We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, spacious rooms, great pool, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Trails Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hoi An Trails Resort to your Saves list
Hoi An Trails Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   276 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious rooms, great pool, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights in early June and were very happy during our stay. We had a ground floor room near the pool and found the rooms to be clean, with plenty of space for the three of us. The seating area was very useful as a play area for our 2 year old and the bathroom was great too. The breakfasts were fine and the waiting staff we're very helpful. I lost our room key one day and Minh on reception was most helpful to us and very proactive, as we dithered about looking for it, we also found Thuy on reception to be very helpful, she was probably the best English speaker, a good communicator, answering all of our queries immediately and efficiently, as well as being an all round sweet person.
We ate here and the food was fine and we didn't find it expensive compared to European prices. There are 2 shops over the road which sell pretty much everything and do your laundry. We went to the shop on the right and our only tip is to ask for the price of everything and be very wary with the laundry prices, as they increased each time we took it over and yet the amount of washing remained the same, and wasn't always totally clean when you got it back. Maybe try both shops and compare. There are heaps of places to eat to the left and the right of the hotel, cocos to the left is a great place for a cheap beer by the river and to the right dingo deli was a great place for air conditioning and European/Aussie food ( although check the location as it may be moving) and also the red dragon restaurant, on the other side of the road next to the lotus hotel was fantastic value and good food, served by nice people.
My only negatives would be that the spa pedicure does not actually involve putting your feet in a spa, which was a bit strange, probably wouldn't do that again... And the pool bar rarely has staff in it. I can see why, it would be so hot and uncomfortable for a staff member to sit there all day, but the management need to sort it out to make it a useable area. (Although we did see a few resourceful people use the telephone at the bar to order drinks). Generally the hotel needs to have a stronger management presence, we spent a lot of time at the hotel due to having a small child and we found all the staff to be generally good, kind and willing to help, but without any real management interest. Not that we had any problems however, and we probably would return, but maybe during a less hot time of the year. Loved the free shuttle, no hard sell regarding tailors ( we went to bebe2 in the end and we were very happy with the result) and my husband used the bikes often, they had new ones bought in while we were there).

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room at the back of the complex I think in the sake wing. Was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    246
    79
    30
    8
See reviews for
128
262
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great stay here. I would not rate it as very good or average but good. The staff were extremely accommodating. It was quiet and clean with a lovely pool and cold jacuzzi, with massages at reasonable rates. Food and drinks were well priced and fresh and tasty. We were delighted with free bike usage and found it very easy to cycle to the beach and town. It is a 20 min slow cycle with my 9 year old into town and 10/15 min to beach. We were upgraded to a suite, which was very spacious and lovely, with lounge area and big balcony looking onto greenery. Just be aware of the free shuttle service to beach and town, it waits for no one! So be exactly on time. It also did not pitch one morning, so we caught a taxi home - only $6.00 and hotel refunded us.

Room Tip: 709 is private and quiet, away from pool and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

An interesting experience. On arrival we had to climb 3 floors to our superior room. We are in our 60s but the staff carried our 2 cases. We entered the room and initially were happy with size, layout etc. but guess what the a/ c was not efficient and as we lay on the bed we got hotter

So off I went. Sought an upgrade , was shown a deluxe room , accepted it and paid an extra $40 US discounted from 50 because of the a/c. Interesting enough 15 mins later another younger couple also rejected the room but didn't upgrade
Deluxe room was great albeit on the 3rd floor again. I was interested that no one else appeared to occupy ground floor units!
Room spacious and a/ c was great. As it turned out it was so hot and humid day and night that you had to leave it on . Don't know why they wouldn't have overhead fans to discount power costs
Pool huge but not cold unfortunately. Many people in chairs but no issues here as size of area large. Surrounds very pretty and all staff try to please. Got new towels etc twice daily even on 3rd floor

Receptionist , same girl was great. Was Concerned about us being bored over 5 days but her English was really good and nothing was too much trouble. I am now confused about how our accom at the start was managed yet she proved so much different. I thought she might have been upset with my request to change.

Shuttle to town centre was great and 1 tip here is don't be late. It departs both ends punctually

Breakfast was a bit disappointing. I gave it a miss at the end. My wife did enjoy it though as she tries everything

Went to the beach and used their area. Good if you can get past women selling at you and change room being a bit "Pongy". I enjoyed it more than the pool as it was more refreshing and our 3 hrs there went quickly as we engaged the sellers who are only trying to make a quid!

Finally. Hotel car to airport was $25 US . Seemed a bit steep but we valued the need to have ok , punctual transport and arrive at the airport without hassles

Ps- manager was always around checking on hotel cleanliness and staff performance. Good? Leave that to you!

Room Tip: Check you room and a/c before you settle. Gd floor would be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed six nights and thorougly enjoyed ourselves. Lovely friendly staff and nice large room. Nothing better than to cool off by the pool and enjoy a cold beer.Good buffet breakfast and nice meals as we ate there a few times.
Special thanks to Thuy at Reception and Phuong in the Dining area.
Beautifully ,maintained gardens that are a credit to the hardworking groundsmen.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Thay are all good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I'm still confused about my stay in this resort.
The good things : rooms are beautifully set,staff is very friendly, they have a nice garden, fresh fruit in the room. Also free shuttle to town and the beach. They clean the room twice a day.
Bad things: the aircon is very noisy, it's hard to fall asleep with it. The wifi connection is poor. The pool tiles are dirty, but the jacuzzi ones have green algae growing on them.
In the 2 days we stayed there, they came inside the room 3 times while we were inside. If they have a bell, I wonder why they don't use it,or at least they could knock on the door!
I won't recommend eating at the restaurant, it's overpriced and the food is the worst we had in Vietnam so far.
No restaurants or cafes close to the resort, but you can get a free bicycle or the shuttle to town and eat there.
Overall we had a good time, but I don't think I will come back.I think they could improve those details since it's not cheap at all to stay there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. Love position,free shuttle bus,swimming pool,friendly staff and the lush gardens.
The rooms are large but aging as is all the resort so needs a bit of tender loving care and would be up to 4 star.
Food,drinks,laundry,spa treatments and taxi to airport all expensive if order at resort.
Great restaurants across the road,laundry cheap also and can negotiate massage etc cheaper across the road so just go exploring it is fun.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Hoi An is a great little town, definitely worth spending more than the couple of days most people stay. In town and around it there so much to see!

and then there is Hoi An Trails, the absolute jewel in there! The hotel are is nice, you feel like you are in a garden, and the rooms are big! And after a long day biking/walking/exploring it's a wonderful feeling to sink it to that comfy bed!

And the staff in the hotel are so friendly and helpful, it feels like you are at home. Everyone is always smiling, always giving you nice tips on how to spend your days, or whatever you might need. A special thanks to Minh, Thuy and Tho in the reception, thank you for your tips, and your warm smiles.

Thanks a million, hope to see you again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Trails Resort

Address: 276 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Trails Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Trails Countryside Resort provides a new approach of taking care of the requirements of guests. Whatever you want or need, we are there to ensure that everything is taken care of right down to the smallest details. Hoi An Trails Resort brings you to the local culture, the natural environment and particularly the normal life of Hoi An people, that you can feel in every facet of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hoi An Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Trails Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Trails Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.