We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ha An Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ha An Hotel to your Saves list
Ha An Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in a great location, close to the main area in Hoi An. We stayed in a second floor room that had a comfy soft bed and one of nicer "western" bathrooms that we have seen. The staff was friendly and the breakfast in the morning was great, plentiful with both traditional and western options.
the only issue is when we initially arrived to the room there was a strong mildew odor that we complained about. They could only offer a more expensive room as another option (40 dollars more) even though they knew it was a problem. We looked at moving to another hotel, however they did have housekeeping come back and it did clear up for the most part. We did notice a small drain in the bathroom that after we filled with water seemed to resolve the smell. Maybe fumes from the sewage system? Not completely sure where it came from but we did not seem to be the first to complain of the problem. Just be aware that this may be an issue!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    251
    59
    20
    9
See reviews for
103
689
79
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect value for money within walking distance of town but very quiet and lovely. Very nice rooms with exceptionally clean bathrooms and beds. great breakfast and staff are perfect. We stayed for six nights and biked to the beach everyday and walked to town every night. just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved the Ha An hotel and it was a real treat to stay there for a week as part of our 6 month trip. Vietnam is generally great value and the Ha An is no exception as although it was more expensive than other places we had stayed, the quality of the grounds, rooms and breakfast meant the price was definitely justified. We had one of the cheapest rooms but still had our own private courtyard and petals and fresh flowers decorating it! The bathroom was beautiful and the computer/ TV set up great. It is also in a great location, close to the action but far enough out not the be too noisy. We also made use of the free bikes and headed to the beach which is worthwhile. Altogether highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were travelling with a friend who had stayed here before who raved about it and she didn't exaggerate. The hotel was just as she described it, a boutique hotel in a French Colonial setting surrounded by lush gardens complete with billiard table and hammocks and meticulously tended by staff both inside and out. The decor of the rooms was exceptional with huge beds and cool white covers scattered with red rose petals on our arrival. The bathrooms were quite unique with the shower set in a pebble garden with hanging plants. Every time we had a shower they replaced the towels which were huge and thick and embossed with the hotel name. The location was excellent just on the edge of the town centre which made it perfect to get about. If you just want to lay beside a pool all day this is not the hotel or location for you. The hotel supplied their guests with free bicycles, free WiFi, free use of computers, free drinking water, free tea and coffee supplies plus a sumptuous breakfast buffet every morning as well as bending over backwards to help organise any outings or make any reservations required. We were there 6 nights and really didn't want to leave. We will definitely return as both Hoi An and the hotel are just too good to miss.

Room Tip: We had a superior garden view room and would request that again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Everything about the hotel is above average. Rooms great, service great, amazing hotel grounds and the restaurant is very very good. Also, there are so many freebies (wifi, bfast, bikes) which make the value even more unbeatable. But, the location is near old town Hoi An which is not a place i would want to spend more than a couple of hours. Old town is very touristy and has very little besides little shops selling knock-offs to tourists. While in Hoi An you will more likely want to spend your time at the beach or the vegetable village. Both are accessible via a short bike ride from Ha An but if you plan to spend your time at the beach, probably better to stay closer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

A really laid back yet attentive hotel. Lovely room, cleaned twice daily, excellent Restuarant, lovely gardens, loan bikes on hand but they were not well maintained. Good shuttle service. Not the cheapest but still good value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After all the good reviews on Tripadvisor we selected this hotel .The first impression was lovely,the garden,the surrounding ..but suddenly it changed when we arrived to room.There was high humidity in the room( Wet Spots on the wall).Very small room for 3( we touch each other),Very dirty and the bathroom smell bad.Very old that need an urgent renovation.We spoke with the staff to clean and they said that it was clean!Unbelievable!
The breakfast the first day was very good,but the next day the half of things missing!
The Staff were very unfriendly!!
Overpriced hotel.
The best the location.



were rather disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ha An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha An Hotel

Address: 6-8 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#11 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ha An Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet place in a quiet town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Ha An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha An Hoi
Hotel Ha An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha An Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.