Saturday night and the grilled seafood they offered ( lobster, crab, calamari, prawns and different types of fish ) was so fresh and tasty. The best grilled lobster we've had in a very long time
- they tend to offer the same exact breakfast buffet offerings everyday and we were little surprised they don't try to rotate the variety like Banyan Tree does, but still very good quality with traditional Vietnamese breakfast options

Spa
- great, but not the best we've had
- my husband communicated on their preference sheet that he preferred to have firm pressure, but his therapist seemed to perhaps not understand when my husband requested firmer pressure on the massage table ( again, low level of english here apparent )
- we are surprised that they do not provide comment cards after their treatments. How do they gauge the level of satisfaction and the skill of their therapists regularly? I personally would have liked to fill out a comment card to express my suggestions immediately

Guests
- we found many of the guests to consist mostly of Brits, Americans and Australians and only a small number of Asians
- families with young children and young adults were abundant. We found all children were all well behaved and were kept in check by their considerate parents and nannies. The Nam Hai has a rule of families with young children to use a separate pool to ensure all guests stay comfortable

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at The Nam Hai and highly recommend you to experience this resort at least once in your life! Just do it!

Room Tip: If your budget allows, get a pool villa and request a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for having selected The Nam Hai to celebrate your first wedding anniversary and for providing us with comprehensive and detailed feedback about your stay.

We will pass on your kind comments to our employees who will relish hearing you spent a wonderful holiday. In terms of training, we will continue to assist our staff with improving their English skills, may it be listening comprehension, pronunciation or building vocabulary, something that will assist them in communicating in their own words with confidence.

As for timing of food at The Beach Restaurant, we will review this with the relevant Department Heads to ensure the pace is relaxed yet precise. We will also gage on how we can build more variety into our breakfast buffet, especially for guests who are staying for an extended period of time. We appreciate your suggestion of implementing a comment card system in the spa, allowing guests to provide feedback after each treatment. We will assess how we could implement this.

Once again, thank you very much for your warm comments and for spending your anniversary with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again next year for your 2nd anniversary. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Nam Hai offers beautifully appointed, perfectly maintained private "cottages" for guests, complete with private patios and numerous places to relax, read, dream and unwind. The Vietnamese staff are uniformly lovely but not "programmed" like robots. Very naturally gracious. The pools, the beach, the gardens, the spa and gym: all stunning and aesthetically appealing. Again: it's a perfect environment.

Breakfast buffet includes classic Vietnamese, European, Japanese and American selections. There are several restaurant options, and we tried each of them. Despite the impeccable service, beautiful surroundings and very good food, we suggest that guests go into Hoi An for a true Vietnamese cuisine at "normal" prices. The Nam Hai food is very expensive for what it is. You are paying for the service and surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room that is within walking distance to the main facilities: dining rooms, poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
It was lovely to read that you perceived our staff as natural and gracious and felt they made your holiday at The Nam Hai relaxing and enjoyable. We are very proud of our team and their efforts to look well after each and every guest and will pass on your compliments to the staff. Once again, thank you very much for your visit and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I visited Vietnam in 1998 when fast food was noodles wrapped in palm leaves to take it away. This hotel was unimaginable then but we were told of all the hotel chains lining up to move on to the deserted beaches. So it has happened. The room was more of a whole house. On entering from the beach there is a porch, then a sitting area inside then a couple of steps up to an enormous bed with a sunken bath behind it and more sitting area. plus a desk. Then an open plan area leading to the "front" door, a dressing area, a shower separate loo and finally a door to an outside shower which is completely private. My only complaint it that the drinks were overly expensive even for such an exotic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for selecting The Nam Hai as your chosen haven to discover more of the Central Coast of Vietnam. Indeed, the country has changed tremendously since 1998 and we were pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your second time in Vietnam and we hope it will not be the last time you visit. Once more, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A lovely luxurious base for a genuinely wonderful town. We came to Vietnam on our honeymoon and this really is a romantic place with an amazing heritage town and some lovely restaurants. There is lots to see and do and the hotel will help with trips to anywhere you want to go... Service is top notch and the rooms are lovely - the perfect romantic getaway...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen The Nam Hai as your resort of choice for your honeymoon. We were happy to read that you not only enjoyed the destination as such but also felt pampered at our resort for your special getaway. Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for one of your anniversaries in the future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.