We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grassland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grassland Hotel to your Saves list
Grassland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hai Ba Trung Street | Hoi An Old Town, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We didn't have hot water on our first day, but later realised that the hot water system had been turned off. The shower head, water pressure and spray wasn't very good.
The staff were very helpful and spoke English well, however sometimes gave conflicting advice about booking private drivers for sight seeing.
Breakfast selection was reasonable, however flies were constantly buzzing around so make sure you use insect repellent.
The free shuttle service is a great initiative, however we once had to wait 45 minutes after the scheduled time.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
28
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Checked in here because the price was good. $15 per night for 3 people, so only $5 each. It far exceeded mine and my fellow travelers expectations. The room was clean, spacious and had a great balcony. Wifi connection was great, fridge was handy, cable tv included english channels and hot water worked fine. The only time we had a problem with it was after we left it running for ages while showering and washing our own clothes. (Which due to the balcony and the tub was easy and meant more money to spend on yummy local food) Even then, the hot water returned very quickly. Included in this price was the use of free bicycles (5-10 minute max. ride to centre of town- the transport method of choice as hoi an is so flat). The location was great as it was halfway between the beach and main town. The staff were wonderful. I cannot fault Grasslands. That's why we ended up staying 6 nights.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasslandHotel, Manager at Grassland Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Miss Rover,

Greeting from Grassland Hotel

Thank you so much for your choosing to staying . We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us and was happy with our room. We will share your comment to all our team and i am sure that they will be very motivative to read that.

Once more again, Thank you for your positive feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon

Regards,
Mr Hoang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncurry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here aftering visiting a backpackers which was the same price but not as nice, came with two friends and the whole time we got looked after by the staff. They were kind and attentive. Facilities were excellent and room service was frequent.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service was wonderful. The staff were always smiling and willing to answer any questions. The restaurant has great prices and is delicious!
The only stipulation was the housekeeping. We would have liked to have our bathrooms fully cleaned, not just new towels and an empty garbage.
A major plus was the pool. It was beautiful and very refreshing on a hot day.
Overall, you'll enjoy the hotel:)

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were jumped by their agents when got off the bus.
They showed us a distorted map as if the hotel was very close to center and other hotels but it's quite far (although on the main street).
About 20-25 minutes walk from center, which is a bummer especially at night. During the day they have a shuttle service a couple times a day.

Also, although they promised us a hot shower before we get on the bus at night, there was no hot water at all and this made us very angry.

Other than that, the hotel was clean, the service was good and the pool is quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

One of the most amazing places to visit was Hoi An. the grassland hotel's staff was as warm hearted as the mid-day sun outside.... they were there for me, Very clean the food amazing... exceptionally helpful with helping me find my way around Hoi An I would highly recommend a stay at the Grassland Hotel ...very affordable... the pool was a fantastic addition...

Thank you Nhung...
you are the best.....
Best requards
Trina Hill
B.C. Canada

Room Tip: There wasn't a bad side so pick anyside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Context- This review is written from the perspective of a European couple who have lived and worked in Asia for over two years. We tend to travel budget (and will not post a negative review if a place does not come with free soap, for example), but are a small level above ‘backpacker’.

Area- Hoi An is a pretty place, even with the overwhelming service sector and the slightly dark side to the tailoring that happens there. It's particularly beautiful at night, with plenty of cheap beer and typically amazing Vietnamese food.


Enjoyments:

- Very helpful staff by and large
- Good value place with excellent rooms
- Clean and nice beds
- Pleasant pool for chilling out in
- Decent food, but I'd recommend eating out really
- Provide bicycles for getting into town (takes 4-5 minutes)
- Helpful with scooter rental

Considerations:

- At the time there was a great deal of renovation going on, which is not usual since this is Asia and development is the norm, however the hammering became quite grating after a while. They did move us to a different room (upgraded, in fact), however, which quietened the racket.
- Hopefully for you they will have finished making the changes and I would still certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grassland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassland Hotel

Address: 500 Hai Ba Trung Street | Hoi An Old Town, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grassland Hotel is located on Hai Ba Trung street, near the ancient pagodas, bus station, traditional handicraft villages, the eco-area of sea and river. Here is the shortest way to Japanese-Covered Bridge and other tourist attractions in the heart of Hoi An. The hotels logo is the immense natural scene embodying the image of bird's wings stylized with the pastoral and gentle blue, spreading over the old quarter of Hoi An. Grass land Hotel is built towards the East where you can enjoy the sea-breezes and sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grassland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassland Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grassland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.