We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better and better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Hoi An Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Hoi An Resort to your Saves list
Anantara Hoi An Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gets better and better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We've stayed at the Anantara a number of times - always wonderful but in our experience it just gets better and better. It's a great place to stay for a Hoi An visit - just on the edge of the old town so it's perfect for catching the atmosphere. There may be great options down on the beach but it's for the evenings that the anantara really scores - just a short walk from everything that's going on so you really feel part of the action. The rooms are lovely (we particularly love the river facing rooms), the service really excellent, and the attention to detail impressive. This time we took their full moon package so had a number of extras thrown in. Not things that we would have signed up for normally including the boat ride and lantern making class but we'll worth it. Unexpectedly the lantern making turned out to be a real highlight as we not only had fun, but we're also really pleased with the results of our handiwork! We also opted for their Dining By Design option - a bit overwhelmed by the sheer amount of food but it was all delicious and perfectly cooked by our own chef and with great service from Quoc. The sala was beautifully decorated and it was a lovely romantic evening away from the hustle and bustle. The grounds are lovely with a very nice pool (although a bit shallow so not really for serious swimming). Standard bikes are free of charge but you can pay a small additional charge for high quality mountain bikes which is well worth it for exploring the surrounding area. Highly recommended with all the facilities, amenities and services you would expect from a hotel at this level including a fine dining restaurant, a great Spa and a good Irish pub. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    157
    35
    4
    1
See reviews for
114
420
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is beautiful, comfortable and first class in all respects. The entire staff at hotel is very polite, friendly and helpful giving 5 star service.

Right along the river it's in a great location, close to old town but out of the hustle and bustle. There is always a nice breeze here keeping it cool in the hot weather. The rooms, hotel, pool and restaurants are beautiful and comfortable.

Food at pool, breakfast and in restaurant is delicious and reasonably priced. One of the best breakfasts we had in our 5 weeks in Vietnam.

I will definitely stay here again on next visit and will try their other locations around the world.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, today
Dear Craig

On behalf of the entire team and I we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Anantara Hoi An Resort during your recent visit to the Central Cost of Vietnam and for taking the time to share your amazing stories her on social media.

We are delighted that you have had such a memorable and enjoyable time with us and thank you also for your acknowledgement of the amazing group of associates who make up the most important part of Anantara and who strive so passionately to serve you.

I am delighted that you would like to return and stay with us again and if if I can be of any assistance in such a trip I would be delight to help. Hope to see you again and once more thank you for choosing Anantara.

Enjoy your future travels.

Kind regards
The team and Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We picked this hotel because we liked the style of it - a colonial look on the river. It lived up to all expectations. Clean, well maintained, excellent staff and service. Really nothing to fault. From a location perspective it worked well for us being only a 10 - 15 minute walk into the centre of old Hoi An and a 10 minute / $5 taxi ride from the beach. We did consider the reverse location: beach hotel with a taxi ride into town but glad we chose this location. There are free bikes to use at the hotel but not being young and immortal any longer we stuck to walking and taxis.

Room Tip: We had a garden view which was peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, today
Dear Gary

Warm regards from Anantara Hoi An Resort and thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experiences and amazing stories here on social media.

We are thrilled that you have had such an enjoyable time as a result of choosing to stay with us and thank you very much for your kind words about aur wonderful team members.

I do hope that as you share your amazing stories in the future with family & friends that this will lead you to a return visit to this amazing destination as we would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Once more thank you for choosing Anantara and wishing you wonderful and fun filled future travels.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Hoi An is a must. Beautiful, our visit was more to visit the city than enjoy the beach. Well , if your purpose is to know the city, this hotel is estrategically placed. Yo may walk everywhere from it. As well they lend you bicycles, not that you need them since everything is very close. The rooms are spacious and nice. All of them open to an outsSide gallery. The breakfast is amazing. And the personal more than kind, as everybody is in Vietnam.
However if your purpose is to enjoy the beaches you should look for a hotel in the beach. And take a taxI to visit the old city. The taxis are very cheap and easy to find.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Ines

Warm regards from the beautiful city of Hoi An and thank you very much for taking the time to share all of your amazing stories with us as well as choosing to stay here at Anantara Hoi An Resort.

We are delighted that you have had such a wonderful and memorable stay as a result of choosing us and you really do seemed to have captured all of the great things that make Vietnam so beautiful.

We do hope that in the future your journeys will see you pass our doors again as we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again.

