We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel experience in our Vietnam holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ha An Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ha An Hotel to your Saves list
Ha An Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 Reviews
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The best hotel experience in our Vietnam holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

The Ha An Hotel really deserves its current Travel Adviser number one ranking in our opinion - great atmospphere, great rooms, totally clean, and a great downtown location. To top it off, because I mentioned that my wife was having her birthday, on the second day we found flowers and a birthday cake in our room when we returned from a day out.
The restaurant and breakfast meals are excellent too.

We won't think twice about booking here again - loved it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    230
    57
    19
    9
See reviews for
101
650
72
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed at the Ha An for 6 nights in the end of our trip in Vietnam, in order to relax and enjoy the beach after having travelled so much. The great reviews of this hotel is what made us choose it, and we were not disappointed - the location is superb, the rooms very clean and cozy, and the garden is beautiful. We were a bit disappointed by the staff's attitude though - upon arrival, we were given a small map of the town and told that if we wanted to know anything, we should just ask...?! Many of the staff didn't speak English very well, and every morning we had to struggle in order to get a coffee and juice, since most of the time they only brought half of what we ordered, or brought drinks only for one of us. We did notice that staff in Hoi An in general were less polite and caring than in the North of Vietnam, so it could be that they're just spoiled by the large crowds of tourists in town. As a last remark - some of the bikes offered by the hotel were quite old and unsafe due to problems with the brakes, so be careful.
All in all, we had a good stay at the Ha An, but for this price we expected a bit better service, especially given their reputation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I stayed at the Ha An for four days and found it to be a truly nice place to stay. Super clean and the rooms are some what unique. The shower was like a rain forest with a small platform over rocks on the shower floor and live green plants along one wall of the shower. Lots of live flowers in the room. The buffet breakfast has lots of fresh fruits and eggs or pho to order. Free high speed Internet in the restaurant. Close enough to the center of town without any of the noise. Bikes are provided by the hotel and they were new and in good condition. Very good air conditioning. I came back to the room to get an umbrella (the hotel provides them in a stand outside each room) and saw the cleaning staff preparing the room. One lady was ironing the bottom sheet on the bed to make sure there were no creases or wrinkles as the bedding was changed. Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel. I have been to Hoi an quite a few times in the past and have stayed at a number of different hotels, but the Ha an is the best.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Evelyn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We enjoyed our two night stay in this pretty hotel with helpful staff and a wonderful breakfast spread. The flowers in the room were a lovely touch and the staff were all very friendly and happy to help with any enquiries. The welcome drink was delicious and refreshing after the car ride fron Da Nang. I thought the location was perfect as we had a nice little walk into town whenever we wanted to look around, shop or eat out. The only thing the hotel lacks is a swimming pool. The internet was the fastest we experienced in Vietnam and with 5 or 6 computers you never had to wait. The bicycles were very popular with hotel guests although we never rode one. I would be very happy to return to Hoi An again some day and would definately stay at the Ha An.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

hotel room was very clean and comfortable. although the layout was very annoying at times, esp. the low shower head. staff were friendly but a little introverted, couldn't really help with organising trips. Breakfast was a buffet which was good, lots of choices. This was just at the higher end of our budget and the most expensive hotel for our stay in s.e. asia and i guess i just expected better "friendlier" service. It is very quiet though so we did get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed two nights, and were very pleased. The beds were comfortable as was the in-room temperature. We loved the relaxing atmosphere so much we bought some local mulberry wine and sat in the garden and drank it along with eating the fruit form the lovely fruit basket. Breakfast was not as fabulous as other reviews led me to believe. Especially the croissants were dissappointing. It was good and varied day to day. It was fantastic how they had local food offerings every morning as well.
We were very pleased with the assistance we recieved in trying to coordinate our pick up by our next hotel's shuttle. Things were complicated by some roadwork at our pick up location and the front desk manager placed mulitple calls to our other hotel to resolve things.
The only tiny criticism I have is that we didn't feel that our reception was as warm as our previous hotel. Nonetheless we had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our hotel's proximity to the best aspects of Hoi An including non-touristy areas to walk or bike in. One downside of the town of Hoi An is that there wasn't that much to see, just a few small sights and tiny museums. I think it's a shame how everything is overridden with the multitude of touristy tailor and shoe shops...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful, relaxing time. The rooms face a courtyard where you can relax in the shade in a hammock. Our room was filled with fresh flowers-- even the rain shower had hanging plants. The hotel is a short walk to town and the staff provided us with a helpful map with local attractions. The options for breakfast were extensive, with many types of tropical fruits and breads as well as hot items. The staff even put together a box of croissants and fruit for us to take with us when we checked out early in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ha An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha An Hotel

Address: 6-8 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#9 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ha An Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet place in a quiet town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Ha An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha An Hoi
Hotel Ha An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha An Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.