We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a laugh and the staff will see you alright..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An

Save Saved
You added Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 Ly Thai To Street, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Have a laugh and the staff will see you alright..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

After reading the last three reviews I felt someone needed to put things in perspective, myself and 5 friends stayed here for 3 nights and couldnt find a bad thing to say about the place.
Yes the breakfast was basic but it did the job, if you expect a gourmet dining experience then head to a restaraunt! The pool area was great, clean and well kept, very relaxing after a relatively hectic previous 10 days of travelling. The spa was reasonably priced, two of my friends who got back massages said they were very professionally done. The shuttle bus was available no problem but even if not it really was only a 15 minute walk MAXIMUM into town (Where people are getting 30 minutes from i have no idea, unless they were walking backwards). We had two of the poolside family rooms which at $68 per night split 3 ways is hardly breaking the bank. The staff found it hilarious that 6 men in their late 20's were travelling together but they ended up being very friendly, and extremely helpful in finding us a minibus for the six of us to take us over the Golden Mountains and up to Hue when we were leaving. We had checked out various companies and tour groups in and prior to being in Hoi An, and nobody came even remotely close to the price we got from the hotel. This bus also stopped off at various sightseeing locations on the way (marble mountain, DaNang ancient stone carving museum, Hilltop Bunkers, Ancient Hue Forbidden City, Japanese Pagoda, Tu Duhc Tombs etc) and the driver helped us with entry into some of the attractions.

All in all I thoroughly recommend anyone in a small group to go here, speak to the staff, have a bit of fun and you'll find they will help you out massively.

Room Tip: If in a small group, book a family room next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    168
    84
    35
    18
See reviews for
64
222
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I can't understand how this place has the nerve to describe itself as being located in the Hoi An city center. If it was, why would they offer a shuttle to get there? Sure the shuttle is free, but it only runs a handful of times a day (and not even at check-out). I did not come to Hoi An to be on someone else's schedule. The hotel is a 20-25 minute walk from town, and even further to the river. Across the street is a dirty, abandoned lot.
Their advertising materials also claim they are close to the beach. This is also not true. They are at least as far from the beach as they are from town.
The rooms are nice enough. This is the one place we have stayed in Vietnam so far that supplies bathrobes to all its guests, but that is about all that sets it apart. This one charm does not warrant the price tag.
We were at least excited for the spa, but were told that it was closed and no further explanation was offered.
Breakfast was simple and bland. The fresh eggs and fruit are a nice touch, but everything else was pretty weak.
What surprised us most was the inattentiveness of the staff. Upon arrival, we were soaked with rain. They couldn't find our reservation so they put us in a room to get rid of us, but made us change rooms the next day. When the young woman said she would show us to our room, she disappeared down the hallway, around a corner, and was gone before we could even pick up our bags. The place is a veritable maze of hallways and stairs and she didn't bother waiting for us. Instead we found her standing at our door when, still soaking wet, we had to wander and find it for ourselves. Even worse, when labeling their shuttle drop-off point on a map, she mislabeled the point which set us off walking in the wrong direction and nearly all the restaurants in town were closed by the time we got oriented.
This is far and away the worst hotel experience we have had in Vietnam, which is a shame because it was also the most expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid this place. You can stay somewhere much nicer and closer to town for the same price or cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Flight Centre in Australia.
Myself and two family members arrived at this hotel to find that there was no disabled access even though they listed it as disable friendly on their website.
One of our party is disabled.
Our rooms were on the third floor which meant 3 flights of stairs for a disabled person to have to walk up (if they can walk).
The staff seemed un- phased by our unhappiness with this.
When I got to my room the lock on my door was broken and I could not lock or unlock my door.
The room was spacious and clean but that was the hotel's only plus.

We arrived at lunch time after a flight from Ho Chi Minh City and were very hungry so we went to the Hotel Restaurant (as the hotel is quite far from town we didn't have many other options) and aside from being hard to find, also inaccessible to the disabled there was no staff around to help.
So as we walked away a woman shouted out to us to ask what we wanted. We came back to ask for lunch and she was quite rude to us.
We were given elaborate menus then told we could only have fried won tons or stir fry so we got the stir fry.
Then as we paid for our meals (which were overpriced and tasted less than average) and woman serving us tried to tell us that she didn't have any change at the restaurant and could not give us any, but after some discussion she then gave us our change.
20 minutes after getting back to my room I got terrible food poisoning which took me about 24 hours to recover from.