Thank you and kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the beautiful Anantara Resort Hoi An. I can not express enough how wonderful and magical this resort is. From check in to departure we were treated with such kindness, hospitality and professionalism. The rooms are amazing with such detail and a great layout. The location is fabulous being right on the river and such close proximity to the ancient town. The staff are a true asset to Anantara and made our stay an unforgettable experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: Near the Pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guests

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your valuable day to share all of your amazing stories and experiences here on social media regarding your recent stay here at Anantara Hoi An Resort and thank you very much for choosing to stay with us.

We are thrilled that you have had such a wonderful experiences as a result of your choice and that the team have complemented your time with us in such a positive fashion.

If the opportunity presents itself in the future to pass our way again we would be delighted to be able to welcome you on a return stay, hope to see you soon.

Thank you again for choosing Anantara and enjoy your future travels.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twill56
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Without doubt the best hotel in Hoi An.We booked directly with the hotel and from first contact everything went without a hitch from airport transfers to trips booked through the hotel.
The staff are so helpful and go that extra mile to make sure everything is just perfect.They all have a smile on their faces and greet you everytime you meet them.
The hotel itself is fabulous and is in an ideal location on the river and only a 5 to 10 mins stroll to the Old Town.
We stayed in a garden view room which was comparable to a suite in most other hotels,with a lounge area,bedroom massive shower/bath area and a sit out area with two comfortable loungers.
The gardens and pool area (which is great for chilling out in the heat of the afternoon) are lovely with views over the river.
The breakfasts are amazing-so much choice (try the noodle soup its delicious).
There are free cycles at the hotel,which we made good use of to cycle to the Coconut Groves nearby which are so picturesque and out to An Bang beach-the best beach by far-much better than Cui Dai beach which suffers badly from erosion.
If you are into yoga there is a free yoga session every morning by the pool (not for me but my wife went every morning).
If you are visiting Hoi An do stay for more than 1 or 2 nights (we stayed for 6) because there is so much to see and do in the area,and do stay at The Anantara.You wont be dissapointed

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear twill56

On behalf of the entire team and I thank you very much for staying with us here at Anantara Hoi An resort, for your amazing review and wonderful recommendation of our property.

I am delighted that the associates and the resort have made such a positive impression on you and allowed you to collect so many amazing stories and experiences as a result of choosing to stay with us.

The really is so much to see and do in this unique destination and it seems you have captured so much of what make Hoi An so incredibly special.

I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back once again to add to your memories and if so please do not hesitate to contact me as I will be delighted to be of assistance

Thank you again for choosing Anantara and wishing you many more fun filled adventures

Kind regards
The team and Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a junior river view suite, located right on the river bank. The room had a large indoor sitting area plus two very comfortable seating areas on a covered veranda. There was a large, comfortable double bed and a big bathroom with sunken bath tub. Everything worked and was spotlessly clean. Sleep quality was first-rate.

Service was excellent: our room was tidied several times each day. There were lots of little touches like flowers on the bed and towels folded into animal sculptures. The gardens are very pretty with lots of flowers everywhere, including over many of the roofs.

This 94 room hotel is five minutes walk from the town centre and a range of good restaurants. There is a shuttle bus to the beaches some 5km away, but it leaves at 0900 and returns at 1600 and so commits guests to staying on the beach for the whole day - unless you find your own way back.

Breakfast was superb with a huge variety of western and Asian dishes. It included touches intended for children, like peanut butter, ice cream and even a chocolate fountain.

The pool is fairly small and very shallow, but fine to cool down in on a hot day. We went in a UK school holiday period: there were a number of British children in this hotel and it was noisy round the pool in the afternoon.

Next door to the hotel is "Mr Clean" who operates a great laundry service. We had a dozen shirts laundered, ironed and returned in less than 24 hours in sealed plastic bags for just 10,000Dong (US$0.50) each. This service is highly recommended, and there is lots of competition to keep quality up and prices down.

We would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear J&P

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to share all of your amazing stories with us all on social media and for choosing to stay with us at this amazing destination in the Central Coast of Vietnam.

We are absolutely delighted that you have had such a wonderful time as a result of choosing to stay with us and accumulated so many fantastic memories to be now relived with family and friends as you look back on your Vietnam adventure.

I sincerely hope that you do choose to journey our way again in your future travels and if so please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance at all regarding such a visit.

Tanks you once again for choosing Anantara and looking forward to seeing you again in the future

The entire team and Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Hoi An Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.