We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Ba Trieu Street | Hoi An Town, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived in Hoi An with no arrangements whatsoever in place. Fresh off the overnight train and a rather interesting taxi ride, we walked around the town looking for somewhere to stay. Barely a five minute walk from the main streets, we found this beauty of a hotel tucked away.

We were warmly welcomed by friendly and attentive staff, who over the course of our stay could not do enough to help us. A recently vacated room was cleaned and readied for us and was absolutely spotless. Solid wood floors, big comfy beds and, more importantly, sweet sweet air conditioning. The bathroom was spotless, spacious and also very welcome after such a long train journey. My one issue with the bathroom is that the pane of glass letting light in from the landing could have been a little.. well, frostier! More a problem for anyone looking in than for me though, I suppose!

The view from the deck out back was lovely. Sitting out eating breakfast and looking over the rice paddies was thoroughly relaxing. We didn't make use of the pool but there was always someone else in it and did look very inviting, especially in the heat.

The staff at the hotel were great. They informed us of all the tours that were running in Hoi An and even booked us on to a trip to My Son Valley. On their recommendation we left for the 5am tour to avoid the crowds and see the sunrise. We weren't disappointed. Upon our departure, they even arrange a car to pick us up from the hotel and drive us to our next destination. Hoi An to Hué, via the Hai Van Pass.. a 2 and a half hour journey that cost us barely £40.

Really couldn't recommend this hotel strongly enough. Full of so many little touches that make so much difference after a few weeks of slumming it! I hope to return to Hoi An in 2014.. this time I'll be sure to book in here in advance.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building would provide a nicer view. We were at the front and had a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    155
    67
    42
    42
See reviews for
76
301
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff were extremely friendly and could not have done more to make our stay memorable. They organised flowers for our silver wedding anniversary then, off their own bat, decorated the room beautifully while we were out. The hotel is in an excellent location - easy walking distance from the centre of Hoi An but far enough away to be quiet. Relaxing by the pool overlooking the paddy fields with a beer - heaven!

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the paddy fields to the rear of the hotel are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location, not too close or too far a walk from the action. Fantastic breakfast included. The deluxe rooms are worth the additional $10 or so dollars a night with the balcony and view - not the most amazing view ever but very pleasant. Staff were always willing to go out of their way to help with directions, adapters, and making restaurant bookings for us. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great boutique hotel within walking distance of old town, many shops and restaurants. Really good breakfast on a lovely relaxing deck overlooking some fields. Hotel also has a pool which is a bonus after a hot day in the sun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Basic but clean hotel quite central to town. We stayed in a family room which was fine, but would be difficult for a stay longer than 2 nights. This hotel would be perfect for young couples or backpackers. The pool is great and easily the coldest we swam in while on our trip - just fantastic and refreshing after a hot day touring Hoi An. Would recommend if you are looking for a comfortable stay in central Hoi An without breaking the bank. Make sure you walk around the corner to Cafe 43 for dinner - just excellent!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013. The hotel was easy to find and easy to walk into the town from, although it was maybe a little far in the heat and humidity of midday.

The hotel was not the cheapest place we have stayed so far in Vietnam and unfortunately it wasn't the nice enough to justify being so much more expensive. Our room was small but functional - we were backpacking so we just kept our clothes in our bags during our stay. Unfortunately the safe didn't work in our room and despite repeatedly telling staff about this, nothing was ever done and we had to leave our valuables in the safe at the reception. Unfortunately on our last day, while we were packing our bags, a cockroach ran across our pillow. We were also staying in a room beside the indoor waterfall and when we turned the bathroom fan on there was a very strong smell of stale water.

The staff were OK although they don't seem that interested in their guests and they spend a lot of their time talking to each other. The breakfast is lovely though and the patio and pool areas are very nice to relax on.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a superior room. The room was basic but clean and nice. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. They have a lovely pool which was a great heat relief as it was pretty hot in the afternoon in July. Work was being done on a new deck, looks like it should be finished soon. As long as you are not after something too fancy we highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel

Address: 16 Ba Trieu Street | Hoi An Town, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Thanh Hoi An
Hotel Thien Thanh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.