We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to visit to Vietnam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rejuvenate in Style
Ranked #2 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Wolverhampton, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect start to visit to Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

TripAdvisor - Nam Hai

After an overnight stop in Hong Kong Nam Hai was the first proper stop of our tour of Vietnam. We had to get two flights down, and unfortunately had a three hour delay in Hanoi ... Without wifi. Make sure you have a book or iPad to watch a film on!

As soon as we arrived at the terminal in Da Nang airport there was a member of Nam Hai staff waiting to greet us. They had in fact emailed us noting the delay and saying that they would be waiting with the pre arranged transfer for our arrival. We just didn't get the email until we had WiFi at the hotel.

Bags in the transfer, cold towels and chilled water provided it was about a 25minute journey to the resort.

We were welcomed by both names at reception, offered another cold towel and cooling tea while we completed paperwork. We were then given a brief tour of the facilities - library, concierge, bars, the three pools, spa and of course our one bed villa (5080).

The villas are very spacious, with lots of light switches, blinds and steps inside. Along the side of the bed there is a small step either side, to ensure you don't miss this in the night I loved the little LED night lights that come on as you walk up to them from either direction.

A large deep bath in the main area and lovely hot indoor and outdoor raindrop showers, and individual sinks in the bathroom. The air con was very effective, and wifi good and reliable. Turn down service was completed with some very nice surprise touches included to set the atmosphere.

While there where many villas around us, with a lot occupied, it still felt very private.

On most evenings we took a taxi into Hoi An to eat and drink, but being an early town we came back for a nightcap. One surprise was how quiet the bar was each night. It would appear most guests choose not to use it. Which is a shame as it has an excellent selection of drinks, and a good Cuban cigar menu (though these may appear expensive if used to American cigar prices).

Breakfast each day was awesome, huge selection on the buffet and lots available to choose from to be cooked fresh from around the world.

The restaurant was a surprise highlight, one evening the rain was so bad we decided to eat in. Both opting for curry's, and coming from an area of the UK that is renowned for its indian food we had two of the best curries with such depth of flavours we've had for a long time!

One of the things I loved about this hotel was the choice of three pools. Firstly there was a good long lap pool for serious swimmers, the top upper most pool for families and then my favourite the main infinity pool facing the beach by the second restaurant. There are some small signs explaining this pool and area was for over 16's only. And on one day a member of staff quietly ensuring a family with small kids kept to the family pool. I thought this was a nice touch, as most of the guests appeared to be here without kids. The pool, as with the whole resort was kept incredibly tidy and clean at all times.

The staff around the resort are great and incredibly helpful, all with a cheery greeting as you pass them. I also loved the layout and architecture of the resort ... Lots of greenery and water breaking up and around the stone of the buildings.

Definitely recommended, and somewhere I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comprehensive review about your holiday at The Nam Hai. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the personal attention from the moment you were greeted at the airport, at breakfast, by the pool and whilst trying our Indian food at the Main Restaurant on one of the evenings. We sincerely appreciate your compliments, will pass them on to our team and would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    807
    91
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
208
548
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at GHM properties before (Legian in Bali and Chedi in Muscat) with the Legian being my families favourite. However, the Nam Hai surpassed all of our expectations. From the setting to the service to the decor and finally the food, this hotel will leave you impressed beyond words. Believe me, we now longingly refer to it as our 'happy place'. Service is incredible, from reception to wait staff and even all the workers at the property (gardeners, maids, handy men - everyone will greet you and smile). This kind of faultless service doesn't just happen...it is the result of training and investment. The villas are huge and well designed with amazing decor and attention to detail. The property is so well laid out...3 stunning pools, amazing common areas, stunning spa. Highlight has to be food. So many amazing hotels fail in this area...the food here was some of the best we have ever had (passion fruit cheesecake to die for...we ordered it every day). Our massage at the spa was also incredible. I have travelled extensively as you will see from my reviews so when I say this is one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed at, it really means something..

