We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star beach Oasis near Da Nang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rejuvenate in Style
Ranked #1 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“5 Star beach Oasis near Da Nang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The rooms were very spacious and unique. Very peaceful beach resort. Wonderful pool areas. Restaurants were wonderful and the service at the resort left nothing to the imagination or wanting. Will definitely return when we visit Southeast Asia again.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach have a better ocean view, but all rooms have some view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you very much for having included The Nam Hai on your journey through South East Asia. We are delighted to read that our friendly staff was able to provide you with a comfortable and memorable holiday and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back on occasion of your next vacation. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    817
    92
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
213
553
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
guangzhou
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What's great: rooms are modern and beautifully designed (we had beach villa with pool), grounds are lovely and extremely well maintained with great gym/pools/tennis, great group morning yoga/meditation (every hotel should have this!), all the staff is wonderful, good demographic with no screaming kids running around.

Not great: room rates are WAY overpriced, restaurants are also incredibly overpriced we ate in town for 1/10 the price and 2x better food, no music on the grounds (need some cool chill out music at least), spa was crazy priced and no access to local massage on the beach. For these reasons especially the price I am not sure we would return...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at The Nam Hai and are pleased to read that you were able to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing holiday and felt our villas to be well maintained and our staff friendly and engaging.

We admit the prices in our restaurants and in our spa are higher compared to locally owned restaurants or spas for a number of reasons may it be the use of imported high quality ingredients/products, very high standards of hygiene, thoroughly trained English speaking staff, superior furnishings, to mention but a few examples.

Once again, thank you very much for your visit and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back on a future occasion. Walter Hess, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Totally enjoyed my vacation with my hubby at this villa. Expensive but worth every cent. Service out of this world even language is a problem in most part of Vietnam.

Awesome breakfast with freshly made jam, good range of bread, yoghurt of all sorts. Excellent vietnamese pho, crepes, fruits n selection from menu. Not merely a buffet but a really extensive and satisfying breakfast.

Every staff, from pool attendant to concierge were all out to serve and obviously working with each other. we requested massage at the poolside n the pool attendant took care of that. The massage was so good that i decided to add a neck massage to my foot massage and they saw to it n got it all arranged without a hitch.

Am suitably impressed by the hands on management team, on the floor every day, working very hard, very visible, very genuine. Have stayed at villas in many places but this beats it all. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We are happy to read that our comprehensive breakfast offerings made your stay memorable along with the pool side neck & foot massage.

Our teams are pleased to learn that you found them attentive and caring and it is feedback like yours that inspires them to keep up the good work. Once again, thank you very much for your visit and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had the best family vacation EVER at the Nam Hai this past week, and we so enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, fantastic facilities, lovely staff, and fabulous restaurants, that we just stayed at the resort and relaxed the entire time! Our experience at the Nam Hai couldn't have been more perfect!

Many thanks to Mr. Hess, Mr. Christian, Ms. Nhu, and Mr. Tin for making our stay so special! We would love to return next year! Thank you again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Greetings from The Nam Hai! We are thrilled to read that you had a fabulous family holiday during the Lunar New Year, making the most of the warm weather and the resort’s offerings.

Once again, thank you very much for your recent visit. It would be our pleasure to have the chance to welcome you back on occasion of a future school holiday. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We will go back here, just to stay here... for a month... easily one of the best hotels and hotel rooms we have ever visited. The food (we stayed here three days) for breakfast, lunch and dinner was outstanding. German Chef has oriented the menu to western travellers... great steaks for example... the only weakness seems to be a slower kitchen than we would have liked, although we usually were eating in large groups. Deserts to die for, and on a cycling vacation, one is allowed to eat dessert(s)!
The pools are spectacular, service at poolside is excellent and quick. All drinks are available, there is a tendancy to order things like SIngapore Slings because of the ambiance being soooo spectacular. There are hundreds of huge clay pots, beautiful trees, orchids and so on.
The outdoor showers in every chalet are enough to have one built in our place back here in Mexico... have to experience this place... The spa and the health club are great. There is a guy here from Tibet who runs free 7AM Yoga and 8AM meditation classes... really worth getting up for...

Room Tip: Try for a '00' chalet, they are out on the beach with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay. We are elated to read that you are ranking The Nam Hai as one of the best resorts you have stayed at so far.

We are taking your feedback about dining to heart and will work with our culinary and service team to ensure larger parties receive equally efficient and timely service in our restaurants. Whilst it is a long way from Mexico, we are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back some time in the future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the moment we drove into this place I started getting some magical feeling about The NAM HAI.
If I could rename this place I would name it The Nam Hai Haven or may be just “The Haven” purely because in my experience this place is like Haven.

