We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Should back next time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indochine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Indochine Hotel to your Saves list
Indochine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Cua Dai St | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I Should back next time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stay 3 times in that hotel. I got room both pool view and river view. All was satisfy with the price thet offer. My kid love the pool.
Hotel reception was all lady, they allway keeo smile and help my kid. Breakfast at the top roof of hotel was very nice view.
There is only one thing I do not like is the loby style, not western, not Vietnam and abit dark even at day time.
However, all time I come back Hoi An, I love to stay at Indochine and meet all the staff, talk and event drink as a friend when they are not on duty.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    63
    33
    18
    21
See reviews for
26
60
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

my first ever negative review.
i'd read reviews of this hotel before we stayed there. As we were on a tour we couldn't chose where we were staying and unfortunately this hotel turned out to be as bad as what some reviewers had said.
- it IS dirty (bath tub with a brown line of dirt inside, cracked and the plug was so clogged with goo that the water wasn't going anywhere) walls mouldy and YES you will find creepy crawlies in your bathroom and bedroom.
- the staff is unwelcoming and down right rude if you complain (even nicely and with a smile the asian way).
- we'd asked for a wake up call at 4am as we had a plane to catch. Fortunately we'd used our personal alarm as we actually woke up the receptionist on our way down. She promptly went upstairs to check all our rooms and came back to accused 2older ladies from our group of stealing a glass. the ladies even offered to have their luggages checked but the girl just wanted the ladies to pay. Everything came to an end when our guide turned up, talked to the girl and told us that it wasn't the first time it had happened.
if you're travelling on your own...just be careful.
- the reception, restaurant and corridors are NOT air conditioned so you WILL get hot and sticky right from your bedroom door!

there ARE better hotels in Hoi An and probably for a better price so to make sure you enjoy your stay in this beautiful old town stay in a DIFFERENT HOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Enjoyed our time here. The hotel is three star. You pay three star prices. The value is excellent. Rooms old but working aircon. Staff friendly. Hot walk to beach. Three dollar cab rides to old town. Would recommend to budget ttravellers. You want five star you pay five star prices

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

As many of the previous reviewers have said this hotel looks lovely and very grand from the outside but unfortunately looks quite worn and dated inside. The room we stayed in could've done with a major refurb. Breakfast was average, not the standard of other hotels in Vietnam. Also the walls are very thin, so you can often hear noises from other rooms and staff. The wifi on floor 4 is also terrible, so if wifi is important to you, try stay on one of the other floors, apparently the reception is much better. The location is great and close to the beach, the hotel offer bike hire for a reasonable 30k dong for a day, which is you can use to cycle to the city centre.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the fourth floor, bad wifi and noise from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The place *smells* old. Imagine your grandma's wardrobe; that smell of mouldy wood and clothes. That's this place. The furniture's wood is almost rotten. The bedclothes are stinky old, and stinky dirty. It gets unpleasant.

Rooms: Uninviting. 1960's mouldy rooms.

Service: I had issues with them, as they tried to put me in the staff's room (no window, and really not livable) for 60 dollars, they had me waiting for almost one hour, and still didn't facilitate a solution. The Hotel usually attends groups and are quite careless about individuals. Breakfast staff was also quite unfriendly.

Location: In the middle of the road from Hoi An City and the Beach. An scooter or bicyle is a must.

Breakfast: Poor cheap vietnamese breakfast, poorly attended by staff, caring more than you eat little and leave soon, that to attend to you.

Value: It is considerably expensive for what they provide. It is a backpacker's standard, for a middle-budget price. There are milliards of other better and cheaper places in Hoi An.

It is my impression that they are milking this place as long as it lasts without spending a dime in maintenance or renovation, until they will put it down and build some kind of high end resort. But at this moment, this hotel does not facilitate any kind of comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights, found it last minute on agoda on the day we arrived in Hoi An.
It's a little bit far from town - we hired a motorbike for 24hours to get around, but we preferred being away from the town so we could get some quiet and be away from all the sellers hassling us for money and to visit "their uncle's tailor shop"
It is quite old and run down, the shower was leaking and didn't have a lot of pressure, but it was very big and spacious, room was nice and quiet, Air con worked well, so can't really complain.
Nice room for breakfast, top floor with amazing view of rice paddies, however no air con so got a bit hot while eating. They did have fans though.
The best part was the pool - huge and beautiful, this place would have been amazing 20 years ago. There is a bar next to the pool, make sure you ask if you want drinks as there is no permanent staff member manning the bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed there 2 times for 2011 and 2012.
It was very nice time with very helpful staff.
I and my friend stay and enjoy with cool view, easy going to the beach.
he staff give us to borrowed motorcycle to travel around Hoi An.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Indochine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indochine Hotel

Address: 87 Cua Dai St | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Indochine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Indochine Hotel standards of Three-Star international with 62 Rooms with modern facilities, 2 restaurants, a panorama bar at the fifth floor with over 300 seats for banquet and offering free organ music for over 60 guests, buffet breakfast, welcome drinks, free bicycle for riding around Hoi An Ancient town, ADSL internet, six cars offering professional drivers, free shuttle bus to Center and return, enthusiastic and experienced guide, well trained staff, good services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Indochine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indochine Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indochine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.