We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, terrible, Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Save Saved
You added Pho Hoi Riverside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible, terrible, Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel should be shut down. The service is awful the staff try to rip you off and when they're not doing that they're doing nothing but sitting all around the hotel looking somber.
The air con didn't work properly in my room and it was unbearable! I didn't sleep for 3 nights and no option to change rooms.
The food was disgusting and I never saw anyone eat there. The staff didn't know how to open a bottle of wine and asked if I could open it for them.
Rude service, dirty rooms (I had a gecko and a mangey cat in my room) and terrible food.
Do not stay here

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    85
    60
    39
    58
See reviews for
59
104
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is a little old & run down, however its location is pretty awesome. You can walk to the old town in less than 5 mins. We rented a few bikes & rode around the area, that was probably the highlight of our trip.
Breakfast is ok, not a huge variety but definitely better than the places in Da Nang.
The beds are really hard & curtains are so thin we were woken by daylight around 6am everyday.
I'll probably stay here again if I come back to Hoi An.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinchang, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

hotel is very near to the ancient old town. try as much food as you can when you are visiting the old town. rent a bike and explore the beach area as well. you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: choose the room with the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed in January 2012, 3 peopls, Ground Floor Villa/Bungalow Room

+ lots of things to do at hotel; swimming pool, massage, billiards table, restaurant, bar, computers, etc.
+ close to local shopping
+ nice room size
+ located on waterfront
+ free breakfast
+ friendly staff

- not very clean
- facilities looked a little tired (billiards table, swimming pool, room, etc)
- poor shower (had to hold shower head to have shower, ended up getting water everywhere)
- door to bathroom was transparent
- restaurant was overpriced and food was very poor [excluding breakfast] (meal was inedible)
- none of the computers worked/and couldnt access internet
- door sometimes didnt lock properly

overall: probably best suited to families with younger children. wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Ok we are middle aged Aussies and aim to get along and enjoy life and we have a thing for older asian hotels with a pool and great gardens and lots of staff.
And we came from a top three hotel in town without a pool (otherwise excellent) to this hotel with a pool when we extended our stay on Hoi An. We loved it! It is much improved (new management I think) and now better than some of the reviews. Location is terrific.

Room Tip: look at your room before you book in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our one month trip through Vietnam. When we got to the hotel the staff had trouble finding our reservation and made us feel very uncomfortable about this,after a lot of back and forth it turned out that everything was correct however they pretended as if nothing had happened. Later when we asked the girl at the front desk to call the bus company to confirm our open-bus ticket as we had done in all the other hotels we had stayed in earlier, she asked why we couldn't just do it ourselves.. Then a man who was working with her handed us a map and told us where the buss station was. We have had wonderful service in all the other hotels in all the Asian countries we have visited so this was really disappointing to us.
However the hotel has an ok swimming pool and the breakfast wasn't too bad. But we will never stay here again,because of the staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just Terrible!
Entrance sad, rude staff, dirty stairs and dirty rooms, good breakfast and a nice place.
At least it is in a good position compared to other hotels ..
Warning! They do not take credit cards! We paid in dollars and the change was given to us in the dong, but applying a change from loan sharks!
I told him I would put a bad review, and I did it!

p.s: Hoi An is really wonderful. In front of the Pho Hoi An Riverside, there's a rental scooter very convenient!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pho Hoi Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Address: Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pho Hoi Riverside Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort is ideally located on Cam Nam Islet. Access to the center of Hoi An ancient town is by a beautiful bridge across the Hoi An River. It is in a very convenient location, close to trade centers, the post office, hospital and bank. Guests can come to the resort by road or waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pho Hoi Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pho Hoi Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Pho Hoi Riverside An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Hoi Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.