We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Breakfast, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phuoc An Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Phuoc An Hotel to your Saves list
Phuoc An Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Tran Cao Van St., Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Hoi An
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Breakfast, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Hoi An is THE place to get a suit or dress made to measure. Stay at Phuoc An and they'll give you a 10% discount on their cloth shop in town! The breakfast is divine - massive buffet with eggs, crepes and pancakes cooked to order in front of you!
Just down the street is Cafe 43 - the best cafe we found in all of Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia. Wonderfully friendly family with cheap beer (17p), great food and cooking lessons.
The hotel is tucked away but is only a 5min walk to the city centre, 8-10mins and you're at the river. The staff will happily book any trips you want - we went to My Son. Four free computers in reception too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    124
    49
    15
    15
See reviews for
27
139
47
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, NZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We had 6 days in Hoi An having spent longer than anticipated because we enjoyed it so much. A large part of this was due to the Phuoc An Hotel. Our favourite features:
A clean, comfortable room that was serviced daily with TV, fridge and constant hot water
The best buffet breakfast: 3 types of fresh fruit, juice, hot drinks, doughnuts, rolls, danishes, toast, plus girls standing by to makes eggs/omelettes/pancakes to order.
Free bikes!!!! We used these constantly from 10 minute trips to the tailors to rides 5km out to the gorgeous beach.
Free internet- 4 computers. Some were a bit slow and at times the staff played games on them keeping others waiting which was a bit annoying.
Good, cheap laundry service: 10,000D/ kg, same day service.
Friendly, helpful and cheerful staff.
Good location, easy walking distance to the old quarter.
Price: US $20/night

It was nice to have the pool to swim in on the very hot days but it was not as clean as we would have liked.

Having Cafe 43 a few doors away was the icing on the cake. We had lunch and dinner there every day. The set menus are great value, and the food is the best we've had in Asia (and we have just been to Penang, Sri Lanka and India for 8 weeks). So cheap too, lunch from US$1-2 , dinner from $3-4.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauban, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We paid $26US a night and had a nice, clean room with a fridge, A/C and cable TV. The hotel is located 10mins walk from the "old Hoi An", however they have bicycles at the hotel that guests can use for free.

The restaurant is good, and there is a pool right next to it. There is no Wifi in the rooms, but there was a computer right outside our room on the 4th floor. There is Wifi in the restaurant.

Great all-round hotel, would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Pros:
Good prices. Decent rooms. Nice staff.

Cons:
Far from center. It is within walking distance but, with the Vietnamese heat, you get there soaked. If you stay there, ask them to borrow a bike. Its a bit better.
The pool is ridiculouly small.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We arrived very late but were greeted by huge warmth by a lovely young man (who seemed about 15...) and who we seemed to have woken. He was very charming and helpful, and seemed to take great pleasure in lugging our heavy bags onto his back and rushing them to our room. However, his charm, we later found out, was in contrast to some of the other people of worked there...

The hotel was in a lovely building but it just wasn't maintained properly. Our room smelt extremely musty. It didn't make for a comfortable sleep. Also on our last morning, I experienced an extremely bad upset tummy, Despite my partner asking several times, they refused to give us a late check-out. Given that I might have got a bad tummy from their breakfasts, I thought this was extremely unkind as I was feeling so awful. It was just luck that I had all the right medicines that took affect quickly.

One tip if you are in Hoi An: we were followed everywhere by a young girl who wanted to become my best friend - and sell me a tailor-made suit in the process. It was extremely annoying, especially as I was never going to buy a suit (and if I was it wasn't going to be from her). If you get accosted by her (or someone like her) in the street, say you're not going to buy a suit and, as politely as possible, tell her to get lost. Else you might find, like we did, that she follows you everywhere for the whole day.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The service here was really good, despite us mucking up the dates of our arrival. With some hotels they will treat you badly because of this, however we picked up from Da Nang train station; our heavy bags were taken up to our room and welcomed with a smile. The room was modern and clean and with a balcony. There was a buffet breakfast which was fine and free bike hire. The biggest business in Hoi An is the tailoring. We were directed to the affiliated clothes shop and were greeted very warmly and given fresh ice cold bottles of water which were much needed. You always have to be vigilant with affiliated businesses that you're not being ripped off, so we checked out other clothes shops but came back to the original one because it was the best.

The only downside was that the swimming pool was a bit too small, but the beach isn't too far away. Also, they kinda pushed us on to an overnight bus to Hanoi, which wasn't the best.

overall, a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed at the Phuoc An Hotel in Hoi An for 4 nights. First impressions werent great - the rooms decor was very dated and cluttered. We had a triple room when we only needed a double and both beds had mosquito nets above them which had holes in. The shower arrangement over the bath was awkward. Bonus was we did have a balcony.
Breakfast was just ok - although the banana pancakes were good. On two evenings we saw them bringing out the breakfast stuff at around 6pm (inc butter and milk!).
The hotel did have a pool which seemed to be popular. Prices in the mini bar were very reasonable as was the laundry (although on closer inspection clothes were returned uncleaned).
The hotel had free bikes to get to the town/beach which were handy - although both bikes we used had dodgy brakes!
Staff were sort of friendly although got the sense that it was a little false.
Reasonable value for money and a good base for exploring beautiful Hoi An.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phuoc An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuoc An Hotel

Address: 39 Tran Cao Van St., Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Phuoc An Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel located in the green and quiet area, just few steps to the downtown of Hoi An the UNESCO world heritage site. The beautiful Cua dai beach is a 5 km biking and Da Nang International Airport is a 35 km drive. Special free internet access, bicycle, pick up from railway station, airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phuoc An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuoc An Hoi
Hotel Phuoc An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuoc An Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.