We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My *Favorite* Hotel in the whole world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nhi Nhi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nhi Nhi Hotel to your Saves list
Nhi Nhi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Hung Vuong Street, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My *Favorite* Hotel in the whole world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I was in Vietnam in May, and from Hanoi down to Saigon, The Nhi Nhi was my absolute favorite hotel . Granted, if you are looking for a big, corporate, Westernized hotel, The Nhi Nhi probably isn't for you (nor is Vietnam outside of Nha Trang or Saigon). It's a small hotel, less than $50USD per night, and a short stroll from the noise and chaos of downtown Hoi An. But what made the experience SO great was the staff - and having stayed in a lot of hotels throughout my trip, the staff of any hotel you chose is really what makes the difference. Rooms are rooms. The Nhi Nhi was clean, safe and comfortable. And frankly Hoi An is so amazing your actual time in the room should be minimal anyway.

Miss Thuy and all the Deungs (pronounced "Jooon", no idea how to spell it) were outstanding. From helping you book tours, recommending a restaurant, finding a hotel in other cities, helping with language tips (they actually wrote us a cheat-sheet of Vietnamese sayings to walk around with) or just giving you a smiley "Chao buio sang" every morning, the Nhi Nhi girls went over and above everytime.

Other hotels throughout the trip ranged from Awful to 5-Star... The Nhi Nhi is the one i'll remember the most. Too bad they don't have one in Chicago :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    184
    52
    27
    10
See reviews for
86
255
103
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were very welcoming and we were greeted at reception with a drink. Initially we were a little concerned that the room may be noisy due to all the rooms having balconies facing inwards to a ground floor swimming pool, but actually this caused no problems at all (we were on the 2nd floor) and there was a sign by the pool saying not to make loud noise or something similar.

We enjoyed breakfast which is served in a dining area adjacent to the pool. We can recommend the banana or pineapple pancakes.

The hotel booked a trip for us to Marble Mountain and China beach which worked out fine and were obliging to mind our luggage until we were ready to relocate to another Hoi An hotel, for which we had a longstanding booking.

We quite liked the location of the hotel. We wondered if more centrally located hotels might be noisy at night due to the music playing in the public stage areas, but this seemed to be a quiet area. Generally we walked into the main part of Hoi An, but I have to say you need to be alert as you walk along the road/footpath (where you can) as there is quite a bit of traffic/hazards on the footpaths etc. There were not many eating places nearby that we noticed.

There were a lot of tailors nearby but eventually we used a tailor we had a recommendation for in the other side of town. The hotel did have rental cycles for a small fee, but we did not get around to using them.

All in all, we found it pleasant, but it has to be said the bathroom was fairly dated. The people were what made a great experience and I think the Nhi Nhi hotel does try really hard to be customer focused.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We discovered Nhi Nhi means 'little girls' in Vietnamese, and wondered if this hotel focused too much on finding staff that are pretty young things and less on providing appropriate quality for the price. We felt a little ripped off, to be honest, but the girls at reception were so sweet and affectionate (bar one only) we didn't like to complain too much. We did ask to move rooms as our 'deluxe' room was pretty grim, we didn't have a balcony over the pool (which is so small and uninviting I was not surprised to see it empty all the time), barely any sunlight and a really rubbish shower. They couldn't help us, which was odd as the hotel did not seem so busy. But they'd covered the beds with petals to make smiley faces and really tried their best to be welcoming - it just fell short of what we actually wanted. The tour we went on to Hoi An was a bit pants too - we hitched on behind another tour group who's guide was actually informative and not weirdly condescending. And don't bother with ending the trip with a river cruise down back into town - I love messing about on boats but this was dull dull dull.
I don't like to give a negative review, but of all the hotels we stayed at in Vietnam this was perhaps my least favourite, despite the friendly girls and it being in one of my favourite cities. It was just that the quality and the price did not match up. Maybe though, Hoi An is just a big old tourist trap and we didn't do too badly after all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Overall we had a very good experience at this hotel. The staff were amazing, very attentive and welcomed us with cold facecloths and ice tea when we arrived. We stayed here for almost a week in Feb 2011. We had a deluxe room at the back overlooking the pool. It was nice with fresh fruit and treats in our room every day. It was great setting for a couple. The hotel is a quick walk (10 mins) into the old town along a busy street, but always interesting to people-watch. The breakfast buffet was good and tasty. We didn’t use the pool (it was February). The car to Da Nang air port was $17, but was a very nice quality car and the driver drove very safe (even at 4am). Overall it was good, but the things we felt could have been better: their bikes we rented once were awful and broke out by the beach (had to be rescued on motor cycle), the organised trip booked through them to My Son was only ok (don’t take the boat back), and we had to pay in cash only (no creditcards) which was annoying to take out that many million Dong. We also booked the Spa (Hoi An day spa) and the cooking class (Red Bridge) through them which both were great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had a great time at the Nhi Nhi hotel. The hotel is amazingly friendly and welcoming.

Rooms and decor a bit average, but what you'd expect at this price range. The hotel is a bit outside the old town, a 10 minute walk or so.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our stay at the Nhi Nhi was a big success but only after we had asked to be moved from the ground floor smelly damp rooms near the pool. I can only add to other reviews on this site and confirm that the ground floor rooms are best avoided. We were told on day one they were the only rooms available despite booking weeks in advance. The next morning we asked to be moved and were very happy up on the top floor with son on floor below also very happy. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts are good the rooms are big enough and clean, water is provided everyday, tea & coffee is available in the rooms and the wi fi worked. The 10 minute walk into the city centre is down a pretty grotty street with lots of dust and building work going on but all in all the Nhi Nhi is a good place to stay. Hopefully they will soon sort out the drainage problem or get rid of the pool, we were there for 5 days and didnt see anyone in it.

Room Tip: insist on 2nd floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed 2 night and we liked the Hotel. Rooms are simple, everything is quiet and clean. Service is good, ordered lunch to our room which we enjoyed on our balcony. Location is ok - a 5-10 min walk to get to the best parts of Hoi An. I consider the price to be rather high for such simpel hotel, and they didnt accept credit cards (ATM is 10 min away..)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nhi Nhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhi Nhi Hotel

Address: 60 Hung Vuong Street, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nhi Nhi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nhi Nhi Hotel is located near to the Old Quarter and near all major tourist attractions in the area of Hoi An Ancient town. Situated in the old street area, Nhi Nhi Hotel offers affordable, the best accommodation in an authentic Vietnamese neighborhood. Only few minutes for shopping not only in Hoi An market but also in clothing shop which attracted most of guest And easy to enjoy local food and Vietnamese food also. Nhi Nhi hotel was designed by ancient architecture. And moreover, the rooms are lovely and convenient. There are 24 well equipped guestrooms. Besides, taking a seat at private balcony, guest see a panoramic view of the swimming pool which is beautiful with French technology and blue in colour, cool water is encompassed by row of room like sky well, sunshine streams through the window creates a feeling more comfortable. Here feel what is called relaxation. Fresh flowers placed in beautiful flower vases aid in creating the good ambiance for a romantic stay. You not only feel an ancient architecture but also friendly of the staff. All staff are helpful and ready to extend their service whenever you need their assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nhi Nhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nhi Nhi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.