We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class affordable hotel in Hoi An” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Trails Resort

Save Saved
You added Hoi An Trails Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Trails Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   276 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“First class affordable hotel in Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to the lovely historic town of Hoi An. the Hotel was picked at random, mainly because Agodo were offering special deals for this hotel and also because it looked so picturesque on their web-site. We loved it from the moment we arrived.....it was on the 29th of December so all the Christmas trimmings were still up and beautifully decorated both outside and inside the hotel. It is a traditional, atmospheric Vietnamese style hotel, with a good size, very pretty pool and spa and lush landscaped grounds. Our room was gorgeous, we had a deluxe room that was huge , with three steps leading down into a lounge and study area, beautiful black marble bathroom etc. However we did see the standard room whilst we were there, which is smaller but still very tasteful and beautifully furnished. We only had breakfast there so I can't comment on lunch and evening meals but the breakfast choice and quality was superb. There were choices in the breakfast buffet from all different countries, such as traditional British, Vietnamese, Italian, German, Thai etc - it was impossible to be bored with the breakfasts which were often more like lunch or dinner sets! The breakfast menu also changed daily, with new delights, apart from a few staples, like the British breakfast, cereals and fruit etc. The hotel is only a little way out from the old historic town, about 5 to 10 minutes by road, however there was a regular free courtesy bus that took you to either the historic town or the beach, where the hotel has it's own generous, pretty stretch of beach with sunbeds and huge palm parasols. So the hotel is very conveniently situated between the beach and the historic town. There were also complimentary bicycles if you needed them. A final word has to be said about the staff. To us, it doesn't matter how lovely and picturesque the hotel if the staff are rude or inefficient but here at Hoi An Trails the staff genuinely valued their guests and couldn't do enough for them. Everything was always accompanied by a smile and friendly conversation, and that was everyone, whether reception, housekeeping or maintenance etc. This could be because the Hoi An Trails is under the management of the wonderful manager we met there called Em Hai- a truly delightful lady who always checked we were happy with everything, always found time for a warm friendly chat and even came with us to the airport in the hotel shuttle bus to wave goodbye! Me and my husband have stayed in many hotels in many parts of the world, including 5 star resorts and spas but this definitely ranks as one of the two best hotels we have ever stayed in, even though it has a 4 star rating. To us , it has an official 4 star rating but we would give it a 5 star rating when it comes to decor, charm, cuisine and above all, first class genuine welcome an customer care, We are looking forward to going back there as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe room which was enormous and beautifully presented, but even though smaller t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    201
    61
    26
    6
See reviews for
106
201
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were lucky enough to be given a suite, including 2 bathrooms. Although situated at the front of the hotel over the entrance it was remarkably peaceful. The swimming pool area was thoroughly relaxing and the buffet breakfast had an excellent selection. There was a courtesy mini-bus into Hoi An which we used. It was very prompt. We used the laundry across the road to have some of our clothes laundered - an excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I shall start with a positive and there is really only one which is the deluxe room is rather spacious. Saying that, on this recent trip to Vietnam i have been staying at cheaper hotels where to be quite frank the room gave also been spacious and the service has been near 5 class.

Hoi An trails is a fairly big hotel. The look of the place is quite nice. However the room although spacious are cheaply finished.

The food is also some if the most average food I've eaten in Vietnam.

The most disappointing thing though with this hotel is the customer service. It's so unlike the rest of Vietnam. They do not care or take the time with their customers. If they to not understand they simply hang up the phone or walk away in Hope you just go away. They also give poor information. I heard many guests being given false information. The hotel has many staff so it's not a case of understaffed or over worked but just poor training and even poorer management.

I would strongly advise not staying at this hotel. I stayed at one hotel in hoi an for a third of the price and I am checking out earlier to go back there.

I was hoping for a treat and some comfort all I got was a stressful time. One huge disappointment. .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Flies on the Buffet Breakfast are a turn off, however the staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, large consisting of a patio with french doors, sunken sitting room, large bathroom with a separate shower.
Each wing is not connected to each other so in the rain you get wet moving to the reception or the restaurant. Food is fresh and tasty and not that expensive. Across the road you have Laundry and massage facilities much cheaper than the hotel. Another negative when windy is that doors seem to slam everywhere in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were 6 ladies travelling thru Vietnam and after spending time in Saigon (HCMC), Can Tho,and Danang, we were very surprised how peaceful the Hoi An Trails Resort was. The quiet from the very busy big cities was very welcomed. Although there were no elevators at this resort, the beautiful staircase more than made up for it. When we were at this resort there was a Ladies Night or maybe they called it a Women's Celebration but whatever it was, the hotel was geared up for it and the dining room that night was only for the celebrants. They let us know beforehand that that night's dinner would be diverted. However they had a special place set aside for all of the other guests complete with entertainment. and all of the very good food selections for the evening. The staff went out of their way to be extremely helpful.and accomodating on that night., and every other night we were there. The pool was great, and the food was very good. We took advantage of the free shuttle to the beautiful beach, a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. We would definitley stay there again and would recommend it to others. If you want a 5 star, top of the world experience, don't stay here. If you want to experience this town as a traveller should, you should stay here. We loved it because we got to feel and experince the country on a 4 star level with the help of the great staff, the beautiful grounds. and our large room. . We loved it!

Room Tip: There is a laundry service across the road but she seems to charge you according to how much money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

At first Hoi An Trails Resort & Spa (to use its full name) makes quite an impression: beautiful grounds, nice French Colonial style architecture and an enormous and nicely decorated room with a spacious and well-equipped bathroom and a front porch (we stayed in suite 3, for 4 nights).
And although our stay really was very agreeable there were enough minor shortcomings to prevent this from being a more than average review.
Breakfast, for example, was the worst (still not bad) we had during the whole of our trip in Vietnam: choice was (comparatively) limited and sometimes perishable food wasn't kept cold.
The hotel boasts its own private beach, but in fact it's a strip of beach adjacent to a restaurant and the hotel shuttles you there in about 10 minutes (still quite nice).
Warm water supply wasn't always reliable.
And even though, as later became apparent (and contrary to what they told us), there were still plenty of suites available for new arrivals, it wasn't possible to have a late checkout (of course we were prepared to pay for this).

Still: Hoi An Trials is a nice hotel and you can be assured of an agreeable stay (just don't expect to be blown away).

Room Tip: As there are lots of hotels and resort in Hoi An, have a good look around (for example on Tripadviso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are currently staying here and it is great, we were met with a welcome drink and cool towel and allowed to check In early. The room is spacious and beautifully decorated we are staying in the Sake wing. The staff are absolutely delightful, breakfast is great with lots of choice. The pool is very refreshing In the hot weather and you can get a drink and snacks at the pool bar. Overall a great place to stay, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: A deluxe room in The Sake wing Room 503 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoi An Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Trails Resort

Address: 276 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#16 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Trails Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Trails Countryside Resort provides a new approach of taking care of the requirements of guests. Whatever you want or need, we are there to ensure that everything is taken care of right down to the smallest details. Hoi An Trails Resort brings you to the local culture, the natural environment and particularly the normal life of Hoi An people, that you can feel in every facet of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hoi An Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Trails Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Trails Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.