We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Van Loi Hotel to your Saves list
Van Loi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

About 15 minutes walk from the centre of Hoi An, this hotel has lovely architecture and décor. Rooms are large and comfortable. We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour group. There is a nice pool to relax in or lounge around. The walk into Hoi An is very pleasant and quite picturesque.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Writer,

Our Van Loi feel very encouraged & motivated with your great comments on everything during your recent stay with us , but we will try to better and our aim is to make any guests who select our Van Loi Hotel as home away from home.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you back with us in the coming time.
Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    103
    35
    18
    10
See reviews for
37
71
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel has lovely architecture, is close to the main area of Hoi An - close to tailors, etc. The pool was lovely. The rooms were large and comfortable. However many did not have even a kettle or cup to have a drink. The security safes were not even connected - anyone could pick them up and take off with them. We locked our passports, etc in our cases. When you asked for things like a kettle they often did not turn up and you had to ask again. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful and some were not. One of our group was having a massage in the hotel and a casual staff member came into the room and took money from her bag, whilst another staff member was massaging her. My friend knew exactly how much money she had in her bag and the manager returned her money but it was a horrid experience. Another young couple had an iphone stolen in the foyer, within 5 minutes of arriving at the hotel. The massages in Vietnam are wonderful however I suggest to everyone having massages anywhere in Vietnam to only take the amount of money for the massage and any tip you may want to leave - do not take your bag.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Writer ,

Warmest greeting from Van Loi hotel.

We would like to say thank you for your trip at Van Loi hotel and We really regret about your trouble you had at our hotel

About not having a kettle in your room, all our rooms are arranged a kettle. However, once day before you checked in, a few kettle had broken , including your room. We really apologize because we did not inform and request a new kettle for you.

Regarding the money you lost while being in massage room and Spa manager sent you the money you lost . We are sorry for this problem, and that employee had been fired after that a few days. This is not only you but also we feel very surprised. But one thing I am sure that it will not repeat again.

About young couple lost iphone in 5 minutes at lobby, We are wondering that you have actually witnessed the incident or you just listen to someone told. we really did not hear any guests complaining about this problem. And this problem never happened in our hotel. I hope you edit these issues.

In any rates, since you are not thoroughly satisfied with your stay and that is our mistake due to whatsoever reason. Please accept our sincere apology and we still look forward to welcoming your family back with us .

Yours very truly,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour and would not recommend it. Breakfast average, rooms ok but leaking aircon, dodgy wifi, location not the greatest..you can do better in Hoi An.

Pool is a nice touch but staff have no idea what 'service' is!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in this hotel. The staff were nice and friendly though not very proficient in English. It has a very nice pool area to chill out. We requested for quieter rooms and got the rooms at the back. Our corner rooms is the largest; it can actually sleep 4 and has intricately carved wooden frames. However Wifi was poor in the room; we had to step out into the hallway to get a signal. The hot water shower is erratic during the 5 days. Several times we had to make a call to housekeeping to inform them there's no hot water available and they ask us to wait 10-15 minutes (I think they turn it off to conserve energy). The tap water has a certain smell which we didn't quite like, so we resorted to boiling mineral water or filling up during breakfast.

Breakfast was touch and go; variety was almost the same during the days we were there. On certain days when they had more hotel guests, there's more variety to choose from, other wise the portion laid out were small and poor and sometimes they don't top out if food runs out.
The hotel is a good 15 minutes walk to the local market and Hoi An town; it is certainly not ideal for walking in the hot sweltering weather. Hiring a bicycle would be a good option (VND 20,000 per day) just in front or across the hotel. However forget about riding the bicycle on a Saturday night as traffic is horrendous and you'll be pushing your bicycle most of the time with the amount of people on the streets.
Overall I would try other hotels for the experience and location nearer to Hoi An town next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel has a lot of character with the impressive carvings, mother of pearl picture, furniture and beautiful wood throughout. I was told the owner was a carpenter and responsible for most if not all of it?? To call him a carpenter is a bit of an understatement if true.

Our room was a reasonable size and the bathroom was okay - shower curtain wasn't exactly clean but overall it was alright. The buffet breakfast included was quite good and the staff were generally friendly and spoke good English which was convenient for us.