We paid up front for 5 days and left after 1 night to stay in a much cheaper, much friendlier hotel in town and were much happier.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This could be a decent hotel but it's not. The location is out of the way, the staff is surly and the breakfast is bad.
We arrived and asked for a standard room - according to agoda they had rooms available but we had not booked. They said they were full, then they said they'd give us a villa for one night (@40$) and then let us have a standard room the next day for 30$.
The villa was nice, so we took it. I asked if we should book the room the next day through agoda and they said no, they would save us a room. (This is quite common, it saves them having to pay a booking fee to agoda).
It was afternoon and we asked at the restaurant if we could order some food and they said no. The lady was pretty unpleasant. No one at this hotel was nice. Whatever. We're not that needy. If you ever asked for anything, they told you to go to your room and wait! (That's so obnoxious, it's funny). It was always at least 15 minutes.
Off we went to enjoy our day and evening. When we got back, I asked if we needed to book bikes for the next day and again if we should book our room for the next night. They said no.
The next morning we got to breakfast at around 8 am and all the food was gone. There were all these plates where a variety of food had been. I asked for milk for the coffee and was told to wait. We were able to get eggs. Breakfast was just no good.
The safe in the room didn't work. They sent us to our room to wait and after 15 minutes came but were unable to fix it. We went to the front desk to put hand in our valuables and pick up our bikes and they told us we were leaving. We told them we had been promised a room, but they just kept insisting that we had to leave.
What a bunch of jerks.

Room Tip: Find yourself another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked this hotel via Agoda. We didn't like this hotel at all. The staff was unfriendly. The hotel wasn't friendly atmosphere at all. The room was big and clean. The breakfast was poor, breakfast was supposed to be a buffet breakfast but all dishes were all the time end. We booked the hotel because of the pool. The swimming pool area was poor! There was only 6 sunbeds and most of them was broken. Water in the pool was frozen. Location is far away from the old town, but there was free shuttle to the town and back, every hour (8:00 AM- 9:50PM).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked this via Asia Rooms and booked a superior room. We knew when we booked that it was a long way from town but as there was a shuttle every hour we thought that was fine. We booked 6 nights and when we arrived we were told there was no shuttle for the next 4 days as it was Tet (tet was the 10th we arrived the 12th )then a couple of days later they changed and said the shuttle would not start until the day after we left(19th) We did walk it into town but it took 30 minutes (dont believe the ones who say 5 or 10 minutes this is only possible on a bike) so we had to pay for taxis. There is no restaurant open in the evening in the hotel they do pizza at a very inflated price. Now for the room . In the description it says all rooms have views of fields garden or pool Ours had a view of reception! There was no natural day light and it smelled of damp. We asked to be moved but were told they were full only the suite was available but that was $100 !!! Next day they had a deluxe room come available and we could have it for an extra $15 a night. They did after discussion reduce it to $12 a night extra. Once we moved into that room I was much happier as it did have daylight although there was still no view as the rooms are built facing each other with a gap of about 6 feet between the 2 balconys. Breakfast was very limited Bread eggs noodles fruit no meat and there was cheese some days. We asked if they could arrange a car for us to get to quy nohn and were told the best price they could get was $190 we had to accept or get a taxi into town and trail around the tour offices. then when we left it turned out that it was not a car but the hotel minibus and an employee taking us. They accepted our credit card for the hotel bill but insisted on cash for the minibus and the laundry. Not the worst hotel I have ever been to but certainly not the best You can get better nearer town for less money.

Room Tip: book the deluxe or you risk being stuck in a room off reception with no light
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Family Room was nice. Good beds. Breakfast nothing special. The totally desinterested staff did not help create a nice atmosphere. Don't try to get a lunch or beer. It will take forever.
Too broken pool chairs, and not enough. Only about 6-8 for the whole hotel.
We booked online, paid a lot, but after this hotel looked and found a much nicer place for less and with very nice caring staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An

Address: 224 Ly Thai To Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An is a 3 star hotel . Located just minutes away from the China Beach coast and within walking distance of the world-renowned heritage town center of Hoi An, the Southern Hotel (known as Phuong Nam in Vietnamese) offers guests warm hospitality and well-appointed facilities in a relaxed atmosphere. The Tra Que organic vegetable village and Japanese trader tombs are just steps from the hotel. We take pride in our ability to fulfill your requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Hotel And Villa Hoi An
Southern Hotel Hoi An
Southern Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.