We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town and great for groups!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Van Loi Hotel to your Saves list
Van Loi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Alexandra-Mooloolaba, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Close to town and great for groups!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I Stayed here on a contiki tour. The rooms are everything you need with a small balcony. Clean and comfortable. The pool is lovely and the attaching eight ball table was welcomed by myself and friends along with the bar. I spent some time with Lilly at the day spa. Please go say hello! one of the nicest ladies I've meet whilst being in Viet Nam. The hotel is very convenient to town. Just rent a bicycle and you'll be there in 2 minutes. Hoi An is beautiful and i have the fondest memories from this hotel, spa and town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    123
    39
    20
    10
See reviews for
47
76
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights during a Contiki trip in which we spent time in Hoi An, which has now become one of my favorite visited cities on the planet. Without going on a diatribe about how perfect this city is, I have to attribute much of my dream-like stay in this town to the hotel as well.

Check in was straight forward. My room had a beautiful balcony view of the swimming pool and the room itself was quite spacious, very clean, and had ice cold air conditioning which was a must for Hoi An at the time of year I went (April). The room came with a safe, as well as the usual Vietbnamese hotel accoutrements of a toothbrush, toothpaste, etc. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was updated and very clean.

One small complaint - my key never worked. I had to always ask a worker to unlock my door for me because there was some sort of trick to turning the key the right way. Can't say that was enjoyable when I was in a rush to go to the bathroom! But overall, this is a small point.

The breakfast is included and is on the rooftop deck, which gives you a splendid view of the lush, green countryside. The food selection itself was surprisingly vast and included your standard toast, to an omelet station. I was impressed and satisfied. The location of the hotel is quite good as well, mind you, everything is walking distance. This hotel is just across the bridge from the main small town which is super rustic and which makes you feel like you literally stepped back in time, about 100 years back in time, the moment you walk across the bridge.

There is a great and cheap laundry service down the street as well as a moped rental. I won't even get into how gorgeous the city is. For those who don't like stairs, which this hotel has a lot of, fortunately there is an elevator. It is a very rustic and romantic hotel and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with a group. Myself and one of the other girls had to get our room changed bc of the strong smell of mold. Definitely do not stay in rooms 101 and 102 by the pool. Wifi doesn't work in room. Walking distance to everything. Has an on site spa. Breakfast was ok. Outside of hotel was nice but rooms were very old. Wouldn't recommend

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I love coming to this Hotel, were the staff treat you like there family, everthing is first class they even gave me a birthday cake, have been out to dinner with them, miss Lee at the reception is the warmist person you will ever meety my wife & I went out with her & her family, we have been to there homes for dinner everthing you will love these people, they ring me when I go back to Australia to make sure I had e safe trip

Room Tip: stay as long as you can & savor every moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A brilliant hotel, we booked into another hotel that day. We weren't to pleased so checked out and found this gem. The staff very brilliant. We were trying to get down to Nha Trang just after Tet and everywhere was telling is no way. They found a bus for us that was leaving in a hour and really helped us to get there. Highly recommend it, well worth the stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were booked there with our Intrepid 10-day tour. Large room with extra single bed with window and balcony. Wi-Fi problematic on our floor but good in the lobby. Bathroom was good. Friendly service from staff and good breakfast. Don't know what the rate was since it was part of our tour. Don't expect 5-star quality in this adequate 3-star hotel and you'll be satisfied. 20 minute walk to the old quarter. The cloth shop next door (Thu Hà) has a pleasant/friendly owner. Not as pushy as the shops in the old quarter and still offering overnight service. I'd go back to that hotel if I went back to Hoi An.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

a very rewarding expereience in Hoi an
Very friendly staff and soft bed . Ly and staff very good.
Breakfast also good good location for walking into town for eating. Large room with good views. Room404.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the romantic location on the bank of Thu Bon river, The Van Loi hotel Hoi An boasts the historical busy commercial port from the 15th century, blended with sweet corn fields fertile. With only a 10 walk, guests can reach the city centre and Hoi An ancient town. At the hotel's terraces, a fabulous, breathtaking view of the ancient town and the green surrounding areca forest await guests. Furthermore, Marble Mountains, Cua Dai beach, Cham island, Thu Bon river are there for guests to enjoy the scenery. Within the hotel, guests are provided with an array of modern facilities and great amenities. All of the 72 guestrooms at the hotel provide all the amenities one would need from a hotel in its class. With the facilities of television, air conditioning, balcony deck, mini bar and telephone, including varieties such as bar, beauty parlor, safe deposit box, laundry service, restaurant and shops are provided on-site at this great Hoi An hotel. All in all, hotel's stylish facilities and great service ensure a memorable stay for all guests who visits Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Loi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.