We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An

Save Saved
You added Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Thanh Nien Rd., Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A place to unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed 6 nights with our son , Daughter in Law & granddaughter. One of the reasons we picked the days we did was so we could have the famous Friday night BBQ buffet which in a previous email I was told it was still on. ( Management changed ) Much to our disappointment because of the large group booking of tourists it wouldn't be available as they had to cater for that group. Was explained they would orgainse something if we wanted just for us . The poor place had been hit again with typhoons so none of the beach was left but the pool was still a great place to hang out and Phong & the other staff at the pool bar helped us have some good times. Found the new management not as friendly as the past loved the greeting you used to get from Alec & Sondra but in saying that the rest of the staff at Golden Sands try so hard to make your stay as pleasant s they can. I saw some customers being very rude to the breakfast staff but they handled just smiled and carried on. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Well noted and I would like to welcome you again here in Swiss-belhotel Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An at your earliest convenience.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    194
    116
    93
    38
See reviews for
174
253
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel and were very pleased with the people working there. Smiling faces, we felt welcomed by all. The common area are just beautiful, and the swimming pool is huge. They were not a lot of chairs available around it. On a warm day it must be difficult to find a spot. The beach has been destroyed by storms, the owners had to add rocks to prevent further erosion. There is a beautiful beach 10 minutes away on foot. The room was very clean but the floor (laminated) badly needs replacement. I feel the employees are doing a terrific job to keep this property in good shape, but it needs a good tune-up. This is not a world class 5 stars, but it is a nice place to be relaxing away from noises.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Well noted and I would like to welcome you again here in Swiss-belhotel Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An at your earliest convenience.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed 7 night in this hotel and because the most of the time it was raining, I spent my days visiting the old city of Hoi An. I always used the hotel shuttle bus, which runs 6 times per day. To be sure that you have a seat, book it in advance in the reception.
In Hoi An, in addition to clothes you can also order shoes made for you. Yaly (tailor) has two shops in the old city and there is a shoemaker on Trang Hung Dao Street.
When you walk in the old city, you may be invited to buy something almost everywhere. In case you want to buy things, visit first several shops because the prices may vary. All prices are given in USD.
You can also buy local handicrafts; there is one shop in the Phan Chau Trinh Street, after the le Loi Street and another in the Nguyen Thai Hoc Street, in these shops the prices are fixed.
The room was big enough, but the bed a little hard. The service is friendly. Very big pool, but the beach is now 1 km away; there is also a little village with shops and restaurants. Just outside the hotel, there is a shop where you can buy beverages.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Well noted and I would like to welcome you again here in Swiss-belhotel Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An at your earliest convenience.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was meant to only stay here for 4 nights but ended up staying for 5, due to a scooter accident.
When I had my accident the staff were amazing and very helpful. Nothing was an issue from organising staff to drive and accompany me to the hospital for a check up. When the accident happened a staff member came to the hospital and the shuttle bus picked me up.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful and nothing is an issue.

The only problem I had was that the wifi did not work as well as it could have.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room ask to be relocated. I was originally in the building near the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Well noted and I would like to welcome you again here in Swiss-belhotel Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An at your earliest convenience.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I can't really think of anything to fault this hotel other than the average quality breakfast and the fact that they charge for using the internet at the business center, even though I was staying in a premium room. Otherwise it is highly recommended especially for families. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the service impeccable and the hotel facilities adequate. The music trio at the bar was extremely good, and the only meal we had at the Vietnamese restaurant was delicious, though a bit pricy. It has to be said, though, that this hotel is better stayed in during the warmer months, especially if one is to enjoy the beach or the swimming pool, which is probably the longets I've ever seen.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a sea view room. Most in fact have a partial view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Well noted and I would like to welcome you again here in Swiss-belhotel Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An at your earliest convenience.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed our last night of a 4 night visit to Hoi Ann. Our visit was focused on the shopping and downtown area, although we did take an excursion to the "My Son Temple Ruins". We were greeted with a refreshing drink and accommodating staff. The pool was beautiful overlooking the ocean and about 100 yards long. The ocean is not very accessable from the resort because large stones have been put in front to stop erosion. There were regular shuttles to town so we could have stayed here and still gotten to town easily but we would of had to wait for the shuttle. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in our 3 week visit to Vietnam. We also eat in the hotel for lunch. The lunch was very nice but a little over priced compaired to restraunts in town. The rooms were large and clean although our non-smoking room smelled like someone had just smoked there. The staff was very quick to bring deorderizers. If you like being right on the ocean but would rather lounge and swim at a pool then you will love this setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria L, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at Swiss-belhotel Golden Sand Resort and Spa and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We really value the feedback we receive and use this as a tool for our team effort to constantly strive for a better standard and ultimately better guest experience. I hope we can welcome you back to Hoi An in the future and wish you safe and happy travels.

Regards
David Coyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Clean well appointed rooms. Bed was a little on the hard side and pillows were okay. Could have been better. Stayed one night. Buffet breakfast was good. Service was good. I wish that I had more time to swim in the pool as it was lovely. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Wifi was troublesome as the signal was poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Well noted and I would like to welcome you again here in Swiss-belhotel Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An at your earliest convenience.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An

Address: Thanh Nien Rd., Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#24 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 212 chalet like buildings housing the hotel rooms and suites and each of the room has a private balcony with garden view or ocean view. The originality of the Resort is 16 Suite rooms "the Hidden Charm of Golden Sand" as said by a guest. In addition, there are 196 Deluxe and Superior rooms. Their decoration is simple but warm and luxurious with Twin or King Bed, the bathroom has both bathtub and shower. 150m is a longest swimming pool in the Central Viet Nam and two swimming pools for Children, two restaurants serving delectable Vietnamese and Continental Cuisine. Tennis, mountain biking, scuba diving, accolade winning Vietnamese cooking classes and a wide range of well organized daily excursion options are available await at this fabulous hotel and a PADI licensed SCUBA diving operation. Kid's club for children as Kite flying, sand painting and mask painting…We open more facilities to satisfy the guest’s relaxation and open tour to discover Hoi An and neighbouring beautiful sites as My Son Sanctuary, the former imperial city of Hue, and the mystical Phong Nha caves in Quang Binh province… it is really a destination with 4 world culture heritages. With more than 11 private room for ladies and gentlemen, the Scentual Spa offers you and your body the vitality and energy to reach your physical peak. You can soak in a Jacuzzi bathtub and let loose as the skilled hands of professional therapist drive your stresses away. You can also get a massage outside while listening to the waves, eyes half closed under the shade of a palm tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Golden Sand Resort And Spa
Swiss-Belhotel Golden Sand Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.