We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An to your Saves list
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Thanh Nien Rd., Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a family stay at the Golden Sands for 8 days June/July2013 and had a fabulous time.
The hotel itself is a little dated and to call it a 5 star is a bit generous. Wifi coverage and operation was a bit flakey. The hotel has a reasonable gym and a fabulous pool area with volley ball net that provided much entertainment for many a guest.

Dinner at the hotel is good with reasonable variety but a little pricy by Hoi An standards. We found ourselves dining in Hoi An many a night. Breakfast is reasonably extensive but a bit un-inspiring by day 8.

The rooms themselves were nice and particularly the beds/mattresses were of good quality.

What really made this trip memorable are the staff and I fondly remember and miss them all (trying to teach me Vietnamese). Nothing was too much effort at the reception desk (The Phuongs, Shyn, Lien, Hiep, Ha, Hoa, the tour desk (Van), the "scentuous" spa (Drang, Ha, Lem and Tien), bell boys & security. Could not have asked for more!

Will happily return to the Golden Sands but would scout for a special.

Room Tip: We hired 3 rooms and all were similar "business suites". Access to the beach is at the Nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Lex G,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at our beautiful Resort in Hoi An. Thank you for your kind comments which I will share with all our associates at the resort , who in return will certainly be much motivated by your kind comments and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    208
    122
    96
    48
See reviews for
188
264
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Really mixed this review. Reception staff very accommodating, food was fine ( buffet breakfast very average), Vietnamese meals good, but service and staff really poor. The pool is amazing, but they are a bit pedantic when it comes to towels and don't expect any service what so ever outside.Every other beach bed and table was broken. There is no beach as such, but they have a nice sandy man made area with good shades and wonderful views, but to swim in the ocean you have to walk to the side of the resort and go to a relatively unclean beach area. ( But why would you with a pool this big).
The rooms...oh dear..... well appointed but you can smell the mould when you walk in and it is visible all over the bathroom and over the walls on the room (certainly the 4 that our group occupied). When we showered, the water went through the wall and appeared behind the mirror in the bedroom! The mattresses are the firmest i have every felt.

This is an ok place to stay for a night or 2 to visit Hoi An, but if you are thinking of chilling for more than that I would look a bit further north at Furama or Fusion etc etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear SpenceinHonkers,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you for your valuable feedback we are always very appreciative of guest who take the time and effort to share their experiences with us.
We have taken note of the areas you have mentioned for improvement and will work hard to take the corrective actions.
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My teenage sons and I have just spent 6 nights at this resort and it was the biggest disappointment during an overall fantastic holiday in Vietnam. The resort looks wonderful on arrival with a beautiful lobby area. However we were unimpressed with every other aspect. We were initially given a room with a lingering smell of cigarettes. The walls looked like they hadn't been painted in years, the tiles in the bathroom were cracked and mouldy. We were given a slightly better room after I complained,which was clean but just average. The staff were generally unhelpful. I had to chase the them for coffee at breakfast and was never offered a second cup. They seem poorly trained and not very welcoming. The breakfast buffet is well below average. The whole place looks tired and needs a good refurbishment. The sun beds around the pool were in disrepair, if you can get one. There is a small, untidy area on the side where you can have a swim in the sea but it could do with some major renovation, otherwise there is no access to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Travelswithmyfriends,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

We are very grateful to you for also raising your concerns regarding our services and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will be sure to bring this to the F&B and HK Manager attention so we can improve for the future.

We hope that overall your stay was a positive one and hope that you give us a chance to improve on your next visit.

Thank you & Regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Big hotel, but not much service. The room was ok , we had a garden view room which was central and quiet. We had a few issues with the room but admittedly they came and fixed them promptly. The pool area is very nice with beautiful views over the bay.
Note. There is No beach in front of the hotel as it was swept away in a storm last year only rocks but you don't have to walk that far to get to the beach. I know some people were disappointed with this.
The service was less than average with language being the main barrier even on the tour desk.
Breakfast was definitely below par for a 5 star.
I noticed room service trays outside rooms in evening before bed and they were still there before and after breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: Our bed was ok not great. We were happy in garden room as it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Lissa F,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our time spent at Golden Sand was superb. A great location, an awesome kids pool and a huge main pool. The resort is quiet, clean and represents excellent value for money. A special thanks to our waitress, Dao, who made every effort to ensure we were looked after and our kids were happy. It was a very memorable and happy holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Nickmav1075,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

A big thank you for taking the time to write the above review. We are always very thankful to guests who do this, as it helps us to continually improve the hospitality we offer at the resort. We are so happy that, overall, you enjoyed your stay and we certainly enjoyed having you as a guest to the resort and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With kind regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We really liked the location of this hotel - right on the beach yet just a short drive into the Old Town with a good shutle service. The rooms were a little tired but still spacious, with good air conditioning and the hotel had everything we needed. The breakfasts were great and the pool lovely and big. Very relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear PaulaDock75,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at our beautiful Resort in Hoi An. Thank you for your kind comments which I will share with all our associates at the resort , who in return will certainly be much motivated by your kind comments and look forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice location but service and rooms below average. Pool was only full half way when first arrived, which later we found out was because there were no lifeguards also pool extremely dirty not sure how often was cleaned but there was reagularily things floating in the pool eg hair, leafs etc. Always felt when asking for service that staff didn't want to help and we were annoying them. Breakfast quality was very poor ended up just going out for breakfast at local restaurants. Location is nice, right on the beach and very accessible to hoi-an town with regular shuttle buses.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear lamstephennz,

Greetings from Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our resort. It is so important for the continual improvement to receive these and it is shared with all the team. We would like also thank you for bringing your concerns regarding Swimming Pool and F&B services to our attention. We will be sure to address this with the Recreation Manager and F&B Manager to correct our services.

We hope that, for the most part, you enjoyed your visit to our resort, and provide us with the opportunity to improve the next time you decide to return.

With kind regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An

Address: Thanh Nien Rd., Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 212 chalet like buildings housing the hotel rooms and suites and each of the room has a private balcony with garden view or ocean view. The originality of the Resort is 16 Suite rooms "the Hidden Charm of Golden Sand" as said by a guest. In addition, there are 196 Deluxe and Superior rooms. Their decoration is simple but warm and luxurious with Twin or King Bed, the bathroom has both bathtub and shower. 150m is a longest swimming pool in the Central Viet Nam and two swimming pools for Children, two restaurants serving delectable Vietnamese and Continental Cuisine. Tennis, mountain biking, scuba diving, accolade winning Vietnamese cooking classes and a wide range of well organized daily excursion options are available await at this fabulous hotel and a PADI licensed SCUBA diving operation. Kid's club for children as Kite flying, sand painting and mask painting…We open more facilities to satisfy the guest’s relaxation and open tour to discover Hoi An and neighbouring beautiful sites as My Son Sanctuary, the former imperial city of Hue, and the mystical Phong Nha caves in Quang Binh province… it is really a destination with 4 world culture heritages. With more than 11 private room for ladies and gentlemen, the Scentual Spa offers you and your body the vitality and energy to reach your physical peak. You can soak in a Jacuzzi bathtub and let loose as the skilled hands of professional therapist drive your stresses away. You can also get a massage outside while listening to the waves, eyes half closed under the shade of a palm tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Golden Sand Hotel Hoi An
Swiss-Belhotel Golden Sand Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.