We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ha An Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ha An Hotel to your Saves list
Ha An Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Conveniently located boutique hotel near the old city center of Hoi An. Free bycicles available. Good restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    251
    59
    20
    9
See reviews for
103
689
79
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Everything you have read on TripAdvisor about the Ha An is true - it's a great place to stay.
Especially because:
The breakfasts are the best we have had in Vietnam, and we've been here over 3 weeks.
The location is close to the centre of town.
Rooms are large and clean.
Air conditioning is great - essential in June!

The only downside is that there's no pool, and it was hot, damned hot when we were in Hoi An.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

The Ha An hotel was a fantastic place to stay! We stayed for 3 nights and were upgraded on arrival to a superior room. The buildings and garden were beautiful and our room was lovely and spacious with king size bed with white bed linen. There was a lovely ensuit with rain shower, and there was a fantastic breakfast included each morning. The hotel is right in town and you can go next door and use the pool at the Life Resort (10 USD). I recommend eating at the Mango Rooms, which is fantastic!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Ha An Hotel in mid-May for just 2 nights and wished we would have stayed longer - not just because of how comfortable we were at the Ha An, but also because Hoi An was our favorite city in Vietnam. My top 3 comments....

1. Similar to many other Trip Advisor users, I chose the HaAn because of the favorable reviews and I agree 100% with everything I read. The place is charming and quaint, the breakfasts are diverse with all you can eat high quality food, the location is good, the rooms/bathrooms are spotless and the free use of bikes is a definite plus. We have zero complaints about the hotel except for maybe #2, below...
2. I wouldn't book a transfer to/from the airport with the HaAn unless you're arriving late at night. I don't remember the specific $'s, but similar to other hotels, they were at least 30-50% higher than getting a taxi or making transfer arrangements with a local tour operator.
3. Not a comment on the HaAn, but on the tailors in the area. I'd read in several places that although they were more expensive, that Yaly Couture was a good choice for custom clothes....but I don't recommend them at all. They were very busy and rushed me through all of my fittings - they also seemed annoyed when I asked them to slow down and let me look at the stitching, workmanship, etc. For my final fitting, I made the mistake of assuming they'd fixed what I'd asked and didn't open up the sealed package they put my clothes in to check before I left - it was only when I got back to the US that I realized they didn't do what I asked...therefore defeating the purpose of custom tailoring. And they were definitely more expensive than other locations. My husband went to A Dong instead, another tailor that was recommended through our readings and from other travellers we met in Vietnam. Although they, too, were a little more expensive than others, he had a VERY positive experience. The staff at A Dong was wonderful and were very patient during his fittings - he's very meticulous and started to actually feel guilty about the number of changes he was asking for over his repeat fittings....their smiling reply was along the lines of "no problem sir, we will make as many changes as you want - you're the customer and that's what custom tailoring is for!" This is the complete oppposite of my experience at Yaly....I would not choose them despite what you read or hear - as I was waiting for them during one of my fittings (they were 15 minutes late), another customer waiting/sitting next to me had similar, unfavorable feedback about Yaly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I arrived in Hoi An via bus from Hue. I arrived at nearly 7PM, and despite a much earlier check-in time, my room was not available and was asked to wait for an hour. This wouldn't be all that bad, but this was the only location in which I was required to give my credit card information at the time of booking. I was told that they follow their booking schedule strictly and therefore the room could not be booked without a guarantee of some payment in case of cancellation. Great double standard. I was able to book literally 10 other hotels in the country without this information as well as a $600 Ha Long Bay trip.

Once in my room, the place was absolutely perfect. The hotel itself is well maintained and the staff, for the most part, were helpful. The beds are nice (but because they are two twins squeezed together, they have a dead spot in the exact middle), the bathroom is large with tub-separated shower, and the breakfast is incredibly diverse. I thought the location was quite good. Despite being at the edge of town, it is quiet and only a 7-10min walk away from the central market.

A variety of tours can be booked through the hotel, but they are marked up significantly! I booked a trip to My Son (which in retrospect, I would pass on), for $6 with boat ride. I believe the hotel wanted $9 (which is a 50% mark up!).

The laundry service was expensive and took an incredibly long time to arrive, even after I requested it, I was told to check my closet and call back. I called back later and said it wasn't there and still had to wait for some time to get it.

I wanted to go to place called Red Door or something like that for dinner and the hotel knew of it and called a taxi for me, which was quite nice. Unfortunately, it is at the edge of town and was closed. I was stranded in an area without taxis. Luckily, I had taken down the number of the taxi I took and was able to get back, only having wasted 100K VND and an hour and a half. It annoyed me that the hotel knew of this place (I think they might book cooking classes there) but was unaware that the restaurant was closed for dinner.

There were many little instances that angered me and I would have loved to rate the hotel lower than I did. But the simple fact remains: Despite its price and inconsistent service, Ha An is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful area. It is likely my annoyances were one offs.

BTW, I ate at this place called Casa Verde, maybe? And I highly recommend it. It is close to Mango Rooms down the street maybe 15min (or 10K VND ride on motorbike). The places across the river are also nice places to eat at for significantly cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Our two night at the Ha An Hotel were among the most pleasing of our 16 nights in IndoChina. We had a deluxe room overlooking the courtyard. We could not stop marveling at all the niceties of the room: decor, snacks, tea, DVD, laptop computer, silk robes (de rigeur in HoiAn, I guess), beautiful bathroom, flowers multiple places -- it just seemed like one nice thing after another. In the U.S., we could have paid $400 a night and not have had such a lovely room. Location is perhaps ideal for Hoi An: about an 8 minute walk west of the market, on a quiet street (by that point, at least) leading to the beach area. Several laundries across the street, at about 1/3 the hotel's prices.
Amazing included breakfast, in range of choices, and in quality -- perhaps the best anywhere. We also had dinner there one evening. We liked the looks of the evening's special on the chalkboard outside. We waited a little, but the result was well worth it, because it was cooked-to-order for us! They even changed the dessert for my wife without any debate or additional charge. Even if you typically avoid hotel restaurants, do not hesitate to take dinner here!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

I stayed for two nights. The room was very pleasant, with a comfortable bed and good bathroom. They tried to go out of their way with extra touches, such as rose petals sprinkled around, but as a single male, it seemed wasted. Ladies would like it though.
The location was good - the street was quiet and there was little traffic in the area (ancient city) because it was restricted. It felt very safe at night.
Buffet breakfasts were fantastic - I especially liked that they cooked omelette personally for you to your taste.
I appreciated their free bike loan - I rode 4 km to the local beach which was really worthwhile.
THe room was not ready when I arrived 9around 1 pm), but they did offer a drink while I waited.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ha An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha An Hotel

Address: 6-8 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#11 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ha An Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet place in a quiet town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Ha An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha An Hoi
Hotel Ha An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha An Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.