We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Trails Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hoi An Trails Resort to your Saves list
Hoi An Trails Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   276 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We got here at 10pm local time welcomed straight away with a drink all 13 of us showen to our rooms.
Food service had stopped but we were told about a place a short walk down the road (about 10 mins) they rang ahead to make sure they were open for us.
Breakfast is fantastic rooms are clean and huge.
Staff are very helpfull and friendly .
Over all one of the best places so far.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    230
    70
    28
    8
See reviews for
120
231
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had the rooms which were right at the back. There is loud music from outside in the day time and also smoke into rooms from surrounding houses. One day we could here chooks early in the morning. Rooms were spacious but poor lighting in the bathroom. As vegetarian breakfast it was extremely disappointing. When we complained they made us better food the next morning. There are few shops that do laundry across the road. Even though it says dollar a kilo(this is the standard price at Vietnam) we were stunned when we were charged $10.00. I went on the trust and only later to realise it was broken. They do not weigh in front of you and the water bottle is 4 times the price compared to a honest shopkeeper. Taxi is easy to obtain to go to main city area and is about $2 to $4 depending on the traffic. Taxi drivers strictly follow meters in Vietnam

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Trails for 4 nights in Nov. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival which was a lovely surprise. The room was large with a large bathroom (double tub), seating area and balcony. The room was clean and staff were always very friendly and accommodating.

The resort is about 4km from Hoi An itself, there are little to no hotels in the centre of Hoi An. There is a regular shuttle bus which we used (when full they will do two trips). Taxi's are only $2 and the hotel provides bicycles. It is on a busy road and the traffic (with constant beeping is quite loud).

Breakfast is a buffet, food is ok. Service is very good, wait staff very friendly. The amount of flies in the dining room was ridiculous, I realise this is between there was lots of trees but it really put me off my food.

The pool area was nice, well maintained. I didn't use the spa as there are lots in Hoi An and I didn't think it was very good value.

There is little around the hotel apart from other resorts. The hotel is half way between the beach and Hoi An. The 'beach club' that the Trails has is awful. Granted we went out of season and it may be better manned then but it was very budget. The beach itself is not even very nice, quite dirty.

Hotels in Hoi An are more expensive than most parts of Hoi An so expect to pay more for less.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Otway, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Loved the place. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was not great but eating in the town is excellent. We hired a bike from across the road and explored Hoi Ann. Loved our holiday. Been their twice and will go again.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. The family rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights as part of a "Selective Asia" tour. We had a mini suite in the main building which was very good, apart from a lack of storage space, cupboards etc. We couldn't unpack our suitcases completely.
The breakfast was adequate. The restaurant was a little pricey and the food overall was just OK.
The hotel grounds are very nice with a good swimming pool. The shuttle bus to town and the beach was a great service. Using the shuttle you got the best of the beach and town. At the beach you are dropped off at restaurants which have beach recliners and shades, the deal is if you use their recliners you are expected to at least buy a drink. We had a very good reasonably priced lunch there. There is a some hassle from beach vendors but if you are polite and smile when refusing there is no problem.
The service in the Hotel was good and the staff especially front of house were very attentive.
Overall I recommend this for a quiet relaxing stay in Hoi An. Not exactly a top class luxury Hotel but for the price it is good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Thomas, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

For some reason my friend got an upgrade to a suite. We we asked for a larger room and upgraded as well. It was like having a one bedroom apartment - couch and table where we could put our computers, outside patio. Even though the unit they gave us had no hot water (they offered to move us and we said no) we loved it. We just showed at the Spa. Weather was good so we swam daily for exercise in a gorgeous and very clean pool. I used the spa for a manicure and pedicure, breakfast was fine but the best part of the place is how relaxing it is. Yes, it's not "in town" but they have a shuttle which we used to get there and normally we just took a cab back for $3 - $4. Two of us rented bikes and went to the beach and really enjoyed that afternoon. I would go back to this place again.

Room Tip: Having the suite really made a difference for us so I could check out the price difference
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here two nights as part of a Titon Tour through Vietnam and Cambodia. If you have seen my other hotel reviews of this tour you will realise it could not last, and this is where it stopped.

First the good part, this is a beach resort in the most glorious setting midway between the town and the beach and has a certain traditional charm set amongst glorious gardens.

The hotel is far from new and gives the aura of being very tired. The rooms are large but dingy and badly in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was at best average, but the worst we have had on this tour. Once something went, that seemed to be that, the buffet was not replenished. Overall I did not feel the hotel was well managed.

Free internet access.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Trails Resort

Address: 276 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#26 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Trails Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Trails Countryside Resort provides a new approach of taking care of the requirements of guests. Whatever you want or need, we are there to ensure that everything is taken care of right down to the smallest details. Hoi An Trails Resort brings you to the local culture, the natural environment and particularly the normal life of Hoi An people, that you can feel in every facet of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hoi An Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Trails Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Trails Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.