We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An to your Saves list
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Thanh Nien Rd., Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at the golden sands. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were large and comfortable. Only complaint would be the noise at all times of the night. Doors slamming etc.

Room Tip: Beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Kato28,

Warm Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your wonderful comments here on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to learn that our team looked after you and ensured that you had an enjoyable experience.

Hope to see you back!
With kind regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    208
    122
    96
    48
See reviews for
188
264
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Arrived 27/01/14 to be greater by friendly staff. Great room but facing north so was always cold. We had two weeks of sun( been told we where very lucky) then colddd weather. Thick woollens needed at this time of year. Hotel is great nice staff, breakfast plenty always replenishing supplies. Pool is very cold.....no swim up pool bar, no whirl pool, no beach cafe due to bad weather in dec 13 all cornered off but they are in the process of renovating & been told will becompleted by august 14 & what we have been told sounds fantastic.....we eat at the Vietnamese restaurant, very good but pricey compared to town, hotel empty at evening as everyone in town or rooms as no evening entertainment. Internet is poor connection & always losing signal but we managed. There are a few local eateries to the left of the hotel across the road....very pricey, DON'T bother horrible food not freshly cooked. Go to right outside hotel ten minute walk & we found quite afew restaurants cheaper, much nicer & food cooked fresh. Hoi an town is a wonderful place to explore eat & shop, you do need to barter if goods not priced, start at 2/3 what they ask then end up paying half the original price.....had fun with the sellers........we got fantastic shirts, t shirts etc from bam bou ( on the left as you walk up from the Chinese bridge...great quality & good price.... We did a lot of trips, my son, marble mountain, Eco tour, hue, hired bikes........all good, we also did cookery course at the goda.....excellent experiance, bike ride to market & paddy fields, meet locals & cooked great food....highly recommended......... We ate at cargo, mango mango as was recommended.....mango very expensive.... We found much better places near cargo....tam tams excellent food & service. We thought eateries where much better on the left of the river close to shops. Overall great holiday.....enjoy

Room Tip: north facing rooms are cold regardless of weather..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Plattys,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

We are so pleased that you were able to appreciate the beautiful Resort as well as engage with the dedicated team we have. Thank you for staying with us and sharing such a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. We will look forward to welcoming all of you back for the next holiday in Hoi An!

Warm regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Nice enough hotel. Has all the facilities you need, the pool is really nice and all the amenities are there.
There's a shuttle from the hotel to the town, however if you don't book you miss out and it doesn't run very frequently. We never used it and caught taxi's instead. This was a little inconvenient compared to other places we stayed on our travels, however I don't think many hotels are close to the town.
Most of the reception staff were friendly.
The hotel restaurants were pricey compared to what you can get in town (but still relatively affordable).

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Danielle C,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us and recommending our Resort here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and hope to see you in Golden Sand again very soon.

With kind regards,
The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Overall the resort is okay, there are a few improvements that need to occur though.

Extremely slow internet, I would recommend a different hotel if you need it like we did.

Rooms are not sound proof, you will wake up to people leaving their rooms early, doors slamming and the house keeping cart.

The shuttle bus is a great idea however it either needs to be larger or run more frequently. Take note it does not run between 11am until 2pm and 5pm until 8pm which is when I feel we would have used it most.

Otherwise, the staff are brilliant and very welcoming, the rooms are nice and the pool is awesome (as long as the weather is nice).

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear TracellerAdelaide,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Many thanks for your compliment of our staff are very nice. We appreciate it very much for this feedback especially the observation of room are not sound proof and the housekeeping area which need to be improved. We make a caution already to all of noisy sound as same as internet problem also had been fixed. We welcome you again to visit our place in which we want to overcome and show the improvement we had in terms of customer service.

Thank you for imparting your holiday an sharing your good observation.
Kind regards,
The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Very very very slow internet. Can only just pick up emails. If you need the computer for work or to even use facebook pick a different hotel!

For a top class resort you would expect a good internet service. Not what they currently provide.

Rooms nice and clean, the hotel provides a free shuttle bus to town.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Kathy L,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

We would like to extend our great appreciation with your publish feedback. We had already fixed the internet problem. Our commitment with all our guest for rendering our very best is one of our goal that we are looking forward to have it maintained and grow more. We appreciate it very much for this feedback especially the observation of room are nice and clean and the hotel provided a free shuttle bus to town.

We hope that you can drop by again in one of your future holidays.

Thank you.
The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a very picturesque resort outside of Hoi An located on a rocky beach. Service was excellent and the rooms large and comfortable. It was about a 10 minute taxi ride into the city center and the hotel has a free shuttle that runs on a schedule. (We took a taxi which was pretty cheap). If you are looking to lay on the beach, this is the hotel for you, but if you want to lay out by the beautiful pool overlooking the ocean, you will find this hotel very relaxing.

Room Tip: Decent value on agoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear dtanen,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our Resort. I am glad that you were happy with our beautiful scenery and accommodation, and hope that you will contact us when your travel plans bring you back to Golden Sand. We would love to have you back.

Warm regards,
The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The room was well maintained, with an excellent view to shore. The Vietnamese cuisine was at its best with lots of food items to offer during the morning breakfast. The ambience and children play good too. However, there needs to some more options for kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear An Kur 07,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at our Resort and at the same time would like to thank you for highlighting to us the areas where we can be better. As you have mentioned, we value tremendously the feedback from our guests and I will certainly review your comments with respective managers - particularly with our Food and Beverage Manager, Mr. Jai Kumar and Room Division Manager Mr. Nguyen Tan Dung.

Thank you for staying with us and making recommendation of our Resort here on TripAdvisor. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming all of you back to Hoi An again for your next family vacation.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An

Address: Thanh Nien Rd., Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 212 chalet like buildings housing the hotel rooms and suites and each of the room has a private balcony with garden view or ocean view. The originality of the Resort is 16 Suite rooms "the Hidden Charm of Golden Sand" as said by a guest. In addition, there are 196 Deluxe and Superior rooms. Their decoration is simple but warm and luxurious with Twin or King Bed, the bathroom has both bathtub and shower. 150m is a longest swimming pool in the Central Viet Nam and two swimming pools for Children, two restaurants serving delectable Vietnamese and Continental Cuisine. Tennis, mountain biking, scuba diving, accolade winning Vietnamese cooking classes and a wide range of well organized daily excursion options are available await at this fabulous hotel and a PADI licensed SCUBA diving operation. Kid's club for children as Kite flying, sand painting and mask painting…We open more facilities to satisfy the guest’s relaxation and open tour to discover Hoi An and neighbouring beautiful sites as My Son Sanctuary, the former imperial city of Hue, and the mystical Phong Nha caves in Quang Binh province… it is really a destination with 4 world culture heritages. With more than 11 private room for ladies and gentlemen, the Scentual Spa offers you and your body the vitality and energy to reach your physical peak. You can soak in a Jacuzzi bathtub and let loose as the skilled hands of professional therapist drive your stresses away. You can also get a massage outside while listening to the waves, eyes half closed under the shade of a palm tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Golden Sand Hotel Hoi An
Swiss-Belhotel Golden Sand Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.