We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An

Save Saved
You added Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Thanh Nien Rd., Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 80 hotels in Hoi An
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Golden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Wow what a wonderful experience. Our 4 nights here were one of the high lights of our 5 weeks in Vietnam. The management and staff made us feel sooo welcome from the moment we arrived to when we left . We made a general inquiry one afternoon on a walk from Hoi An town and were made feel welcome from then no question was too hard to answer and if we had wanted they would have shown us some rooms then & there. The manager is hands on and doing a great job of getting this hotel to be one of Hoi Ans best. Breakfast and all meals we had there were really good. The Friday night BBQ was especially good , compliments to the chef for having everything cooked to perfection. Thank you Alex & Sondra for a amazing end to our holiday and these two Aussies will return . To the rest of the staff your smiles tell it all

Room Tip: We had an Ocean facing room which we loved, it was spacious clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear Fitnfifty,

We all thank you very much for your comments. I am really happy you have enjoyed your time here in Swiss-belhotel Hoi An and there’s nothing more I can add to that, except we are all waiting you here again at your earliest convenience.

All the best,

GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    196
    119
    94
    42
See reviews for
183
258
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Lovely hotel. And they have a free shuttle bus to and from the town. The pool was massive & refreshing but the bar staff seemed confused alot of the time! The highlight of this hotel was the restaurant. The food the service was the BEST we had encountered on our entire holiday travelling around Asia. The Lady in charge of the Restaurant was so friendly and welcoming and always making sure every customer was happy and had what they needed. The place was so clean and the food was oh la la! The Chef came out to meet us and was also very welcoming and we told him how much we loved his food. Service with a smile and tasty food, clean environment and relaxed environment and the entertainment was great too. This restaurant is a MUST!

Room Tip: The standard room is small and NO flat screen tv! the old style tv! not that you will be watching tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Angerocks,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments as well for your time to post them. Happy to hear you enjoy our FB service, Chef, as well a small part of the free of charge services the Hotel has to offer.

The standard room is 40 square meters. Now depends about one’s personal perception if this is small, or big, or ok. For sure though, you were sitting in one of the non-refurbished rooms yet, as stated about the tv sets. Sorry for that.
Very soon all the rooms will have the new plasma screens, but again, in such nice surroundings one might stop for a while watching the stock exchange markets live.

Waiting you here for the next visit,

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was our third trip to Hoi An staying at Golden Sands (over the past 2 years - we live in Asia). We really enjoy this resort because the rates are reasonable, it's right on the water but not far from town and the huge pool (which has a fun kids area) is beautiful. Since we have started going to the GS they have had some challenges including the total loss of their beach during the winter months. They have made a lot of changes and are continuing to do so to rework the layout to its best advantage now overlooking the ocean. You can actually still access a neighboring beach to the north but must navigate through a neighboring property which is unpleasantly garbage-y! Access to this neighboring beach must be resolved as being on the beach is a big part of the fun. But on our trip we had a great time in the ocean and in the pool. I agree with some that say there needs to be upgrading and that is clearly happening all around. The only other negative thing that I did not remember from past visits was the very hard bed. This also must change if they want to appeal to westerners. But on the plus side, it's a beautiful place, they have a new guest manager and contrary to what some have dissed, our family all love the breakfasts. We didn't eat there other times because Hoi An has SO many delicious options. Also the rooms are LARGE!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Caveguy66

Thank you for the comments and I will wait you back here at your earliest convenience. Please feel free to contact us at any time.
All your description are pertinent, point taken and thank you for your attention to details towards what I am doing around the hotel, in terms of updating everything. Wish other guests of mine will have the same constructive attitude….
The piece of beach between us and Victoria Hotel belong to the Government and true, it is little bit messy due to last high waves bringing a lot of debris on, but we have plans on maintaining it better in future in cooperation with other fonts. On the other hand, the access for the ocean has being restored these days on our property, so one does not need any more taking the long way around for accessing the sea.

The beds…well that’s a part of traditional Asian way of sleeping…I start feeling it also, as I am not young anymore. But anyhow, as I did not heard anyone complaining about having too soft mattresses … I am changing them as well these days. By your next visit, you’ll find also a selection of pillows shapes & styles and pillows menus with aroma-therapy as well; choice of different smells to make one’s sleep more relaxing!

Thank you also for the breakfast comments, our Chef will highly appreciate that, as he’s working hard to keep all clients happy; also your comment give me a good hand, on addressing a biased, ill and un-sustained previous comment which unfortunately I cannot remove from there.