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Greetings from The Nam Hai and thank you very much for your lovely review. We are thrilled to read that The Nam Hai has become your “happy place” for you and your family. We take great pride in setting up our staff for success and it is very rewarding to learn that they were able to provide you with a relaxing and memorable holiday. Once again, thank you very much for your recent visit as well as your loyalty towards GHM hotels & resorts. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Walter Hess, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Price aside it is difficult to find fault with this hotel.
The location is excellent; standing alone on a long beach yet only 10 mins from Hi An centre.
The staff are all excellent; there even before you know you need anything.
The rooms are fab as are the breakfasts and leisure facilities.
The 2 restaurants food is also very good although statospherically expensive as are the drinks.
Quite simply if you can afford it it is THE place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your feedback about your recent holiday at The Nam Hai. We appreciate you recognizing that the resort, albeit pricey, provides value for money in terms of amenities, facilities and well trained staff. We will keep up the good work and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the foreseeable future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lets get the first point out of the way - this hotel is not cheap, and neither is the food nor the spa. Having said that, once paid, you will never look back. Everything was amazing. The private villa with its interesting modern and unique interior design, The feeling of space, the amazing spa villas with the serene view onto the small lake and the fantastic food at the restaurants - especially the pool side lunch and Vietnamese dinner and the breakfast. But in particular it is the service that makes this place so special. Having stayed in many top 5-star hotels, I have rarely, if ever, experienced such an effort on behalf of the staff and the management to make us feel welcomed and help us wherever possible - especially the concierge that helped us change our travel arrangements - I could not compliment them enough. We were sad to leave and would love to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your feedback. We are thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at The Nam Hai and felt well looked after by our staff, especially the Concierge team. We will pass on your compliments to our team members, who will feel very proud having been able to provide you with an unforgettable holiday. Once again, thank you for your visit and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After a busy time in Luang Prabang, Siem Reap and Saigon, we came here for 6 nights r and r peppered with some sight seeing. This was the perfect place with a lot of staff to look after the guests and the service was outstanding. I had 2 massages in the spa and some of the best I have ever had even though quite pricey. The villa we had overlooked the long beach and very spacious with every amenity you could wish for. But not for the infirm as the bed's platform to one side meant gymnastics to get in and out! Lovely bathroom with indoor and outside shower. They had 3 pools and the adults only pool was huge and beautiful and close to the beach - the sea was too rough to swim in unfortunately. But it was great being pampered on the beach with cool towels, water and a bottle spraying rose water to cool down - perfect! The breakfasts were superb with a lot of choice and beautifully presented and the lunches were very good too. We ate in Hoi An most evenings as firstly there is a good choice of restaurants, and secondly the evening meals at Nam Hai were a bit disappointing and a bit too expensive for what you got. The shuttle bus from the hotel was very useful for sorties into town. The management were on hand most of the time to ensure the smooth running of the hotel. A suggestion is however, that should be an outside bar rather than just the rather dreary first floor bar above one of the restaurants - it would be lovely to have a drink outside to enjoy the warm evenings. The manager thought this a good idea. We had a wonderful stay and were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to compose a detailed review of your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and were able to pamper yourself after exploring other destinations in South East Asia. We are taking your suggestions to heart, in particular the one about an al fresco bar and will pursue this idea and assess how we could make it reality. Once again, thank you very much for your long visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during a recent trip through Vietnam. It was such an ideal respite...beautiful room, fabulous service , great food. I cannot think of one negative thing to say...except...it is very hard to leave! Be aware that you need transportation to get into Hoi An. There is a shuttle from the hotel, but the timing may not be convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are happy to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at The Nam Hai and had the chance to relax and unwind in-between sightseeing and exploring. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am an architect, and this hotel is breathtaking.
The service and quality of food in both restaurants is excellent.
There are three pools, two of them child free, so great for lengths.
Typical GHM attention to detail.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We were happy to read that not only the architecture of the resort but also the overall service and attention to detail left a lasting impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An, a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.