We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Luxury in hoi an” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Hoi An Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Hoi An Resort to your Saves list
Anantara Hoi An Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Fuengirola, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location. Luxury in hoi an”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We have stayed three days in this lovely hotel, we had two deluxe rooms and we loved the location and the comfort. also their breakfast is the best we have had in the whole time travelling in Vietnam, this is a very expensive hotel for Vietnam but worth it if you want to spoil yourself a little!
Our 15 years old son and 13 years old daughter loved it too.

Room Tip: Rooms near the river quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    120
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
87
302
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The hotel was very conveniently located Within walking distance to the old town. We had a pleasant time. The room was spacious and comfortable. The reason it vì We would not give it so so great !!!

staff very friendly and helpful.
definitely i will recommend to my friends

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was very conveniently located within walking distance to the old town. The room was spacious and comfortable. All in all, we had a pleasant time. The reason we wouldn't give it five stars is that the service is a little hit or miss. Many of the staff are very friendly, but they are not always the most attentive. I was expecting a tailor to come meet me at the hotel for my final fitting, and even though I had asked the bell staff at the entry to let me know when they had arrived, when I checked with them later, they were clueless. The turn down also is very inflexible. They will only do it between a certain time (before 7pm), so if you are getting ready for dinner, your choice is to have them in the room while you're getting ready, or miss the turn down.

Also even though we stayed at the hotel for three nights, they did not change the sheets a single time. As a result, we ended up with some gritty sheets on our final night. Trying to be green is understandable, but it doesn't seem right when it's done at the expense of customers.

WiFi is very good, but bath is sunken in, which makes it awkward to use.

Note that the river view suite is a river view only in that the entryway to the room looks out the river. There is a sitting area, but you are exposed to passing traffic. It's nice, but since we had the blinds closed for privacy most of the time, I'm not sure the river view is worth it.

If you are interested in laundry, I wouldn't do it at the hotel but at one of the laundry services right outside the hotel. We used No. 1 laundry, which charges by the kilo.

Room Tip: River view isn't worth it because the view is out of your front windows, which you will probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear grottoyk

Thank you very much for making Anantara Hoi An Resort your choice of residence while visiting this amazing Central Coast destination and it is a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are delighted that you have had such a pleasant time with us and thanks also for your review and its wonderful title.

Thank you also for your feedback and I am very sorry that aspects of your stay with us have not been up to our normal Anantara standard and for this I sincerely apologize. As a team we will be immediately addressing the Concierge and Housekeeping comments with all concerned and we will take the necessary steps to improve as a result of your valued feedback.

If I may take this opportunity to also point out that our turn-down service is provided for our guests between the hours of 18.00 to 21.00 hrs.

Should our team’s arrival time to conduct this service not be suitable to our resident guests plans we encourage our guests to advise us of an alternative time that is more convenient and we are delighted to return to provide the turn-down.

Thank you again for staying with us and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are family of 5 and visited Hoi An for Christmas from Singapore. We stayed the first three nights a little out of town, but decided to move into town for the last night before we went up to Hue. We also decided to splurge and get a couple of Jr Suites right on the river. Lee really enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the river and watching the world drift by. Very relaxing. The vote is close enough to twin without being too close where you get all of the noise. The staff are very well trained and we got some of the best service we have seen in Vietnam.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Asia_travel_fam

On behalf of us all here at Anantara Hoi An Resort thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your amazing stories on social media.

We are thrilled that you have had such a memorable stay with us and that the team has taken such great care of you. I do hope that the future will see you pass our way again as we would like to again welcome you to this unique destination and continue to add to your fond memories.

Thank you once again and best wishes for 2015 and beyond

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in a Junior suite. I was expecting a private enclosed balcony that would give us a more private and intimate space. That's the only tiny regret i have in a otherwise fabulous stay. The place is beautiful, value for money, great service and I would come back here any time. Very Strongly recommended. Probably the best place in town to stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear anandwho

On behalf of the team and I thank you very much for your wonderful recommendation of Anantara Hoi An Resort and thank you also for choosing to stay with us while taking time to visit this amazing destination.

We are delighted that your time with us has resulted in so many amazing memories and I do hope we will have the chance in the future to add to these for you should you choose to return again.

Looking forward to be able to welcome you back soon and again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences on social media,

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was conveniently located near old town and by the river. The hotel service was good. Breakfast spread was ok but does not have an extensive range of local cuisine. The room was lovely but the sunken bath/shower was unusual and could do with some lighting over the bath. The room had low lighting making it difficult for me to do any reading. We could hear the noises such as toilet flushes, conversations and snoring from the rooms next and above us. Early in the morning we would hear the boats using the river.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear fuzzytraveller

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us here at Anantara Hoi An resort during your recent visit to this unique destination in Central Vietnam.

I am sorry that aspects of our room style did not appeal to you and over the years we have been fortunate enough to receive many positive comments about our rooms however we do also appreciate that personal tastes do differ and thank you for sharing these comments with us and we will certainly look to continually improve wherever we can in our guests offerings.

I do hope that your travel plans will see you pass this way again in the future as we would be delighted to welcome you back to Anantara Hoi An Resort.

Thank you again and kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights in early November with my spouse, and was definitely not disappointed...it was what we had expected, especially the location, within walking distance to all the eateries, dress-shops, shoe-shops and art- galleries in the old town, and right by the river !
Room was located on the upper floor, overlooking the garden and part of the swimming pool. It was spacious, comfortable and the bathroom was delightful.
However, the decor was rather dated, and the lighting a bit too dim for serious reading. It would help if a standing lamp could be provided for guests wishing to catch -up on their reading. A tad too dim for my liking overall ! Also, the floors were not carpeted, which was a pity, as that would create some warmth and luxury to the room's ambience, especially in the bed-area, above the split-level structure of the room.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and service from the general staff was very good. But we did not have any lunch or dinner in the hotel itself, due to its proximity to the many other restaurants just minutes away.
Will recommend this Resort to all visitors, who do not mind staying in a non-beach resort, and prefer to be close to all the action there is, in this quaint historic town. There is hardly any external noises, despite its location on the fringe of the old town.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear jejasfoo

Warm regards from Anantara Hoi An Resort and thank you very much for choosing us as your place of residence while visiting this unique destination.

We are delighted that you have shared so many amazing stories here on social media and I hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future to also share many more. Thank you also for your constructive feedback and we will certainly look to evolve and improve as a result of this.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to pass this way again in the not to distant future as we would be delighted to welcome you back and if I could be of any personal assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Last but not least thank you also for you kind recommendation of our resort.

On behalf of the team and I

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Business Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Hoi An Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.