Till your next visit I wish you all the best.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had expected to stay at the Life Heritage Resort in Hoi An but there had been a serious flood some 3 days earlier and so our tour operator switched us to this sea side hotel. The hotel is relatively modern, we had stayed next door in the Victoria Hotel some 9 years earlier and the Golden Sands was not there then. opposite the hotel there was a major building site, which did not impact on us but I understand that many apartments are to be built there. The whole area around Hoi An is being developed and one wonders whether the infrastructure will cope?
Our room was very large and comfortable but tiling in the bathroom and the laminated floor looked surprisingly tired. We had a problem with a blocked drain in th shower but it was dealt with efficiently.
The entrance hall is vast, we sat and listened to some delightful local musicians and enjoyed a beer. We arrived relatively late in the evening so had dinner at 10 pm, food was OK and service still friendly. The next night we dined earler and had excellent food, I had a traditional "hot pot", which was great fun but surely intended for two, worth trying and really tasty.
We had originally been due to stay a five ninute walk from the centre of Hoi An,now we had a 10 - 15 minute trip in the free hotel shuttle bus or we took a taxi, which cost US$5. In Hoi an we were asked to take a river tour but since we already had a fishing trip planned we were not interested but for US$15 we had a boat back to the hotel, the trip took an hour and was a reasonably interesting trip because we saw lots of genuine fishing activity; at one time it did look as though we might head out to sea and it was a little choppy but overall it was good fun. We landed outside the Victoria Hotel and walked a few hundred metres to our hotel.
The hotel had one of the longest swimming pools that I have ever seen and a well set out play area for children. The beach had been closed by the storm but re-opened after a couple of days and looked to be fine for children. If I was a parent this might well be a good choice for a hotel in the Hoi An area and was fine for us as a group of four displaced travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Haemtraveller

Welcome back to Vietnam first of all, and thank you for your good comments.
We did our best to accommodate all the flood’s refugees from our colleagues at Life Heritage on short notice, therefore your attention to details and our results on the service given, are adding to my personal satisfaction. We considered you as well all the rest of the people as all our regular clients.
The beach is appearing and disappearing during this rainy season as you have noticed, still congratulations on “making lemonade when life gives you lemons” by having that interesting boat trip down the river and back to the House. Awesome!
The area is developing and I can assure you the infrastructure as well, via day to day serious and positive governmental input. ( ie streets/water supply/electricity etc)
With the hope of seeing you back here with us at Swiss-belhotel Golden Sand, I remain with best regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed at Golden Sands for 4 nights of our 2-week honeymoon and enjoyed it immensely. The resort was a bit quiet (someone told us it was only one-third full) and there was clearly some construction happening between the pool and the beach, but this didn't deter us one bit. The foyer is immense and very, very impressive. The new Guest Services Manager, Sandro, greeted us after we'd checked in, and told us about some special honeymoon treats awaiting us. He made us feel so welcome! He also suggested we didn't swim at the beach, as the recent typhoon had made it quite dirty and a bit dangerous, but we didn't mind as we had the beautiful pool to enjoy! Room was great, all the meals were fabulous (thank you Allan AKA Panda - who even made Fun Pub patrons mini pies to enjoy while watching the Rugby WOrld Cup Final!) and the staff were so very attentive and lovely (agree with other reviews here - Viet from the pool bar was an absolute standout). Only criticism would be the courtesy bus into town. We found it didn't run enough, and the timetable was clearly designed to try and get you to stay and eat at the resort (needless to say, it didn't work for us, we just got a cab instead!) All in all a great resort, with the 5 star frills minus the 5 star pretention.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear LCGriffith,

Thank you for the good comments and for your time posting them in order for others to read and get your feelings. I am happy to see some good comments about my personnel as well.
For better comfort to you and for my future guests I arrange the changing of the big umbrellas on the beach as the old ones were pretty, bad so I do apologize about those works. About the sea…well, there’s nothing we can do about mother nature. Better times to come from December onwards.

The shuttle bus is performing 7 trips per day nowadays, with no intention of keeping you inside the hotel, but just a result of our research on guest’s opinion about that . We’re trying to keep everybody happy, but you’re absolutely right, taxi’s are working and are extremely cheap.
But once more; if you’ll not use our Restaurants, you’ll never know about the food quality we have here (Executive Chef - AKA Panda & team )

We are implementing a Vietnamese genuine service here, to give the real taste of “service” rooted in the local traditional hospitality and differentiating like this from other standard 5* hotels in the area; therefore I am glad you felt being in a 5* and still free of the traditional segment’s stiffness.

