We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Ba Trieu Street | Hoi An Town, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Fabulous little hotel - loved every minute of it. This hotel is in a quieter area about 8 minutes walk from the city centre. We had room 405 which was excellent as it faced away from the street overlooking the water spinach field below. I would ask for a room that faces this way (as opposed to facing the street) as, despite being a quieter area, there is still a fair bit of traffic. We were traveling in a group of 3 and the room was a little squishy for all of us but perfectly manageable. We also booked this hotel through Expedia and didn't encounter any problems re services (as noted by Jeff H) however there was a slight mix-up in that the hotel thought we had only booked for 2 people and asked us to pay a $25/night surcharge for the third person. We showed them our print-out from Expedia showing that we had booked for 3 and they were very nice and apologetic about it. I got the impression that this was a communication breakdown between them and Expedia as opposed to anything else.

The breakfast was absolutely fantastic! Baguettes, boiled eggs, lots of fruit, some cereal and little breads and pastries and scrambled eggs, omlettes and pineapple or banana pancakes all cooked freshly to order. Also juice, tea and fresh Vietnamese coffee.

Great customer service as well, really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street as it's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    155
    67
    42
    42
See reviews for
76
301
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel is located at a quiet neighbourhood about 7 minutes from the main shopping district. The room offers the ambience of a boutique hotel. All the staff including the reception desk and service staff are always on hand to provide assistance. The breakfast is basic but sufficient to start the day. Highly recommended for couples and single traveller.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Beware, we booked this hotel with Expedia but when we arrived the room did not have the services that were listed on Expedia. The hotel indicated that they had made a request to Expedia to correct the error and, in order to make things right, the hotel upgraded us to a nicer room.

This is a very cute boutique hotel but it seems a bit overpriced for the location. We moved after two nights to another hotel a few doors down that admittedly was not the same quality but the rooms were half the price.

Many have mentioned the excellent breakfast and while the breakfast is very good, I have had better at other hotels in this price range. If it isn't raining ,breakfast is served on a deck overlooking fields - nice. Beware the superior rooms that are very small and have no exterior windows.

Staff were polite but not that freindly.

Room Tip: Avoid the suites since they have an old style "full bathroom" shower. Beware the superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I really loved the view of the room that i booked - room 402, which had a big window and small balcony overlooking vast spinach fields at the rear of the property. The room was nicely decorated with heart- and swan shaped towels and rose petals decorating the beds and silk gowns provided a nice touch. The beds were ultra firm though, which made for a less comfortable night's rest. The breakfast was adequate (omelet, fried eggs or pancake cooked to order with small baguettes, white toast, some cake, fresh fruit, yoghurt, berry jam, coffee and tea, two juices, white toast, bacon and boiled eggs, rice crispies and coco pops) and is served on the verandah at the back, weather permitting. I was slightly underwhelmed by the service / staff: one or two receptionists were very helpful but another rather pushy with transfers and I found the breakfast team to be unprofessional - one queuing for hers while two tables were still eating (of five or six) - admittedly this was shortly before ten when they stop serving breakfast. They also conversed with one another loudly in the intimate little room while we were having breakfast. Beware the unwelcome wake-up call one receives on a Monday morning at 06:30 when the school nearby starts the week with a bang - music and announcements loudly over a PA system. It is only a ten minute walk or so to the town center. I found the hotel to be expensive but think it is the general trend in the area.

Room Tip: rooms at the back have views; the other two i saw either had none or very little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We booked this after reading TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We knew it was a slightly longer walk to town (extra 5 mins only) biut that proved to be a bonus as we took the chance to see some local streets and left the 'beep beep' behind to enter the lovely world of our room with balcony overlooking fields. All very tastefully decorated, good breakfast on the terrace and a lovely small pool area, very good value for money. They don't take credit cards though so go armed with enough cash.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room at the back if you want to get away from road noise, although it's a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hotel (but not all the rooms) has an amazing view on rice paddies. Breakfast is on a terrace just over the rice fields. They serve typical vietnamese food including delicious cakes. There is no extensive choice like in the big hotels but we liked it anyway.
It is very quiet and pretty close to the old town of Hoi An (10 min walking).
There is free wifi.
Payment by card is not accepted.
The second day when they changed the bed they removed the sheet and left only the duvet. Also forgot to replace the bath gel. I would say that although extremely kind, staff is a bit careless.
I don't suggest the superior room as has no window. We had to upgrade to a suit room but it was worthy.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have no window or view. I recommend rooms with rice paddies view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a lovely stay. Quit good location. A little more expensive than other place we have been staying in Vietnam but that may be the city. Our bathroom floor filled with water everyting we had a shower but we couldn't be bothered trying to explain to them so we just put up with it. When we were checking out a couple were at reception saying they had 200 euro stolen from their room but we didn't have a problem ( we kept our valuables locked up). Beautiful view of water spinach growing from the back rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel

Address: 16 Ba Trieu Street | Hoi An Town, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Thanh Hoi An
Hotel Thien Thanh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.