We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time just as good as the 1st” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Trails Resort

Save Saved
You added Hoi An Trails Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoi An Trails Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   276 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“second time just as good as the 1st”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This was our second trip to this area of Vietnam this hotel is great. Just out of the town 3km a nice walk in the evening to town, and the staff were great. I would stay here again no worries as we stayed here 2years ago it still did not disapoint.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    201
    61
    26
    6
See reviews for
106
202
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We were confirmed to stay at the River Beach Hotel but due to error either by the hotel or booking. com there was no room available on arrival. The staff were very apologetic and suggested we stay at Hoi An trails and called them to book a room.

First impressions of Hoi An trails were very positive. Very friendly and helpful reception staff and the resort had lovely gardens around the pool and a very relaxing feel. Rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. Not so relaxing was our first night with very noisy families in our block who shouted, slammed doors and ran around during the night, combined with cockerels at 3am and a chainsaw starting up at 7am. Staff understood that we were hoping for a relaxing 4 days and switched our room to a much quieter area of the hotel (had to live with the cockerel at 3am but this is Vietnam afterall ;)

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and tasty bar/pool food although didn't have dinner in the hotel. The trails roof top cafe didn't ever seem to be open nor were there staff at the pool bar or the riverside cafe which seemed strange but you could order food at the main bar to be brought to you.

The hotel is not in the centre of town but there are several shuttles a day and only $2 in a taxi. Sun loungers at the beach were a bonus but don't bother trying to eat at their beach restaurant - there was never any fruit juices/shakes and the service was lousy. Next door was great though and highly recommend their grilled prawns and fresh fish & chips.

Would definitely go back to the Hoi An Trails and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

After having read several scathing reviews, we were a little sceptical about this place. Howvever, this was soon dispelled. We had a nice room in the Oleander block with its own balcony overlooking the pool. The rooms in the main block facing the road would be noisier because of the busy road from Hoi An to the beach and one of the lovely staff told us that there were a couple of barking dogs as well. We had a quiet nights sleep each night.
The breakfast each morning was good with a good choice, the fresh fruit being the highlight. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We did not eat here much but found that their Pho Bo was as good as we had anywhere in Hoi An, albeit a little expensive. There is a couple of restaurants within walking distance, I wouldnt recommend Cocos which is just up the road.
It is a good idea to book the complementary bikes the day before as there is a limited number. The regular shuttle bus to town and the beach is good (and reliable) but dont be afraid to catch a cab as it only costs $Au2 and a motorbike is less.
Al in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Last year we stayed at Hoi An Trail with our three teenage daughters, this time we stayed with friends. Both times we enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and have plenty of space. The breakfast is good, nice selection, but the same each day. The pool is great surrounded by lush green gardens. However the internet access is poor. I will certainly return to Hoi An Trails it is excellent value for money!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We arrived at night and had no trouble with booking in. Our rooms (4) were all on the ground level near the bar. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful. We stayed for 7 nights and ate at different restaurants, keen to try lots of local food. We spent a lot of time in the pool and although the pool was a little old is was very refreshing, especially after a few hours shoppoing in town. Take a trip to the beach and make use of the bikes from the hotel. Used both Mis Lan and Miss Van from across the road, both were very friendly and laundry service was good value. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Adorable hotel, all staff very friendly. They have a complimentary shuttle to the beach and bus which is great and very helpful and the driver is fantastic, really sweet and kind. breakfast is great with a lot of choice and variety. Rooms are huge, although request one that isn’t overlooking the neighbour’s yard with the cockerel and the fighting dogs at three in the morning. Really lovely bath room with a huge bath and separate stand up open power shower unit, which was really great and powerful.
It really is a beautiful hotel, the pool is really relaxing and refreshing after a hard days shopping.
The welcome drink and fruit in the room is a really nice additional touch and I would certainly stay here again if I am ever in Hoi An again- which I hope will be soon.
There are two laundry services across the road Miss Lan and Miss Van. We used Miss Van-I think (the first one on the left with the smaller space). She was half the price of her neighbour $1 a kilo and very sweet, even if she shrunk our clothes a little (or maybe that was the noodles)
There is a great place for dinner the other side of the river called the riverside restaurant with amazing food and fantastic wine, it is also very clean which is not always the case.
Yaly is a must!!! Just watch out for the shark that tries to accost you on your way out and drag you to his mothers shop (who then becomes his sister after 10mins; we fell for it and were so unhappy with the stuff we got from him. Once he has your money forget about customer service.

But Hoi An Trails is a must for anyone visiting Hoi An and a trip to My Son is well worth it but take plenty of water...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmanova, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

It has a huge pool and the food and service are great. An extensive and delicious breakfast buffet was included in my $55 USD/night booking though Agoda. My "Tamarind" room was large, clean and well appointed with a pool view. Ly and Lan are most helpful at reception, and Linh is the dining room is a sweetheart. I like that the hotel is situated in a quiet spot on the beach road, Cua Dai, Mango Rooms features pan Asian cuisine with a spicy latin twist. The street food was fantastic: cau lau, a local noodle salad dish, with the best version available in the market; Hoi An pancake and crispy Banh My sandwiches with their contrasting flavors. Thank you Anthony Bourdain for your recommendations! Don't be afraid to interact with the girls selling trinkets on the beach, you'll enjoy surprisingly interesting conversations. The highlight of my trip was hanging out with Ha, a talented young tailor who works at Minh Phuong, 69 Phan Boi Chau Street, at the four corners in front of the bridge to Cam Nam.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoi An Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Trails Resort

Address: 276 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#15 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#23 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Trails Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Trails Countryside Resort provides a new approach of taking care of the requirements of guests. Whatever you want or need, we are there to ensure that everything is taken care of right down to the smallest details. Hoi An Trails Resort brings you to the local culture, the natural environment and particularly the normal life of Hoi An people, that you can feel in every facet of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Hoi An Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Trails Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Trails Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.