We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel in Hoi An” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indochine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Indochine Hotel to your Saves list
Indochine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Cua Dai St | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Frankfurt
1 review
“Outstanding hotel in Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

It was my right choice to return to Hoi An Indochie Hotel with my friends. Tran, the manager of the hotel gave all of us a surprise with his good memory by asking me if I still want to drink Larue beer. It’s my favourite beer and he could remember that from the last time I stayed at his hotel 6 months ago.
We decided to eat at the hotel instead of an outside restaurant. The river terrace is absolutely beautiful in the evening. The food was excellent and price was reasonable. I can’t forget Nhung and Trinh at the restaurant as they are lovely and friendly.
The location is great away from the hustling downtown and very quiet in the evening. The room are extremely clean and tastefully decorated. We vote it is an outstanding hotel in Hoi An. There is no reason not to come back to Indochine hotel next time.

Lynda

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    58
    29
    16
    20
See reviews for
24
53
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

I was staying at Indochine hotel after traveling to major cities and found it gave us a bonus from its tranquility. The bedroom was neat, clean, large with a small balcony on the side of a river. They also have free internet and shuttle van which is a great way to visit this beautiful town. Although it is just about 5 minute walk to the beach, there any plenty of things to look at on the way: the greenfields, the fishing village next to a small river... I found their staff was very efficient and helpful.

While high floor was not what we expected, it was not a bother as the hotel has an elevator. I especially love the river terrace where you can sit for breakfast and dinner.

I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

We’ve stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and absolutely loved it! The room was well-decorated and carefully cleaned. The staff are friendly and hard working to help us with anything. They always recommended that we should use their free shuttle bus to the downtown but we said we prefer biking.

We love the romantic riverside terrace where we were sitting for the wonderful breakfast buffet. We were surprised when a local hotel like Indochine can serve international buffet.

The receptionists and restaurant staff greeted us by our name any time they met us. That made us very happy.

I am planing to return to Hoi An this December and we decided to stay at Indochine again.

  • Liked — Search engine
  • Disliked — Newspaper
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

It was the second time we stayed at Indochine hotel and we found that it was much better than ever. The hotel was absolutely clean and beautiful, especially the restaurant. The buffet breakfast is lovely and well-prepared, the waitresses there were lovely and helpful. Their English was much improved.

I specially appreciated a bottle of wine presented to us by the manager on our wedding anniversary. It was great!!!

Thanks to all. We will not stay at another hotel next time.

  • Liked — Surroundings
  • Disliked — No thing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2006

The Indochine was one of nine hotels we visited during a tour of Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia. It was simply the best of the nine because of the warmth of the staff and the enthusiasm with which they approached every task.
Although the Indochine is nearer the beach than the town, it runs a regular shuttle bus. Bicycles are also available - and these make for a great way to get around.
The riverbank location is idyllic and the beach is just a short walk away. Breakfast was better than average ... for special evening meals there is a superb riverbank restaurant (The Moonlight) just 100 metres away.
The lobby has three fast Internet terminals which are freely available.
We liked this Hotel ... and we loved the staff :o)

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Tips/Secrets — Highly recommend the Moonlight Restaurant - almost next doors.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2006

We had initially booked to stay at the Indochine for 4 nights over Christmas but upon arriving, there were several factors that made us change our plans. Hoi An is a fairly cheap place to stay in & we figured for $26US/night (3 times the rate of previous hotels we stayed in around Hoi An), we would be getting something quite luxurious. The room itself is quite nice & quiet however is in need of maintenance. During our stay, there were 2 leaks in the ceiling; the front door was virtually falling off & couldn't close properly; only 1 of 3 computers in the lobby worked; there were no newspapers available, not even in the lobby area; the breakfast option on the 1st day was not very good (no buffet & only a-la-cart menu available). This was particularly bad because my husband is a large man & when he ordered bread & jam - that's exactly what he got - 2 slices of bread & no more. When we tried to ask for 1 extra yoghurt, we were met with silence & when after a long period nothing happened, we asked about it again & were told we couldn't have it because it wasn't part of his meal! Needless to say, this inflexible attitude left us leaving the breakfast table still hungry, unlike other hotels we have stayed in. Oddly enough, after complaining about the breakfast, we were surprised to find the next morning had a buffet-style breakfast which was much better & left us feeling much more satisfied than the morning before.

The other disappointing event was that after washing my hair & finding no hairdryer actually in the room, I requested for one to be sent up - nothing came after 20min & we again called to be told it was coming but again after 40min nothing & my husband even went down to complain as it should never take this long for someone to deliver a hair-dryer. We also found it shameful to be told that the staff were "too busy" - obviously not with their existing guests, which should be the aim of a good hotel! The computers in the lobby hadn't been maintained for some time & my husband kindly updated some security patches which were largely lacking. The other negative factor is the location - quite far away from the city centre & the local shuttle bus can be a bit haphazard with its timetable eg. once we waited for the 5pm shuttle which never came & instead had to just take a cab back to the hotel.

Overall I believe this hotel has potential to be high class - it certainly has excellent water views & is quiet & serene, with beautiful french architecture, however the rooms need to be maintained & the service improved if it is to ensure its customers enjoy their stay. At this point I don't think I will be returning to the Indochine any time soon however if things change as indicated by future reviews, this may change & perhaps we may consider returning for our anniversary!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indochine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indochine Hotel

Address: 87 Cua Dai St | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Indochine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Indochine Hotel standards of Three-Star international with 62 Rooms with modern facilities, 2 restaurants, a panorama bar at the fifth floor with over 300 seats for banquet and offering free organ music for over 60 guests, buffet breakfast, welcome drinks, free bicycle for riding around Hoi An Ancient town, ADSL internet, six cars offering professional drivers, free shuttle bus to Center and return, enthusiastic and experienced guide, well trained staff, good services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Indochine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indochine Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indochine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.