We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thanh Van Hotel to your Saves list
Thanh Van Hotel
78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and would come back here for sure! Nicest and funiest staff we had during our Vietnam trip. Rooms clean and big, swimming pool available and great buffet breakfast. Very close to town centre and even has a good tailor shop next to it where you can make clothes (with discount when you stay at the hotel). Possibility to rent bikes and bicycles.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    118
    59
    34
    16
See reviews for
22
136
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location as it is perfect for walking around the town. The room was ok, but expensive considering the window had a brick wall outside it. They also used strip lighting in the rooms which was very harsh. The beds were comfortable and the room not to noisy, we were at the back of the hotel and I can imagine the front was very noisy. Bathroom was a good size but hot water did not last long. Breakfast was good if you got there early enough but after about 8am some items had run out and we found the coffee to be cold. The staff were pushy on arrival about us using their services for taxis / onward travel etc. We made it clear we were not interested and they seemed ok after the first day. I would avoid booking anything through them as they massively inflate prices. Would I return? Probably not...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a great hotel and the staff make it so. Very friendly and helpful. They booked tours and transport for us and the prices were the same and sometimes cheaper than tourist offices in area. Close to old city, 3 min walk. Breakfast is buffet and pool lovely to jump in after hot walk around town. Hired bikes from girls out the front 3US day and road to An Bang and Cai Day beach....20 min easy ride. rooms clean and spacious...had 3rd floor double with balcony...easy stairs.

Room Tip: ask for balcony room...window has no view but balcony great to watch over pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Than Van 1. Our room amd bathroom were definitly big enough. We had the cheaper room so that meant we did not have a view. We had a window that we could open but the wall we looked out on made the room dark. The breakfast was a little buffet with enough choice. The girls at the reception are very friendly and fun! When they heard it was our honeymoon the brought us flowers and fruit, which we appreciated. The hotel also has a good location, very close to the old town!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercelli, Italy
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is located in a good position, as soon as out of the pedestrian part of the city, that is reached in little minutes. Just arrived we are welcomed by the hotel staff, very available, that informs immediately us of what we can do in the city, the places to also visit in the outskirtses and, as all the hotels met in Vietnam, act also from agency you travel. Easily we also book the trip in bus for Hue, with the advantage that the bus will give to take us in front of the hotel, so we don't have to reach the station (far away from center town). The hotel is very nice, development everything around to an adjacent to swimming pool the hall, where you/he/she is also served the breakfast to the morning.
The room that we had booked was one double and a triple has been given there, for which the space was really ample. Standard endowment, with refrigerator, tv, conditioned air and… umbrellas. The bath is of big dimensions with the bathtub. All is very clean and with a “vintage” style.
As already says, the breakfast is served on side to the swimming pool, very nice as setup. Great variety of choice above all of bread and of fruit.
Overall I feel me to recommend this hotel for the atmosphere that he breathes, there is a lot of coming and going of people, the possibility to always exchange some word in the hall, both with the guests and with the personnel of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Thanh Van 1 hotel was a big contender for the best place we stayed. We booked a superior double but were offered a double room on the 4th floor for only $20 per night! (possibly because we were young and no one wanted to climb a few stairs!!) This room was fairly good and had a huge bathroom with unlimited pressurised hot water!!
Although it was too cold when we were there, the pool looked lovely and was always clean.
One of the best things about this hotel was the delicious free all you can eat breakfast buffet!! it included about 7 different types of fresh fruit, hot eggs, friend rice, some kind of salami meat and lots of fresh bread and other baked goods. much better than the standard omlette we received everywhere else!!
The staff were also very lovely and friendly and willing to point us in the right direction of things to do.
Being one of the cheapest and best places we stayed, i would most definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked a superior room for 4 nights but the first night (arriving at 11pm) staff put us in a standard room. First thing next morning spoke to staff and changed rooms. Pay the extra $3 as the standard was horrible the superior is exactly as the picture shows. Breakfast was eggs,noodles toast,fruit,juice etc all fresh and as much as you want. For the price of this hotel no one can complain. Staff were nice and happy to help with any questions.They all spoke really good English which helps heaps. The location is fantastic. Cross the road turn the corner 2 minutes and your in the middle of everything. We hired scooters for the day and rode to the beaches and relaxed down there.Easy place to ride in. Would definately stay here again but only in the superior rooms.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Van Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.