I have stayed in many hotels and resorts around the world but non come any where close to NH .
This place is just out of this world , the beauty of it , the location , the design and the architecture of it – it was just sheer joy to be at this resort.

For the first half day or so I was totally lost in the Haven – it took me quite some time to get down to the earth – that is the kind of magical feeling this place can have on you.

With the beautiful site also comes the best hotel staff I have ever experienced. The professional staff take this resort to even a higher standard – because without friendly staff the place can just be another set of buildings. They are the people who make this place a pleasure to be in – so full credit to Mr Gill’s ( the GM) excellent team.

Four of us stayed in the 2 bed roomed pool villa and I can not find any faults in it at all.
It is well designed – very comfortable – lots of space – iPAD and sound surround music – our own swimming pool – out side showers – 2 large bedrooms – what more can one ask for!?
Just perfect comfort and joy to be staying at this resort.

To add the cherry to the cake we had a top class butler – a sweet young lady by the name of Ty (Nguyen Thi Ty ).
Ty looked after us tirelessly for three days during our stay and made sure we had everything for our comforts. She punctually served us our afternoon tea and the evening canopies and she even made sure we had ample mangoes as we all loved the VN mangoes. She made sure that our laundry was returned and she checked it all out for us as well. She is always smiling and a very pleasant lady – she carried out all her duties perfectly.
It was nice to be spoilt by her. So Ty – we all four say a big THANK YOU to you.

Also I need to mention a special credit to the concierge team who do an excellent job. All the bookings are carried out perfectly – we never had to wait around for the transport which we had pre-booked
Everything here works to the like a clock work to the dot.
A very special mention of Vu the young man who books the transports – our party of four got split up one late evening – 2 of us took an early car back to the hotel and the other two were left stranded in the city Hoi-Ann. They were waiting for us and there was no way we could contact them. I explained the situation to Vu and straight away he got on the phone and sorted the issue out. He made several phone calls and at one stage he was talking on 2 phones in trying to resolve our problems. Within 5 minutes he found our friends waiting at the taxi stand and he arranged for them to be picked up and dropped at the resort- and no charge four the taxi !
Where else would you find such a service!

During our very first breakfast , Mr Gill came over to us and we all had a pleasant chat and he gave us the confidence that if we needed anything just ask . I think it was very nice of the GM to come over and talk to the guests.
Next day the assistant GM also came and said Hi to us.
( Antony if you do read this - we are the four grey haired Indians from UK you spoke to on around 7th Feb !)

The Indian chef even prepared delicious Aloo Paratha for breakfast !
But the breakfast at this place is so big that one does not need any extra top ups !

On the final day our flight was not till late evening and I was worried how we would spend the last 4/5 hours waiting around. But to my pleasant surprise we were offered another villa for this short period. The beauty of this villa is that it is high up on the hill and when you lie down on the out side pool beds you are amongst the tall palm trees – which was another get away to heaven for me !

SO overall a perfect stay for all of us – will definitely come there again – if Mr Gill kindly gives us a promotional offer.
( Hope you are listening Antony !)

Only one negative point – there are too many stairs every where so not a best place for wheel chairs or people having walking problems. I am sure the resort probably have solutions for this.

But a big thank you to all the staff and the management who make this place a HEAVEN.

Room Tip: We were in 2PV no. 1020 - I think it is one of the best ones !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your warm comments about your recent stay with friends of yours and for having taken the time to post this review. We are very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at The Nam Hai and that the kindness of our staff such as Mr. Vu, Concierge, Ms. Ty, Butler, members of the management team and many others, left a lasting impression. Please do let us know when you would like to return and we will most certainly look well after you like the first time. Once more, thank you very much for your recent stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at The Nam Hai during Christmas 2012. It was our first time travel to Vietnam and the genuine service of the resort created a very good first impression for the country.
The resort is around 30 mins by car away from Da Nang airport, very close to Hoi An, an old historic town which hosted a number of interesting restaurants and shops.
All pool and non pool villas are adjacent to the long beach. Walking on the beach became our favorite activity. We also enjoyed playing tennis and exploring the organic farm besides "doing nothing" at the pool. The 2 restaurants' food was great but pricey. I would recommend making use of the private car available to go and dine at Hoi An for some days. Breakfast was excellent with sumptuous selections including Vietnamese coffee. Our butler was extremely attentive while respecting our privacy at all times. The only items I didn't like about the resort were the mattress being too soft and the complimentary in-room snacks.
It was a truly relaxing retreat we will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit over Christmas and your feedback. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your first trip to Vietnam and had the chance to relax and unwind whilst in residence at The Nam Hai. We are also glad to learn that you were well looked after by your personal Butler. As for the private bar snacks, we are in the process of sourcing a new selection of items and plan to implement them soon. Your feedback about the softness of the mattress has been taken to heart and we will aim to have a firmer one available upon your next visit. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.