We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hard to beat accommodation option in Hoi An” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Save Saved
You added Pho Hoi Riverside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 80 hotels in Hoi An
Forth, Australia
2 reviews
“A hard to beat accommodation option in Hoi An”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Whilst there are other hotels close to the town centre, as far as we could make out, this is the closest resort - style hotel, and the closest hotel with a pool. The location is excellent, with the market, Old Town, tailors and lots of great restaurants within a 5 minute walk.

The rooms were a little tired and the restaurant average, but the location, price, nice pool area and friendly staff (except for reception) ensure that it's still an outstanding option for any visit to Hoi An.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    89
    60
    41
    58
See reviews for
62
107
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wellington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked on agoda and paid such a good rate for bungalow rooms with breakfast. The room was a little tired but for $30 odd you really can't complain when you are spitting distance from town, have a lovely pool, massive banquet breakfast and delightful staff!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Mum, Dad and two boys 13 & 14 from Qld. Fairly basic rooms but great overall facility with excellent food and service. This is a resort with pool, internet (not great), pool table, cafe/bar, restaurant and spa. This suited my weary men while 100m over the bridge is the market area and Hoi An the best silk shopping anywhere surely. Tailored dresses and hand made shoes delivered to your measurement overnight. The staff were delightful and wonderful with our sons entertaining them no end and sharing pool table tricks. A big mention to the beautiful ladies in reception who steered the shopping in the right direction and helped my husband work out vietnamese telecom...Great staff and service close to everything but very quiet. Thanks to Vu for the pool table competitions and entertaining the men while I went shopping.

Room Tip: Go the sml extra cost for the deluxe / superior room well worth it, ensure everything works first in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

had a villa room for 8 days,location is very good,just across the bridge.the staff were very friendly,swimming pool a blessing in the heat.yes maybe it could do with updating but found it to be a charming oasis from the hustle and bustle of hoi an.

Room Tip: villa rooms have view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This place enjoys a great location in a peaceful garden across the bridge from busy ancient Hoi An. Our spacious room was in the main building with views over gardens and river. The rooms were furnished in tradtional Vietnamese style, some of the furniture was so oldfashioned , it was almost cool! The bed was very,very hard, too hard (and we do like firm beds), and had only a top sheet, no blanket or duvet! We had expected a safe in the room, after arguing a bit with the reception , three men brought and installed a safe! There was adequate wardrobe and drawer space, we had access to a small balcony, and the TV had BBC world,but an electric socket was lose, almost coming off the wall. The bathroom had a very good hot water supply, with excellent pressure, good for showers, but the wash basin drained extremely slowly, there was sometimes a bad smell from the drains, and the shower curtain was very grubby. Wifi was almost non existent in the room, you had to go into the lobby for a decent connection!
The resort is located in a big tropical garden right by the river. There is no gym, but there is a nice, sparkling, clean pool, which looked very inviting- alas, we didn't have time to use it during our four night stay.
Staff generally spoke little English, were mostly very sweet and tried to make you welcome, both at the front desk, and in the restaurant. We weren#t too impressed with the breakfast. The Vietnamese selection was much better in other hotels, the fruit was sometimes of mediocre quality, and juice and coffee were watered down/ very weak. They did cook eggs to order, they had some cheese and ham, and several homemade, very runny jams, but sometimes the toaster did not work, and then the baguette was like chewing on cardboard!
Overall we had a quite good stay at the hotel.,If only they could improve and upgrade a few things it would be a pleasure to stay there, they have such an enviable riverside setting, and should make the most of it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Pho Hoi Riverside Resort is located across the bridge from the market in Hoi An’s Old Town - a mere 5-minute stroll and you are in the glorious old centre of Hoi An. Some people say that Hoi An with its beautifully restored old buildings and its colourful lanterns everywhere has turned into a kind of Indochine à la Disneyland, but so what - it is still very charming. The hotel itself has different kinds of accommodation, we were in the main bulding in one of the budget rooms, but on the top floor with a fine view of the river and the hotel gardens. Our room was large and bright with windows on two sides. We also had a small balcony to sit and enjoy a cool drink and watch the river go by. The setting is luxuriant and tropical - palms and flowers everywhere with small boats passing by on the river. The pool looks directly onto the river and it was clean and inviting, but the water unfortunately was too hot to stay in it for very long. The staff were friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast was a wide selection of almost everything you could imagine people would like to eat for breakfast - both western and far eastern. The only negative point for me was the dirty shower curtain in the bathroom and the stained and dirty matresses on the sun loungers round the pool - a shame as everything else was gorgeous!

Room Tip: The top floor budget rooms in the main building are excellent value for money with great views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

On checking out of this hotel my husband and I were told that there was a laundry bag 'missing' from the room. After explaining that we had not used it let alone taken it we were told we would be charged US$5 for it followed by numerous accusations that the cleaner had said it was there so it must have been there. Basically ending in us being told we were lying and that they would search our luggage to recover it! Obviously this was not expected so we requested to speak to the manager who promptly arrived with 3 security guards!

The manager was nothing but rude and insisted that they would search our luggage & that we had taken this so called laundry bag (which mind you, would have cost no more than 10cents) because he was sure it was there when we arrived in the room.

On refusal to allow for our personal belongings to be 'searched' for something we did not have we removed our bags from the hotel and were followed by the manager who told us he had called the police. So very bizarre & rude.

Ironically we had sent our washing to the in house washing service 2 days before in a plastic bag in which it was returned, clean!

I have never been so offended or treated with the disrespect this manager showed us so much so I felt the need to leave this review. I strongly recommend that you sve yourself the chance of this happening and stay away from this hotel. It was overpriced for what it offered. The location was great but the staff were really only friendly when they thought they could sell you something. The restaurant was extremely overpriced and average also. I have travelled the world and stayed in hotels in all sorts of countries and never witnessed anything quite as shocking as what I did at this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pho Hoi Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Address: Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pho Hoi Riverside Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort is ideally located on Cam Nam Islet. Access to the center of Hoi An ancient town is by a beautiful bridge across the Hoi An River. It is in a very convenient location, close to trade centers, the post office, hospital and bank. Guests can come to the resort by road or waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pho Hoi Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pho Hoi Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Pho Hoi Riverside An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Hoi Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.