We didn't get to try the pool out but it looked inviting. I quite liked the the large faux stone dragon curling around the edge.

I would stay here again - it's a reasonable 2-3 star hotel for the price. Not sure how it compares to other offerings as I didn't do any research on the area - it was chosen for us.

Although not in the centre of Hoi An, we got to appreciate that it is on a relatively quite street and only a short walk or bike ride away from the main area. Just to the right of the hotel is Mr T - he hires bikes at a very reasonable rate of just a few dollars a day and can access an electric bike if needed. He also had a laundry service available for about $2/kg from memory (wash and dry only). Much cheaper than the hotel rate and I can vouch for the service - everything was clean and nicely folded. The new t-shirts I bought even came back the same size.

Note, the main thumbnail photo for this hotel doesn't actually look like it - at least not from the front where I viewed it. If you look through the other thumbnails the one that actually shows the hotel name Van Loi is what I recall it to look like.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Lovely place with character
Room spacious and comfortable and clean
Bathroom fine (shower pressure weak on 5th floor...)
Pool area very pleasant

Staff very nice and efficient (once you make the first step...)

Excellent value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universe
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were happy with the price and enjoyed staying in the quieter side of Hoi An for 7 nights. We arrived starving at 9.30pm and they made us fresh spring rolls at the restaurant! So very welcome. Otherwise the service is ok, and you have to ask for things sometimes. One important tip- Do Not let reception keep your passport! Most hotels ask for this but they shouldn't, as it's a huge security risk so just tell them you need it back straight away. They can photocopy it and give it back if they want the details. Always carry them on you. We didn't bother using the safe and used the ATM. You get better prices using dong.

Our room was super romantic (405). There was a working lift and the view is better from the higher rooms. The breakfast buffet is excellent but get there early. We loved the early morning breeze on the rooftop restaurant which has a great view and popped up there often for a coffee. It was not always easy to get meals for room service or from the restaurant (limited menu) but this is Vietnam so go with the flow. When we did, we ordered the fresh spring rolls again- delicious. You get 2 complementary water bottles a day which you need as you can't use the tap water for brushing your teeth, and good for walking into town. Highly recommend getting a fresh coconut cut up at the market to drink if you are hot (share 1 between 2 people). The hotel pool isn't huge but good enough and is a welcome relief from the heat. Great little fish pond on the side.

We walked to the old city daily for lunch, sightseeing and dinner and it was not a problem (5 minutes to the bridge then 5 minutes to old town). Had our laundry done by friendly Mr Giau- just before you get to the bridge to cross to old town on the left- and hired a bike to go to the beach from him as well. There is a bunch of ladies that eye you like hawks when you walk out of the hotel (they are just opposite) and badger you to buy from them which kind of put us off. Don't buy souvenirs from the lobby, way overpriced and can be found in old town if you look around. Also, just book taxi and tours from independent people as these guys put a surcharge.

As we were flying late in the day we paid for half a day so we could leave later and this worked really well. Great to have a shower before hitting the road.

Don't expect 5 star service when paying 3 star prices and remember that service means different things in different countries. We were happy with our stay but next time we might split the stay between a couple of different places to experience a different side of Hoi An- like a few days closer to the beach. Riding the bike was a bit scary- road rules are more like suggestions in Vietnam!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 405 and seemed to hit the jackpot as friends stayed in other rooms that were not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the romantic location on the bank of Thu Bon river, The Van Loi hotel Hoi An boasts the historical busy commercial port from the 15th century, blended with sweet corn fields fertile. With only a 10 walk, guests can reach the city centre and Hoi An ancient town. At the hotel's terraces, a fabulous, breathtaking view of the ancient town and the green surrounding areca forest await guests. Furthermore, Marble Mountains, Cua Dai beach, Cham island, Thu Bon river are there for guests to enjoy the scenery. Within the hotel, guests are provided with an array of modern facilities and great amenities. All of the 82 guestrooms at the hotel provide all the amenities one would need from a hotel in its class. With the facilities of television, air conditioning, balcony deck, mini bar and telephone, including varieties such as bar, beauty parlor, safe deposit box, laundry service, restaurant and shops are provided on-site at this great Hoi An hotel. All in all, hotel's stylish facilities and great service ensure a memorable stay for all guests who visits Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Loi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.