We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinh Hung Riverside Resort

Save Saved
You added Vinh Hung Riverside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   111 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Muscat
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wow, what a great place to stay. Hoi an city is mega and this resort is gorgeous. Lovely room spa bath in that room with a nice big head shower. You get a patio and sun beds, the poolside bar is great and friendly, pools great, I sat in it even, to read my book! It's right on th river and there are seats and swing seats at good locations for watching the river traffic go by. Local ferries cross the river to shops on the other side, but it's just as easy to walk too. At 4 till about 5.30 pm they would bring out some local foods to try. Breakfasts were good. We had a lovely lazy day here, but stayed two nights. Spa is lovely they offer all as expected and its not too expensive

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    435
    295
    70
    26
    9
See reviews for
172
398
30
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we love the resort and the staff who are all really lovely and very helpful. We stayed in rooms 617 and 618 which are ground floor and directly in front of the smaller pool. This pool is a few degrees cooler than the larger pool. We unfortunately did have a problem when we checked out, checkout took over 45 minutes due to our bills not being prepared correctly (we had a promotion which entitled us to 15% off all service charges and when we went to settle the account this had not been applied, reservation staff told us they did not know about this (bit odd when we also had included a free meal and our airport transfer and there was no problems redeeming these) eventually got this sorted ) We also suggest that you take great care with all items in your room and make sure that if you do take anything out to the pool that you return it to the room and not accidentally leave it there as we did and then on check out be told that an item was missing and you are liable for it. The item was a 20c bowl, we were made to feel like we had stolen it which was not a nice way to end our visit to this very lovely resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked into this resort for 3 nights but extended our stay for 3 more. The location was great, out of the hustle and bustle of Hoi An, right on the river in a quiet area and close to lots of restaurants. We used the shuttle boat which took you down near central markets, everywhere else we walked. The staff were friendly but it would be better if the front office staff could speak slightly better English. The pool was a welcome relief after walking in the heat. We were here when it was full moon and the action around the bridge was great. Make sure you ask for 2 keys when you check in so that you can keep your air conditioner and fridge working after you walk out of the room for the day!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Everything is relative.. at the rate I paid, even for this region, everything was great. I would not expect 5 star quality. (Been rereading some of the other reviews on here).

Service was excellent, location was fantastic, just a 5 minute walk into the center of town, three blocks away (not even sure why they offer a free boat shuttle, but who's complaining?!).

Breakfast was great, with a selection of international dishes as well as local dishes. Loved the days they had watermelon juice. Yumm.

Rooms: Good size and nice. Slightly basic with old tv's, but pleasant nonetheless and cable TV. We had a problem with our AC unit, but they immediately sent a team of engineers and ended up switching rooms since they couldnt fix right away.

Buildings: Slightly run-down, but in a charming way. I think the resort is relatively new, just wasn't built with the best materials, as is often the case in the region. So it looks older than it actually is.

"Countryside Market" was a wonderful, daily treat to try out all sorts of local street food I would not have otherwise been able to sample (free of charge!).

Two pools. One huge one with pool bar and one smaller one. FYI - May is the hottet month and the pools in the whole country were very warm. However the smaller pool is in the shade and therefore slightly cooler and almost refreshing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. It was a nice quiet change after the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. This resort needs a little updating particularly in the reception area and the bathroom (huge but needs a revamp). However, still a very pleasant stay. Room was very large and clean. Do ask for a room facing the river. Gorgeous views from your balcony. The breakfast area is outdoors on a lovely terrace overlooking the river. Pool area also pleasant. Do take a taxi ride (less than 5mins) to their own private beach (part of China beach). Only costs about $2 to get there and worth it. Lovely beach with crystal clear water and no waves, so great for kids. There are lounges and umbrellas for shade. Didn't eat meals in the hotel other than breakfast. Not worth it when Hoi An is just a short taxi ride away ($3) with heaps of options there. Mrs Ha across the road from resort does good and cheap laundry if you start running out of clean clothes. One tip: check bill carefully when checking out of hotel. Our bill was almost double due to drinks from another room being charged to us.

Room Tip: riverside room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

i have always maintained that the true test of any establishment is its staff,from the moment we arrived untill the time we departed the staff from the gardeners to front of house treated us like old friends,nothing was too much trouble,they arranged a mothers day cake for my wife on mothers day, befrended our children,everyone deserves to be spoilt now and then and the folk at vinh hung made our stay one to remember.thank you all for taking the time and making our stay a special memory.mike rebecca and family.

Room Tip: riverside view is a good option,sit and watch the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a delux riverside view room, the room was very spacious inc a/c which is a must and had a wonderful patio overlooking the river. The breakfast had a wide selection and the tropical surroundings of the hotel grounds and the choice if two swimming pools was a great relaxation away from the busy yet very nice town. One word of warning, if you are a very light sleeper then the riverside room may not be for you as the fishing boats start returning to port around 4am, if this is a problem choose one of the non riverside view rooms as they are not so close but you can still enjoy the river views as there are loads of chairs and sunbeds overlooking the river within the grounds. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, it is in a great location but when you are there you feel away from it all and all the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vinh Hung Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Riverside Resort

Address: 111 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Riverside Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total 17 keys. All rooms have either private balcony or veranda or terrace with the view of garden, lotus pond, pastoral scenery, or paddy fields. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vinh Hung Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vinh Hung Hotel Hoi An
Vinh Hung Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinh Hung Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.