We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice waterfront hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An to your Saves list
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Thanh Nien Rd., Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice waterfront hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Good value for money, this hotel is.
If you do not like huge hotels, do not choose this. The pool is enormous, and very pretty - so it is not so crowded. The childrens pool os probable the prettiest a have ever seen.
Breakfast IS crowded though.
If you expect a 5 star hotel, you probably will be a bit disappointed. This a 4 star hotel, if you ask me. This hotel has changed management, so it will get a well-needed "facelift".
It is placed at app 6 km from the center of Hoi An, which is ok since it is more quiet, has access to the sea - and there is a shuttle to the centre, although taxis are very cheap so the distance is not an issue.
The hotel has very good facilities, several restaurants for example, but these are almost always empty - my guess is that prices are to blame. Food and drinks in Vietnam do come cheap, and the hotel has (in comparison) very high prices.
But the food they serve is very good;)
All in all, a fine hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Anna-Maria,

Warm Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Golden Sand and we are also pleased to note that you have had a very enjoyable stay with us and our staff also enjoyed making your stay as memorable as possible.

Thank you & we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
With kind regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    208
    122
    96
    48
See reviews for
188
264
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at golden sands resort for 3 nights. Absolutely beautiful resort visually. The staff here speak English & are a credit to resort management. The food & beverage manager mingled amongst the guests in the morning at breakfast to get ideas on improvements for the buffet - was truly excellent!! We had the pleasure of using the courtesy shuttle service to travel to town centre & had a wonderful driver on a couple of occasions called "Cuong" - what a personality!! This guy was the funniest, happiest guy who made our trip extra xpecial. Cuong spoke English very well but was keen to learn more of our Aussie slang, very funny fella but had our group in stitches - well done Cuong, our group of two mums & two daughters loved you!! Rooms great size & pool area exceptional!! Look forward to coming back to stay at the resort again. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one & to Cuong, a big HELLO from us.

Room Tip: Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Chris B,

Warm Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you very much for your review, great to hear that you loved it and will be back soon! We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home and making your next stay even more enjoyable. We also pass your regards to Cuong who is till as sweet as ever.

Thanks again & Wishing you and your family all the best.
Warm regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is just very special- I loved looking out at breakfast over the pool and out to sea. The staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms clean, large and well equipped. Hoi An is beautiful- worth going on a bike ride with the guide from the hotel and on the fisherman river trip. Huge fun!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Ann E,

Warm Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

So nice to read your review, and thank you for coming to stay with us here in Hoi An, Vietnam and Golden Sand once again. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Hoi An and I am glad that you had a very relaxing stay.

Thanks and warm regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at the Golden Sands and had an amazing time. We had a deluxe garden room which was very large and luxurious. The swimming pool is amazing. We had a very nice breakfast included in the price which had a good variety. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I whole heartedly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Colombus 72,

Warm Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Resort and the services provided by our associates and we are also happy to welcome you back to your home.

Thank you & wishing you all the best.
Best regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just one word for this resort. Excellent A++++++. Staff were excellent,always helpful.Rooms a good size with excellent outlook. Surrounds were beautiful and relaxing, Vietnamese BBQ by the poolside 1 evening plus band, was a night to remember, the food was outstanding. Only a short taxe ride in the township of Hoi An. worth the cheap taxi fare for the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Margaret G,

Warm Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you so much for your positive rating for your overall experience which I will share with all our associates at the resort and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort when your travels bring you back to Hoi An, Vietnam.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent four days here in August with family who live in Hanoi. We arrived at the hotel rather early and the rooms weren't ready and so we sat for some time in the spacious and airy entrance. Check in was efficient and eventually we were shown our rooms. I was quite happy with our room which was clean and comfortable.

The swimming pool at this hotel is very impressive. It is very long and inviting and overlooks the sea and the islands beyond. The pool is long but I was uncertain that it was actually the length of three Olympic size pools. However, I enjoyed swimming in it. The pool area for the kids is absolutely great. We were with two little ones aged 7 and 5 and it was hard to keep them out of it. There's plenty of seating available around the pool and towels available on request. We tried the pool bar for food a couple of times and it was generally OK with a fair choice.

Sadly the beach washed away but there is another beach a couple of hundred metres down which can be used.

I thought that there was a very good choice at breakfast and had no problem finding what I wanted and enjoyed. Plenty of fresh fruit, rolls, croissants, omelettes, eggs, bacon and a whole host of other choices to suit many different people. We ate one at the Italian restaurant and it was just OK. The "Fun Bar" had very loud music and nobody in it. The kids enjoyed many tense games of table football.

Alcohol is generally quite expensive especially wine. However local beer is reasonable enough. There are plenty of bars within walking distance as well as a shop where I bought two bottles of reasonably priced wine and a cork screw!

We used the free transport to Hoi An and this service seemed quite efficient. Other times we used taxis to where we needed to get to. We weren't there long enough to appreciate much of what the hotel had to offer.

I enjoyed my time at this hotel and found it very restful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear chessiepops,

Warmest Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was not up to 5 star rating, the rooms had not been finished off propally, grouting needed doing in our room, little areas had been left uncompleted light bulbs needed chaging painting had been left half done.
One day we were told that our hairdryer did n't work because guests had used too much electricity, and there was none left ???, yet all the lights were on ?

Olympic sized pool a nice feature and looked really impressive.

The buffet style breakfast was caotic owing to a large number of Chinese guests having no manners, and being extremely gready their health and hygene was horrendous ! I felt very sorry for the Vietnese staff who were trying hard to replenish the dishes, whilst being spoken to like dogs by them.

In general the staff were very helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear amusedDerbyshire,

Warmest Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank for your comments regarding how we can improve our services related to the hairdryer issue and we are sorry if this deterred from you enjoying your stay fully. We will certainly follow this up with the Housekeeping Manager to ensure this is rectified in the future.

We hope that, for the most part, you enjoyed your visit to our resort, and provide us with the opportunity to improve the next time you decide to return.

Kind regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An

Address: Thanh Nien Rd., Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 212 chalet like buildings housing the hotel rooms and suites and each of the room has a private balcony with garden view or ocean view. The originality of the Resort is 16 Suite rooms "the Hidden Charm of Golden Sand" as said by a guest. In addition, there are 196 Deluxe and Superior rooms. Their decoration is simple but warm and luxurious with Twin or King Bed, the bathroom has both bathtub and shower. 150m is a longest swimming pool in the Central Viet Nam and two swimming pools for Children, two restaurants serving delectable Vietnamese and Continental Cuisine. Tennis, mountain biking, scuba diving, accolade winning Vietnamese cooking classes and a wide range of well organized daily excursion options are available await at this fabulous hotel and a PADI licensed SCUBA diving operation. Kid's club for children as Kite flying, sand painting and mask painting…We open more facilities to satisfy the guest’s relaxation and open tour to discover Hoi An and neighbouring beautiful sites as My Son Sanctuary, the former imperial city of Hue, and the mystical Phong Nha caves in Quang Binh province… it is really a destination with 4 world culture heritages. With more than 11 private room for ladies and gentlemen, the Scentual Spa offers you and your body the vitality and energy to reach your physical peak. You can soak in a Jacuzzi bathtub and let loose as the skilled hands of professional therapist drive your stresses away. You can also get a massage outside while listening to the waves, eyes half closed under the shade of a palm tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Golden Sand Hotel Hoi An
Swiss-Belhotel Golden Sand Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.