We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grassland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grassland Hotel to your Saves list
Grassland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hai Ba Trung Street | Hoi An Old Town, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Hoi An
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice, clean and pleasant rooms at a more than reasonable price. Excellent breakfast. Very helpful and welcoming staff who spoke great english. The old town of hoi an is very close and they also lend you a free cycle and motorbike hire is at the standard rate. This place made our stay in hoi an perfect.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasslandHotel, Manager at Grassland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr Michael,

Warmest greeting from Grassland Hotel, Hoi An, Viet Nam.

Thank you very much for having taken time to post your review about your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel, wishing you good health, happiness & success. It's highly appreciated and will help us to improve our ability to serve you. So we are sure your next trip if we have chance to welcome you, things will be totally different.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Mr Hoang Le
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
32
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great hotel for a good price! 100% value for the money! Clean and nice room. Beds are not so comfortable.
Awesome swimming pool. Lovely and friendly staff.
It is a bit far from the tourist area, but nothing terrible (still walking distance).

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasslandHotel, Manager at Grassland Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ms Juan Adres,

Warmest greeting from Grassand Hotel.

Thanks for staying with us and your great feedback. It is highly appreciated and will help us to improve our ability to serve you.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards and here's wishing you a great New Year, happiness and prosperity.

Le Hoang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel was the size of the room and it had a balcony. The beds are hard as a rock the shower head chest height over the bath. I had to have a bath instead then the water would not drain out. A maintenance man came with a bucket and scooped out the water into the toilet.
Thin grey towels that were once white. The food was disgusting especially breakfast. Flys everywhere and fly eggs in my fruit, cold eggs and no selection whatsoever. Staff coughing and spluttering during our breakfast. I mentioned they needed to see a doctor but few spoke or understood plain English.
Odd glasses from various banks, unclean plates. No bread. I ordered noodle soup and got two minute noodles on a plate with a few veggies on top. When I complained I did not order this, reception called the kitchen and put me on the phone. The kitchen staff very abruptly told me yes I ordered that and if I didn't pay for it she had to pay for it herself. I would steer clear of this place.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasslandHotel, Manager at Grassland Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thanks for all your comment and feedback for the stay with us.

Our Hotel has been step by step upgrading the facilities up to the standard of the 3 star hotel and it is still carry on. The bed, bathroom and even the amenities are in our plan upgrading implementation. So we are sure your next trip if we have chance to welcome you, things will be totally different.
.
F&B team has been appreciated for all your comment, we will improve all criteria for a better breakfast also the services

Best regards,
Mr Hoang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

We didn't have hot water on our first day, but later realised that the hot water system had been turned off. The shower head, water pressure and spray wasn't very good.
The staff were very helpful and spoke English well, however sometimes gave conflicting advice about booking private drivers for sight seeing.
Breakfast selection was reasonable, however flies were constantly buzzing around so make sure you use insect repellent.
The free shuttle service is a great initiative, however we once had to wait 45 minutes after the scheduled time.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasslandHotel, Manager at Grassland Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Dear Mr Pritika from Brisbane Australia,
Warmest greeting from Grassland Hotel, Hoi An, Viet Nam. On behalf of the hotel, wishing you good health, happiness & success. Thank you for your great feedback. It's highly appreciated and will help us to improve our ability to serve you.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Mr Hoang Le
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Checked in here because the price was good. $15 per night for 3 people, so only $5 each. It far exceeded mine and my fellow travelers expectations. The room was clean, spacious and had a great balcony. Wifi connection was great, fridge was handy, cable tv included english channels and hot water worked fine. The only time we had a problem with it was after we left it running for ages while showering and washing our own clothes. (Which due to the balcony and the tub was easy and meant more money to spend on yummy local food) Even then, the hot water returned very quickly. Included in this price was the use of free bicycles (5-10 minute max. ride to centre of town- the transport method of choice as hoi an is so flat). The location was great as it was halfway between the beach and main town. The staff were wonderful. I cannot fault Grasslands. That's why we ended up staying 6 nights.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasslandHotel, Manager at Grassland Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Dear Miss Rover,

Greeting from Grassland Hotel

Thank you so much for your choosing to staying . We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us and was happy with our room. We will share your comment to all our team and i am sure that they will be very motivative to read that.

Once more again, Thank you for your positive feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon

Regards,
Mr Hoang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncurry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Came here aftering visiting a backpackers which was the same price but not as nice, came with two friends and the whole time we got looked after by the staff. They were kind and attentive. Facilities were excellent and room service was frequent.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasslandHotel, Manager at Grassland Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Dear Mr Mathew ,
Warmest greeting from Grassland Hotel, Hoi An, Viet Nam. Thanks a lot for your great comments and time you spent with us and hope to see you next time
Best regards,
Mr Hoang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The service was wonderful. The staff were always smiling and willing to answer any questions. The restaurant has great prices and is delicious!
The only stipulation was the housekeeping. We would have liked to have our bathrooms fully cleaned, not just new towels and an empty garbage.
A major plus was the pool. It was beautiful and very refreshing on a hot day.
Overall, you'll enjoy the hotel:)

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasslandHotel, Manager at Grassland Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Dear Ms Samantha,
Greeting from Grassland Hotel.

Thanks for all your comment and feedback for the stay with us.

House-keeping team has been appreciated for all your comment, we will improve all criteria for a better. So we are sure your next trip if we have chance to welcome you, things will be totally different.

Once more time, thank you for your great feedback. It's highly appreciated and will help us to improve our ability to serve you.
Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Mr Hoang Le
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grassland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassland Hotel

Address: 500 Hai Ba Trung Street | Hoi An Old Town, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grassland Hotel is located on Hai Ba Trung street, near the ancient pagodas, bus station, traditional handicraft villages, the eco-area of sea and river. Here is the shortest way to Japanese-Covered Bridge and other tourist attractions in the heart of Hoi An. The hotels logo is the immense natural scene embodying the image of bird's wings stylized with the pastoral and gentle blue, spreading over the old quarter of Hoi An. Grass land Hotel is built towards the East where you can enjoy the sea-breezes and sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grassland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassland Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grassland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.