We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ha An Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ha An Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ha An Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   06-08 Phan Boi Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Write a Review

1,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    740
    213
    51
    19
    9
See reviews for
97
611
65
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

Great, small hotel with excellent service - they have 4 computers with free Internet access, free bike hire and a superb breakfast buffet. Would have liked to stay a little longer, to enjoy the sun in the nice little garden and the gfeneral atmosphere of the place. High standard of cleanliness too.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

My wife and I are one week into a 3 week stay at the Ha An, so this is by way of a progress report (I'll post again later if I'm allowed). To explain - we've been to Vietnam three times before and have "done' all the tourist spots, most more than once - this time we both wanted to chill out with a pile of books!.
This hotel is all or indeed even better than we expected from other reviews. Breakfast is terrific, seemingly neverending. The restaurant has a good range of moderately priced dishes, both for lunch and dinner. The staff are friendly, efficient and with generally very good English. Reception staff are great problem solvers. The room we have is quite large, bright and cheerful, and has its own computer. This, however, a day or two ago developed a severe case of the dreaded blue screen of death a few minutes after it was switched on. Within 30 minutes of letting the Reception know there was a "mechanic" in our room whose fingers flew at a pace Bill Gates would never have dreamt possible and lo and behold we had a totally refreshed machine. Ask for your favourite brand of software and there it was! The hotel has a very fast broadband wireless network and the laptop we brought with us works like a charm. The only fly in our ointment so far is a disappointing foray into prescription glasses (my advice - don't!). Without being asked, Reception took on the role of mediator - play is still in progress!
The hotel is very quiet at night and is well situated for the Old Town. The Beach is around US$3 away by taxi. Bicycles are free, however, for the fitter and braver!

  • Liked — Very friendly helpful efficient staff
  • Disliked — Lack of a pool (but we knew this and the compensation is the lack of ankle-biters!)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

We stayed at the Ha An resort for 3 nights in June and had a fabulous stay! They offered a 30% low season discount so our room was about $30. The room was fabulous and a tremendous value. It was clean and nicely appointed with a fridge, phone, DVD player, fresh fruit, rain forest shower etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful in all matters. As I sit here writing this review on their free computers, one of the staff randomly brought me a complimentary ice tea (this has happened often). There are also complimentary bicycles for going to the market (two blocks away) or the beach (~4km). The location is not ideal, but it isn't bad either. It is on the side of town towards the beach and has several descent restaurants around it. Our $30 also includes a great breakfast buffet.

All in all, we've had a fabulous time here and would come back in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed here after reading the reviews on this site and we were thoroughly pleased with our experience. Such a great value for our money ($30 USD per night)! The breakfast is an excellent buffet, the location is great for easy access to old city and the staff are all very pleasant and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Charm, details, breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

This is just the best. Beautiful accommodation, beautiful food and above all beautiful people. The service was superb, the location a few minutes walk from the Old Town but still quiet. A real oasis.
Five star service for a two star price

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

We booked two nights in a superior room with shared breezeway balcony from home by e-mail and our reservation was honored with no problems. Likewise our prearranged taxi pickup in Da Nang went well, but with a small but fairly significant (to us) hitch.

We had prearranged a stopover at the Champa Museum in Da Nang enroute to Hoi An, at a slight extra charge, but the taxi driver seemed mystified when we reviewed the plan with him. Neither his English nor our Vietnamese was up to the challenge of sorting it out properly, so we finally gave up on the museum. But then the driver WAS quite insistent that we stop off at one of the numerous sculpture studios at Marble Mountain, which are clearly a time-honored part of the local tourist assembly line. We frankly had no interest in the establishment, especially as a feeble stand-in for the Champa Museum and in the intense early afternoon heat, but thinking he himself might need a stop we agreed it was OK for just 5 minutes. We were immediately approached by several salespeople eager to sell us 6' tall multi-ton marble lions, even more massive Buddhist and Christian religious statues, and when the goofiness of the whole idea (marble kitsch as a poor substitute for gorgeous Champa masterpieces) reduced us to giggles and we politely demured with "Beautiful but no thank you -- won't fit in our luggage", the staff assured us that they could ship these items home for us easily. We resisted and corralled our driver, who was obviously hunkering down for a longer break.

The Ha An receptionist seemed genuinely surprised to hear how the pickup had gone, saying she had reviewed the museum request with the driver (or his company? not sure) just that morning. They offered to return us to the museum the following day at no cost, but we declined. (We saw it later on our own enroute to Hue by car and it was well worth it.)

Other than that, we very much liked the Ha An. Its location is excellent, in the quiet French residential area just past the market. It was easy to walk all over town, or when the heat got to be too much for us, to catch a cyclo for $1-2. Our room was lovely and peaceful, and we especially enjoyed the DVD/CD player on which we played a variety of lovely traditional Vietnamese music CD's which we purchased at a shop in the old town for $3-4 each. The in-room computer was also handy, though the fact that it was stand-up only, leaning over the luggage shelf to boot, put a crimp in my back and thus in my use of it. The buffet breakfast was exceptional, the best we've had anywhere on our trip other than the Bangkok Marriott's groaning spread. The local specialties (including various VN dumplings of the dim sum genre, with the offerings changing daily), as well as Western foods and tourist-trail classics like banana pancakes with honey, were very tasty and nicely presented. The staff were all friendly and polite, the garden inviting.

We would have stayed for our entire 6 days in Hoi An, but we had booked only two and kept our plans open to see what serendipity brought. We knew there were many good options in Hoi An (almost too many good ones to make a decision, ranging from very modestly priced to flash, and we were up for anything) and we wanted to check them out before committing to the whole 6 days. As it turned out, we were glad we had, as we just couldn't handle Ha An's lack of a swimming pool in the April heat. Other people, or ourselves at a more temperate time of year, might have no difficulty with that, and it makes us sound like a couple of pansies, but try as we did we just could not manage to get truly comfortable without a full-body dunk. We also had hopes of finding a softer bed than Ha An's. Bruisers are the norm in Viet Nam, as we have learned, but Ha An's was even less welcoming than most. (As it turned out, most beds on the rest of our trip have been almost as hard as Ha An's, but theirs still ranks worst for us. Needless to say, your mileage may vary.) And while we were at it, we wished for an easy chair or two, as the ones in Ha An's room and balcony were attractive but not very comfy for reading, writing letters or just listening to the cicadas.

All in all, we would probably return to Ha An if the weather were milder and we weren't planning to spend middays lounging about at the hotel, but in the end we caved in to our pool-lust. We moved just a few yards away to the next-door Life Resort, totally seduced by its infinity pool with a view of beautiful gardens and a quiet stretch of the river, and were as content as could be for the rest of our still too-short time in Hoi An.

  • Liked — Quiet location, great breakfast
  • Disliked — No pool, hard beds and chairs
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ha An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha An Hotel

Address: 06-08 Phan Boi Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ha An Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet place in a quiet town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Ha An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha An Hoi
Hotel Ha An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha An Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.