With best regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The resort is nice. Rooms were clean. Pool was lovely. Laundry service was excellent. Some Services were limited. Massage hut near ocean not in use, bar at one end of the pool is closed permanently, staff in restaurant don't leave you alone hanging around wanting to practice their english with you when you are trying to eat (it gets a bit too much after a while). Beach has been completely washed away by typoon a couple of years ago and now there is a rock retaining wall stopping the ocean from washing away the pool and the resort. As for the food, well read my next paragraph and judge for yourself:

Stayed 5 nights. My 8 year old daughter ate pork sausages for breakfast at 7am on the Monday morning (last morning of our stay). We flew to Nha Trang afterwards. Ate lunch in resort at Nha Trang at 3pm (a meal she shared with my husband) and by 7pm she was feeling unwell. By 4 am she was violently ill - followed by a visit to local hospital and medical evacuation to HCMC where she was hospitalised until the following Monday with salmonella poisoning. I always thought it was safe to eat in 4 and 5 star resorts - this has certainly shown me how wrong were we. During our stay in Hoi An she only ate at the Goldens Sands. Incubation period for salmonella poisoning is between 12 and 72 hours - you do the maths!!!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a beach/ocean side suite - there is no beach to wander out to or relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you.

Regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

After staying in a variety of 5star hotels and resorts around the world, including Vietnam, I was so bitterly disappointed when we arrived at this resort, ready for the luxurious relaxing 6 day holiday part of our trip, I had to fight back tears! Yes I may have high expectations but our 'beach view room' was of the back of another building with a partial view of the ocean which was inhibited by an earth mover doing construction on the beach. The view of the beach from the rest of the hotel, including the crappy pool was blocked by a make-shift net fence due to further construction on the beach.

My first impressions were that the place was built in the 80s and had not been updated since. All furniture and decor was old and crappy and the pool, beauty spa and bars pale in comparison to real 5 star facilities. Swim up pool bar with old rusty piping for chairs, one of the outdoor spas didn't work, the sun bed my boyfriend was lying on broke our first day. Our beds were like sleeping on wooden sleepers they were so hard. The light mounted on the wall next to our bed fell off when my boyfriend bumped it. The wifi works sometimes and in some places.

When booking a trip to HoiAn don't expect untouched Vietnam. Cua Dai Beach has been developed to the hilt and there is just resort on top of resort with all surrounding vegetation cleared, no doubt, for more resorts. On our second day we looked around at a few other places to stay. We looked at the Boutique HoiAn which looked gorgeous, and also the Victoria looked good. The Agri Bank Hotel was like out of a horror movie and I felt sick after looking inside.

The breakfast was terrible compared to other buffets I have had.

For our last three nights we upgraded to the beach front villa. There was a huge different in rooms from the beach view to the beach front and we were much happier here. We were lucky enough to get a half price deal on the net otherwise this room is close to $400 per night and I don't think it's worth it. Even the Jacuzzi in our room here leaked water down the drain when full.




A lot of the staff were brilliant and were always chatty and friendly. This was the best part of the resort, however many times the service from other staff let this hotel down.

Room Tip: Definitely go for beach front villa if u can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBGSHoiAnVietnam, General Manager at Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear EmmaJW8232,

Greetings from Swiss-belhotel Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you for your comments.

Regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An

Address: Thanh Nien Rd., Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#26 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 212 chalet like buildings housing the hotel rooms and suites and each of the room has a private balcony with garden view or ocean view. The originality of the Resort is 16 Suite rooms "the Hidden Charm of Golden Sand" as said by a guest. In addition, there are 196 Deluxe and Superior rooms. Their decoration is simple but warm and luxurious with Twin or King Bed, the bathroom has both bathtub and shower. 150m is a longest swimming pool in the Central Viet Nam and two swimming pools for Children, two restaurants serving delectable Vietnamese and Continental Cuisine. Tennis, mountain biking, scuba diving, accolade winning Vietnamese cooking classes and a wide range of well organized daily excursion options are available await at this fabulous hotel and a PADI licensed SCUBA diving operation. Kid's club for children as Kite flying, sand painting and mask painting…We open more facilities to satisfy the guest’s relaxation and open tour to discover Hoi An and neighbouring beautiful sites as My Son Sanctuary, the former imperial city of Hue, and the mystical Phong Nha caves in Quang Binh province… it is really a destination with 4 world culture heritages. With more than 11 private room for ladies and gentlemen, the Scentual Spa offers you and your body the vitality and energy to reach your physical peak. You can soak in a Jacuzzi bathtub and let loose as the skilled hands of professional therapist drive your stresses away. You can also get a massage outside while listening to the waves, eyes half closed under the shade of a palm tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Golden Sand Hotel Hoi An
Swiss-Belhotel Golden Sand Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;