We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good except its location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Save Saved
You added Pho Hoi Riverside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not good except its location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location but old facilities. A bit expensive ($30/night) but room is not good enough. Old bed sheets, blankets are provided instead of quilt as other 3-star hotels. Only one small bedside table is available, not enough for two people. The room only has a CRT TV instead of a flat panel. Old bath room and is not very clean.

Extremely poor wifi reception and low speed Internet.

Free breakfast but just Western-style buffet without local specialties.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    88
    60
    41
    57
See reviews for
61
106
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the pho hoi for 9 nights, and although the location was very good, the hotel seems to be trying to squeeze more money out of you at every turn. Our hotel before hoi an made a mistake buying our sleeping bus tickets, and so we ended up arriving the morning after our supposed check-in time. The manager would not make any accommodation to our reservation and did bit want to let us check-in at 9 am, despite the fact that we had paid for the previous night. They have an itemized list of every belonging in the room, and the cost of replacement. When the maids were cleaning our room, they accused us of stealing the small toilet paper holder bag which we had taken out of the bathroom by accident. Apparently you're not supposed to use the extra roll in the bag-that's strictly for decoration. The pool guys kicked us out an hour early one night, so they could get off early, and when when we ate at the restaurant, it took over one hour to get a green mango salad and fish hot pot, despite there being only one other person in the restaurant. We drank the waters and replaced them with a different brand, but refused to accept them, and charged us twice what they are worth. The room is clean, but the sheets have stains, and smell used. Overall too many negatives to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Pho Hoi Riverside was a great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They provided us with local information and had secure parking for our motorbike. The hotel is located just across the river and is set in a peaceful environment. Pho Hoi is close enough to the city center but far enough to enjoy some peace and quiet. The buffet breakfast was delicious, with a variety of options as well as a nice seating area by the river. Great for couples and families alike. There's a nice little bar across the street that rents bikes and motorbikes too. Very convenient !

Room Tip: Specify whether or not you want a bungalow out in the garden area. We ended up in one of the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got 2 rooms right beside each other: big, Nice tv, good a/c, outdated bathroom (please update it to a higher and cleaner quality. Location is perfect! Poor breakfast: little to choose from. They don't know how to bake a real pizza (please don't put them on the menu ever: not fresh, very small, not the ingredients we ordered and so on...)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our 5 nights at Pho Hoi - it was nice to have a pool (even if it was a little warm, the kids still appreciated it). It was just a short stroll over the bridge to the old quarter, and everything was convenient. We had dinner here the first night and it was delicious. The breakfast wasn't as good as other places we have stayed - but no complaints considering we only have cereal at home! (We still had freshly made eggs, toast and fruit). Yes it can get a little noisy in the morning, but please remember you are staying near roads for the village, so there isn't a lot the resort can do about that. The cleaners were there early a few days - but I cannot blame them, it was so hot, I told my kids I would want to get that sort of work out of the way too! The hotel has a gorgeous outlook and I suppose when you are travelling to these places you should remember that sometimes our problems are 1st world problems and would seem silly to them, so just enjoy! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We needed a swimming pool by the time we reached Hoian, from Hue first, and before from Hanoi and north. This resort offers great value for the price you pay. The rooms are big, and so is the bed. Very clean. The only problem was the bathtub, it didn't work properly and the water couldn't flow away . First breakfast buffet in Vietnam, just enough. We would certainly reccomend it to friends!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We were so excited to be in a place with a pool, we dumped our stuff and headed straight for the pool which was unfortunately lukewarm (it was always like this too).

We ate lunch here and and we tried Cao Lau which need up being one of the best ones we tried. Breakfast didn't allow us much variety so we snacked on noodles & rice until we realised there was another omlette bar so we settled on this & it tasted like home.. Maybe even better. The menu for the rest of the day was extensive and you could eat at any time.

The shower is rubbish which is frustrating but the bed feels like an actual mattress (albeit a firm one) as opposed to a hardwood floor (gotta appreciate the little things).

The longer we stayed here , the less impressed we were. We requested a quiet room but the if this was quiet I would hate to know what the rest of the rooms were like. We could hear beeping the any time of day or night in our room as it was right by the road and bridge. The room also let in so much sunlight that everyone was awake (but still trying to sleep) at about 5:15am. The maids also came and knocked on our doors pretty early asking if they could make up our rooms, some mornings it was evident we were still in bed, why couldn't they wait for us to leave?

Waking up on our last day here, we woke up to a stinking hot room because the power was out & nobody had bothered to tell us anything. The room was disgusting and it made for three very annoyed girls. Upon asking about it, one of the guys came up to our room, flipped he switches , said "9 o'clock" and walked out.

Some of the staff went out of their way for us, but others we seemed to be a bother to. Some staff also spoke very little English which made it difficult to convey our needs.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pho Hoi Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Address: Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pho Hoi Riverside Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort is ideally located on Cam Nam Islet. Access to the center of Hoi An ancient town is by a beautiful bridge across the Hoi An River. It is in a very convenient location, close to trade centers, the post office, hospital and bank. Guests can come to the resort by road or waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Pho Hoi Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pho Hoi Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Pho Hoi Riverside An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Hoi Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.