We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vinh Hung Riverside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vinh Hung Riverside Resort to your Saves list
Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   111 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Vinh Hung Riverside Resort and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The Resort is located in a great area- 2 minute walk to the ancient town, but far enough away for it to be quiet and relaxing. The free tasting of local food in the evening was a great bonus and nice touch. The pool area was nice and relaxing and a great place to unwind and cool off. The rooms and resort itself was a little dated. In saying that, for the price we paid per night- it was very reasnoable. In retrospect, we wish we booked a riverside room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    348
    81
    27
    8
See reviews for
232
513
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Il
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were on a three-week tour of Vietnam/Cambodia with Adventures Abroad and stayed here three nights. The location was perfect, an easy walk into the historic district. Our room was large and included a couch. There is deferred maintenance in the bathroom and the shower was difficult to use. Mere quibbles. We had charming and creative flower decorations left on the bed. We were on the go all day in the heat and humidity, the room and pool were a welcome retreat until the group met to go for dinner. The grounds are beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel is situated in a quiet, peaceful area of the town but only five minutes walk from The Old Town. The facilities are first class and we used the pool, restaurant, business centre, massage services and the beauty salon (only my wife on this one). The only improvement would be to update the computer equipment in the business centre.
We originally booked for three nights but we enjoyed our stay so much that we extended our stay by six nights.
The setting is idyllic and with the hotel accommodation designed in small blocks it gives a feeling of privacy and intimacy. The breakfast food choices were very good but fresh breakfast juices would be an improvement.
Our great abiding memory of the Vinh Hung will be the quality and friendliness of the staff from the General Manager through to the bar and restaurant staff, the staff who serviced our rooms and the front of house staff. They were terrific, nothing was too much trouble and any requests or problems were dealt with immediately whatever time of day. The young staff engaged us in an attractive manner and we had great fun trying to teach each other our respective languages.
Overall a truly memorable stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This riverside resort was just what I needed after the amazing chaos of Hanoi. The resort itself is very well laid out and my riverside room was great - spacious enough to spread myself out a bit. The lounge chairs on the deck were comfortable and gave a great view of the goings-on on the river. The staff were beautiful and very friendly- an eager to learn. One staff member was especially good - Phor - she was always ready to provide great service but to have a quick chat to learn something new.

The food here was really good and the afternoon food stalls (free) in the resort was well worth it.

The short boat trip from the resort to the town (maybe 5 mins max) is a good way to get an first impression. And the walk back is easy and enjoyable.

The spa was great - had a very relaxing massage treatment for over 3 hour - what decadence!

Lastly, a dip in the pool is the late afternoon/early evening to relax and cool off was divine!

Room Tip: I would suggest if you are a light sleeper, or don't want to hear the sound of the "tuking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaPhuocHan, General Manager at Vinh Hung Riverside Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Warmest greeting from Vinh Hung Riverside Resort & Spa 

Dear Glen B 

Thank you very much for your kind review . We highly appreciated your stay with us and  we are happy that you had enjoyed your holiday in Hoi An. Your positive review helped us more on improving the quality of our service .All the best wishes to you and your family on Christmas and New Year 2013. We are looking forward to serving you again .

Thanks & Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here three nights during a ten day tour of Vietnam. It was a very welcome retreat and break from our hectic itinerary. The hotel is by the river and has a lovely main pool along with a smaller pool close to the block with rooms in the 600s. The grounds are very pretty and staff were extremely helpful. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk of the beautiful town of Hoi An. Every day, depeniding on weather,the hotel hosts a small street food market where you can try some traditional Vietnamese food for free. Quite a few of the people on our tour rather took to the rice wine! The rooms were immaculately clean and very spacious although our room (628) was unable to pick up the free wifi but we had no problem with this around the main areas. We would highly recommend this hotel not just for it's fantastic location but also because the rooms, grounds and staff were also very impressive. A tip: there's a woman outside the hotel entrance that will do your laundry for $1 per kilo. We got most of our laundry done within 24 Hrs for just $6 - bargain!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornish, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked at this resort for our first stay in Hoi An. The staff was very attentive and we loved the young folks with "Trainee" badges working hard to perfect their English. Resort is a bit of a misnomer in that the property does not feel like an isolated compound -- the neighboring businesses (bike rental, lanterns, laundry service) are right across from the entrance and very helpful. The resort is difficult to locate and our taxi driver from Da Nang ended up recruiting a local to guide him to the resort (no charge to us for the guide, happily). The boat service to the public landing in town is fun (you're on your own for the return but it's an easy 5 minute walk). The breakfast selection and quality was top rate and the afternoon "local food specialties" cocktail mixer was much appreciated. Most importantly, after a day of hustle and bustle in Hoi An, we slept very soundly here.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a terraces and nice views of the grounds/river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Away from the main drag of Hoi An on the peninsula. About a 5 min walk from the old town. Well laid out with lovely gardens to relax in or relax by the pool.
They have a food tasting session between 4 -5 p.m. every day, which is interesting, as the food is from different provinces in Vietnam. The F & B manager is friendly if you engage him, however the staff were not very open to questions. Could have been lack of English. It would have been nice to know a little more on the food they were promoting. It was a fun thing to do.
There is a boat that takes you to old town, but only one way, which is quicker than walking.
The breakfasts were disappointing, as there were very little veggie options.
The bedroom, was large, and comfortable, but with foam pillows.
We requested a garden view, but had a view of the garden wall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaPhuocHan, General Manager at Vinh Hung Riverside Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Greeting from Vinh Hung Riverside Resort & Spa

Thank you very much for your stay at Vinh Hung Riverside Resort & Spa and share your experiences on our services .We would like to apologize that you were unable to enjoy our service at our F& B department . We will be looking to training our staff and maintaining our services better soon as possible. We are looking forward to serving you again on next visit .

Thanks & Best Regards

Ha Nguyen Han / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vinh Hung Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Riverside Resort

Address: 111 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Riverside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total 17 keys. All rooms have either private balcony or veranda or terrace with the view of garden, lotus pond, pastoral scenery, or paddy fields. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vinh Hung Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vinh Hung Hotel Hoi An
Vinh Hung Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinh Hung Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.